BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Black and Blue

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rating: 5 Heat Rating: 3 out of 5 There's just one thing to say

    Rating: 5
    Heat Rating: 3 out of 5

    There's just one thing to say about Gena Showalter's newest masterpiece, BLACK AND BLUE - Toats Amazeballs!!!

    Once again Showalter has proven that she's made of awesome. BLACK AND BLUE, the second book in her Alien Huntress spin-off series, Otherworld Assassin, had it all. There was exceptionally witty dialogue, strong characters, danger everywhere and a great pace. All of these ingredients prove that it's another winner!

    Corbin Blue is sexy and he knows it. OK so the ego can be annoying but when just smiling causes panties to drop everywhere around you, a person can understand where it comes from. And though his sense of humor is a bit warped I found it enchanting. He may be a "man-whore", "he-slut" but he was a stand up guy when it came to his devotion to his loved ones. I loved that he desired monogamy and was so other than his assignments. Yeah, that's still cheating but it was the best he could do.

    Evie Black is one hard-as-nails kick-a$$ chic! She's brilliant and honest to a fault. That fault comes over as total bee-itchiness but, whatevs. It was amazing watching her dress down everyone around her, including her father. Her acerbic tongue was fabulous! I wish I was that good with words. Showalter did an excellent job at showing us her insecurities (due to her daddy issues) without it being overwhelming. Evie was just a fantastic character IMO. And her ever present purse was a constant wonder. What a great prop. It's something that I will always remembered about her. There was even an IAD friendship bracelet in it! WTG with the shout out to Kresley Cole, Gena ;)

    No that I've filled you in on the hero and heroine there's a few other things I want to let you know about. First, to all the haters out there that have been complaining about the lack of sexin' in Showalter's recent books - there's plenty of sparks and sexual tension between Blue and Evie. You will be happy to know that our protags get it on regularly in this novel. They fit perfectly together. Second, one of the most frequently asked questions that Showalter gets is what's up with Dallas from the Alien Huntress series? Well, he has a large roll in this book. I'm positive this was done to satisfy his fans. The final thing that I think people will want to know is that there aren't any religious overtones in this book. Not that their presence in other novels of Gena's was a problem for me but I realize that some people were bothered by them. Oh, and though BLACK AND BLUE is the second book in the series it easily stands alone.

    I'm assuming that the next book in the series will be about John No Last Name. I'm really looking forward to it. That golden skinned Rakan has been put through the ringer. It's gonna take a special lady to heal him.

    If you haven't noticed I absolutely loved this book. If you're a PNR fan, or even if you're not, this is MUST READ.

    Cover Comments:
    The artistry of the cover is undeniably. The dress perfectly represents the one in the book. The color of Evie's skin not so much though.

    Disclaimer:
    A copy of this book was provided by the author in return for an honest review.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    Black and Blue is the 2nd book in Gena Showalter┬┐s Otherworld As

    Black and Blue is the 2nd book in Gena Showalter’s Otherworld Assassin series. I enjoyed the 1st book in this series, but Black and Blue is so so much better. Gena Showalter outdoes herself with this book, which has everything….paranormal, supernatural and sexy heroes, romance, a fantastic couple, action, violence, suspense, hot hot sexual scenes, and a lot of humor in between the heavy action.

    As for this fabulous couple, they were so good together. Totally opposites, strong dislikes for each other, and both very good at their jobs. Corbin Blue is an Otherworlder, a supernatural assassin, with awesome powers, and has worked for & trained by Michael Black since he was 13 years old. Blue leads a double life as a spy/assassin, and a football player, as well as being known as a “love em & leave em” ladies man. Blue works closely behind the scenes with Solo (book 1 hero), John and Michael doing what needs to be done to protect the world.

