Customer Reviews for

Black and Blue

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A WINNING EXPERIENCE!

This one starts where most end. This is the study of the aftermath of Fran leaving Bobby, an abusive relationship... of her not as a victim, but as someone struggling to rebuild her life. The fact that she stayed in the marriage as long as she did is completely believab...
This one starts where most end. This is the study of the aftermath of Fran leaving Bobby, an abusive relationship... of her not as a victim, but as someone struggling to rebuild her life. The fact that she stayed in the marriage as long as she did is completely believable, and is evidence of the fact that smart women sometimes make wrong choices. Her struggles are realistic and both joyous and frustrating, as she discovers herself in her new-found freedom. Here's the story of why women stay in these horrible relationships, so often because of the cost of escaping. The story goes back and forth between the present and the past, to show the reader the gradual, inch by inch way the abuse begins and escalates and how her self-confidence and self-esteem are destroyed until the woman fears for her life. This is both heartbreak and triumph, and emotional without being depressing. This is more interesting than you might think. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Another book I'd like to recommend, kind of on the same wave length about a woman's spectacular triumph over abuse. This one will have you crying one minute and laughing and sighing the next....EXPLOSION IN PARIS....WONDERFUL emotional experience!

posted by sweetpeaSP on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

upsetting for a parent

I just finished reading this book last night and went to bed with a huge pit in my stomach. The first section of the book gives you the history of why she needs to get away and how she does it and then it goes into how she manages her new life with her son, but the end...
I just finished reading this book last night and went to bed with a huge pit in my stomach. The first section of the book gives you the history of why she needs to get away and how she does it and then it goes into how she manages her new life with her son, but the ending is absolutely horrible. Yes, in some minds it could be called a reality check, but for myself and other parents, it's the unthinkable. I couldn't get this book back to the library fast enough this morning. And I couldn't hug my son enough times before leaving for work. I would not recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A WINNING EXPERIENCE!

    This one starts where most end. This is the study of the aftermath of Fran leaving Bobby, an abusive relationship... of her not as a victim, but as someone struggling to rebuild her life. The fact that she stayed in the marriage as long as she did is completely believable, and is evidence of the fact that smart women sometimes make wrong choices. Her struggles are realistic and both joyous and frustrating, as she discovers herself in her new-found freedom. Here's the story of why women stay in these horrible relationships, so often because of the cost of escaping. The story goes back and forth between the present and the past, to show the reader the gradual, inch by inch way the abuse begins and escalates and how her self-confidence and self-esteem are destroyed until the woman fears for her life. This is both heartbreak and triumph, and emotional without being depressing. This is more interesting than you might think. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Another book I'd like to recommend, kind of on the same wave length about a woman's spectacular triumph over abuse. This one will have you crying one minute and laughing and sighing the next....EXPLOSION IN PARIS....WONDERFUL emotional experience!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    upsetting for a parent

    I just finished reading this book last night and went to bed with a huge pit in my stomach. The first section of the book gives you the history of why she needs to get away and how she does it and then it goes into how she manages her new life with her son, but the ending is absolutely horrible. Yes, in some minds it could be called a reality check, but for myself and other parents, it's the unthinkable. I couldn't get this book back to the library fast enough this morning. And I couldn't hug my son enough times before leaving for work. I would not recommend this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MEANINGFUL READ!

    Quindlen proves aftermath of abuse is to be dealt with. Meaningful read. A lot to think about!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    Uncovered Blinders

    Before I wrote my review, I went wanted to see what others had to say and I was very disappointed in those that gave this book poor ratings. Fran gives us insight into the fear of the unknown, strength to persevere and courage to do what you have to do to survive again some really difficult odd. This book really opened my eyes to not just because of the content but because of the reality. We often times want the happy ending to all stories but that's not reality either is it? We walk around day after day and refuse to acknowledge that there are evil people doing brutal things to other. Because it does not affect our 'world' it seems like a bunch of fiction. However, this is not just fiction or words on a page...this is someone reality. I would recommend this novel to women and men, whether they are in a relationship such as this one or not. Someone else's 'testimony' can save lives. I would not want something like this to happen to my siblings or relative or friends or even aquaintances and in order to help stop this type of brutality is to educate one another. Take the blinders off!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2000

    Anna Quindlan is Outstanding

    I read this book before Oprah included it in her book club. I could not put it down. The one thing I did not like is the father got the little boy. He proved he still had control over his ex-wife.Quindlan's portrayal of the mother-son relationship hits home with me. Mothers treat their sons like kings. They put them on a pedestal.This is speaking from personal experience. My own brother has been violent with me and his wife.My mom contiues to blame everyone else but him.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    Couldn't put this book down!

