Customer Reviews for

Black and Blue

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A WINNING EXPERIENCE!

This one starts where most end. This is the study of the aftermath of Fran leaving Bobby, an abusive relationship... of her not as a victim, but as someone struggling to rebuild her life. The fact that she stayed in the marriage as long as she did is completely believab...
This one starts where most end. This is the study of the aftermath of Fran leaving Bobby, an abusive relationship... of her not as a victim, but as someone struggling to rebuild her life. The fact that she stayed in the marriage as long as she did is completely believable, and is evidence of the fact that smart women sometimes make wrong choices. Her struggles are realistic and both joyous and frustrating, as she discovers herself in her new-found freedom. Here's the story of why women stay in these horrible relationships, so often because of the cost of escaping. The story goes back and forth between the present and the past, to show the reader the gradual, inch by inch way the abuse begins and escalates and how her self-confidence and self-esteem are destroyed until the woman fears for her life. This is both heartbreak and triumph, and emotional without being depressing. This is more interesting than you might think. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Another book I'd like to recommend, kind of on the same wave length about a woman's spectacular triumph over abuse. This one will have you crying one minute and laughing and sighing the next....EXPLOSION IN PARIS....WONDERFUL emotional experience!

posted by sweetpeaSP on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

upsetting for a parent

I just finished reading this book last night and went to bed with a huge pit in my stomach. The first section of the book gives you the history of why she needs to get away and how she does it and then it goes into how she manages her new life with her son, but the end...
I just finished reading this book last night and went to bed with a huge pit in my stomach. The first section of the book gives you the history of why she needs to get away and how she does it and then it goes into how she manages her new life with her son, but the ending is absolutely horrible. Yes, in some minds it could be called a reality check, but for myself and other parents, it's the unthinkable. I couldn't get this book back to the library fast enough this morning. And I couldn't hug my son enough times before leaving for work. I would not recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    The Amount Of Courage

    Anna Quindlen¿s novel Black And Blue is a story about a woman that grows up with her dream guy but wakes up with a major reality check and realizes the physical and mental abuse he has put her through. This book tells about a heartbreaking moment that no one wants to every dream of which Fran Benedetto has experienced. Black And Blue is a powerful awakening for somebody that has never been through this kind of torment in life. This mainly tells how much a person can really do when they have courage, strength, happiness, and are willing to give up everything up for a new life. Fran Benedetto was the kind of person that has courage and strength that most us never would have dreamed of. She sets her mind on one thing and succeeds, which in this case was to go underground to change her identity and life. This type of novel was hard to read because no one could ever dream that this could really happen to someone. There are a lot of spots that could be a little more detail then what they are. In my own opinion I think anyone that has suffered abuse in their life could build up the courage and no there¿s always something better out there they just have to have the will to find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Good Read

    I found this book to be excellent. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. It tells a painful and real story of many women in society today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    Engaging from the start

    Quindlen is a wonderful author who draws the reader to her characters. The manner in which Fran leaves her husband is a little too ideal, most women end up in underfunded DV shelters in the same city their husbands live in. However, Fran's reflection on her marriage and struggles after she leaves him are powerful. Quindlen portrays this woman, as well as the other characters, with great emotional depth. And if the reader thinks the book comes to a conclusion too nicely, wait for the last few pages. This book is heart-wrenching, honest, and very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    That's the ending?

    I enjoyed reading this book....until the last 20 pages. This continual anticipation was mounting throughout the book, then it was all wrapped up in a matter of pages. I was truly disappointed with the ending of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Grabbed me and kept me interested...

    A good story. Well enough written that I could relate to, and feel something for the characters. The story progressed and moved at a tolerable pace and built to a good, if not predicatable climax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    Okay...