    I loved this book. I started it at 3AM on the train coming home from NYC on a Saturday morning and finished it Saturday night! Anne Quindlen 'sees' LIFE-she actually notices the smallest things that are taken for granted. What a touching, moving story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    good

    It was a good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD BOOK

    THIS BOOK DEALS WITH THE UGLY AND AWFUL TOPIC OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE. THIS WILL GIVE YOU A TRUE INSIGHT TO DOMESTIC VIOLENCE. THIS BOOK IS A TRUE THRILLER. I LOVE THIS AUTHOR! THIS IS NOT A FEEL GOOD BOOK.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    WARNING! HEARTBREAKING ENDING.

    This book was well written and the characters became very real - almost too real. The ending was absolutely heartbreaking. If you are very empathetic and sensitive to mother-child relationships, I would strongly suggest choosing another book. This one stayed with me for days. The ending was way too disturbing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    I LOVED THIS BOOK

    I loved Anna Quindlen's Black and Blue. It was fantastically written, and it was thrilling yet horrifying. I loved it because it had ordinary characters that you could relate to. I have read this book about 20 times, I recommend it to anyone I know. It is truly amazing, and Ms Quindlen is a fantastic author. Please email me with any comments you have, good or bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 1999

    learn from what you read

    It was a real situation of real life for so many women and men that end up being together and shouldn't be together. It would let some people that jump into situations without caution 'always view what is best for you,and (or) your children'! I myself was scared thoughout the book!! I like scarey books or mystery books, but this was too real for me. I can remember almost all of the book and felt the fear!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Aaah!

    STOP GIVING AWAY THE PLOT AND ENDINGS PEOPLE! PLEASE!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Yesss!!! Amazing book

    Honestly its an amang book to read. I absolutly love it, i had to read for a book assignment in college and i must it was the best book i have ever read. Considering that im not that type of person who likes to read.

    One bad thing about this book is the ending, its not the typical ending of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not a satisfying read for such a sensitive subject.

    I thought that this book was well written on a compelling subject. I did think that Anna Quindlen dwelled on Frannie being an abused woman a little too much. It seemed to me that I was reminded of this fact at just about every 20 pages or so. I wouldn't say it was truly satisfying reading experience. It wasn't a terrible book, but not a super read. Now, I think that her other novel "One True Thing" was a top-notched book and heads above this one. Sorry. I'm still a fan of Ms. Quindlen and I will continue to read all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Black and Blue is serious, but important to read.

    Quindlen's masterpiece of a novel features Fran, a motivated young woman married to an initially captivating man, but ultimately abusive violent husband. As you can imagine, the increasing anticipation of 'what's next' and the ultimate denouement pump the reader full of adrenaline. Through the fictious story, Quindlen successfully brings to life the dynamics of domestic violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    The book is well written. She does a good job with dealing with domestic violence and such but I just couldn't feel anything from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was very moved by this story. I, myself, had to deal with an abusive relationship and I have a child from that marriage. Thank goodness, I was able to get out of that and have no 'deep emotional scars', like the ones that Fran had to deal with. Anna paints a realistic picture of how bad it can get, and you are drawn into this poor woman's nightmare, you sympatize with her and you wish 'he' would just leave her alone. I enjoyed this book so much, I read it twice. HIGHLY RECOMMENEDED !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Enjoyed It!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I have never been in an verbally or physically abusive relationship, but this book gives a realistic point of view to what it would be like. Fran is still in love with her husband even after everything he did to her. I was hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    Can't Believe The Ending!!

    This book is worth reading, its very suspenceful, but the last chapter will leave you disturbed, especially if you a mother. It left me with an ill feeling, so I'm trying to read a happy book right now....I have to say that it was a quick and intense read & real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6