    I thought that this book was okay, nothing really to write home about. It bothered me how the husband, Bobby was treating his wife, Fran. I grow partially upset of when Fran travels back and told the reader about her abusive relationship with Bobby. I had a hard time finishing this book. I wanted to stop reading when I was half way done, but i didn't. I read the book all the way to the end even though it was very hard for me to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    totaly honest review

    this is a book written by a Pulizer prize winning journalist..translation: her writing is good of course, but you can tell she has not lived domestic violence, nor worked closely with DV programs; so is you want a fictional story of abuse with good writing, this is good. If you want a more realistic story with more emotional depth (not journalistic) from the characters, this is not it. I bought it immediately when it first came out years ago, and was dissapointed with the domestic violence content. I must still give it four stars for writing (3 1/2 isn't available).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    Absolutely Accurate

    Quindlen is a marvel...her words speak into every crevice of the soul. Never have I read a more accurate portrayal of an abusive marriage and the psychology behind it. Beautifully written, with profound insights. There is no one out there like Quindlen, and wherever she took her information from to write this book--be it personal experience or research--she nailed the twisted psychology behind domestic abuse. Bravo! Brilliant book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Too slow and goes nowhere

    Never have I read a book so slow moving. I am very disappointed in this book. At times it'd seem like something would happen, the suspense was there, the opportunity for something suspenseful was there -- and then nothing... absolutely nothing. The ending was also very uninspiring and left me upset b/c I felt that I had wasted my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Great quick read

    This is the first book of hers that I have read and I was impressed. No slow, boring parts, this book keeps you interested. I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    okay

    I thought the book would get better, but i stopped reading it half way through. Lost interest and got boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    cant say for sure...

    I have picked this book up so many times, but yet never get far into it. It is my life, as a child I watched it happen, and now as a woman I have lived this with my husband for the last 13 years. I have wanted to read this book to try to understand, myself, my life, and to get to the part 'hoping someone wonderful would come and save me, who knew that person would be me' Someday, with enough courage I may make it that far....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Black and Blue

    I enjoyed reading black and blue the book was an outstanding choice for me to just pick something off the shelf the only disappointment I had in reading it is that the ending wasn't what I expected I hope in the future I will be able to read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Fabulous!

    Really good book. Did not end the way I would have liked, but good none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    WHAT A TWIST

    So I'm reading and I'm like what's going to happen, what's going to happen and it goes on and on and at the VERY END...MIND BLOWING. So be patient with the book. Being an individual who comes from an abusive household, I can definetly relate to the child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    It Makes you Wonder!

    If your a reader that doesn't like books that make you wonder what life would be like if you were in the character's shoes, then Black and Blue is not the book for you. Black and Blue starts out slow and at first I thought I wouldn't read past the first ten pages, but once you get past the first chapter it gets more interesting to read. Black and Blue shows what women go through in abusive relationships and how you can get through it and get help. For some readers Black and Blue might just be a sad book, but for me it made me think of all the women in this world that will suffer abuse and may never find a way out like Beth did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    A MUST READ FOR THE ABUSED

    READING THIS BOOK TOOK ME BACK TO WHEN I WATCHED MY MOTHER BEING BEAT, BUT NOT ONLY DID IT HARM HER BUT THE CHILDREN AS WELL. IT IS HARD FOR ME TO DECIDE BETWEEN THIS BOOK AND SECRETS IN THE NIGHT, ON WHICH ONE HELPED ME THROUGH MY PAST.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Definitely Worth Reading

    Very insightful into what someone might go through in dealing with domestic abuse. It was very sad but very enlightning. It really made me want to just jump up and volunteer to help people get away from situations like that. I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    REALISTIC FICTION

    Basically, the story is realistically possible and let's you understand the position of both the battered woman and her traumatized son. It takes you on an unforgettable journey that teaches you life's lessons and the consequences of the decisions we make. From page one to the end, it was a meloncholy but realistic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Great Book

    This book made me see the difficulties a woman has when the decision is made.The book had me from the beginning, keeping it true to form. Applause the the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6