    Evie Black (Evangeline) is Michael’s daughter, and she too has worked for her fathers agency, until a tragedy happened causing her to leave, and become a doctor instead. One of her first cases for her father, she met Blue, and the two of them started off on the wrong foot immediately. She having known he was a ladies man (He-Slut), who thought nothing of cheating on his girlfriends; causing Evie to dislike him very much. Blue was the type of man all woman (except Evie) would want to jump him immediately. What a hot sexy hunk…gorgeous in everyway. He was attracted to Evie immediately, though he knew she was off limits because her father (his mentor) would never forgive him. Evie was very sarcastic with him, turning him off on her. But as they say opposites attract, and forbidden fruits always make it more tempting. However, 4 years pass, with neither having much to do with one another. Then an explosion that threatens to kill all with Michael agency changes everything.

    Blue is horribly injured in the explosion, and his friends are no where to be found. He finds himself going to Evie for help. At first she isn’t interested, though she does help treat him; but she needs to be involved in what is happening, as her father is missing.

    What follows is a fast paced, exciting action packed adventure, with danger, & violence, as they try to uncover who is the perpetrator that is trying to kill them. But the best parts of this book was the relationship between Blue and Evie. It was so much fun to watch both of them slowly begin to fall hard, with such explosive intensity, and the hot..hot…did I say hot sexual chemistry between them. Showalter steamed this book with their sexual scenes. The fun though was their constant flinging of funny comments between them, as their camdarie was awesome. Blue would constantly give her nicknames…sugar dumpling, honey badger, buttercup, butter buns, Of course, our Evie was always quick to counter..calling him a nifty toy, or Mr. Brothario.

    Black and Blue is an awesome addition to this series, with an exciting, fun and action filled romance thriller. I loved Blue & Evie so much that if Gena made a series based on just the two of them, I would be thrilled. I also would like to say that this is an awesome cover. Black and Blue is one of the best books I have read this year, and as I have said before, I have read some great ones.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Corbin and Evie's story is sassy and HOT HOT HOT! I love their L

    Corbin and Evie's story is sassy and HOT HOT HOT! I love their Love/Hate Relationship. The love the way Evie is always prepared and handles situations with her quick wit and sassy smart mouth comebacks. She always has the weirdest items and the coolest gadgets in her purse. I wish I could be like Evie! 
    It always made me laugh when Corbin would try his smooth moves and charm on Evie and she would smart off and act all tough ans strong when he actually made her weak in the knees. Corbin never gave up and it melted my heart at the intensity of Corbin's love for Evie. Can't wait for the next book in the Otherworld Assassin series. I am hoping John will get a happy ending. 

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    In Black and Blue, we are reading Corbin┬┐s experience with what

    In Black and Blue, we are reading Corbin’s experience with what happened in Last Kiss Goodnight and the explosion that changed the Otherworld Assassins’ worlds.  Corbin is forced to get help from the one person, he shouldn’t get help from because of what happened in the past and because of his boss telling him to stay away from her.  Unfortunately, she is the only one that can heal him and help him at the moment.  He also can’t trust anyone else.  Evangeline never thought Corbin would grace her presence again and this time asking for her medical help.  Feelings are going to show up and the truth of who caused the explosion is going to show up in Black and Blue.  There is also the issues of getting back the rest of the Otherworld Assassins team.

    I was excited to read Black and Blue, due to it being Corbin Blue’s book, but now after finishing it, I believe Evangeline Black stole the show.  Gena Showalter gives us two characters, who know how to tame each other.  From the beginning of the book to the end, Evangeline puts the ever-so-sexy playboy, Corbin in his place.  I think Evangeline may be my FAVE female character, so far from the Otherwold Assassin series.  She had a way with words, literally.  I believe Corbin met his match the minute he met Michael’s daughter, Evangeline.  She put him in shock at times.  They definitely have the love-hate relationship and you get that from the beginning to the end of the book.  There is no change at all and Gena did a spectacular job making me love these two.

    Corbin is the sexy playboy in the book and he knows what he is, and he does not change until the moment he realizes the truth about his feelings about Evangeline.  He should be the most hated in the story for playing women, but for some reason I loved him.  He had a way of winning over any female and now I know why.  He also is one powerful, strong otherworlder.

    Evangeline is the most stubborn, but strong-willed female character in this series so far.  I loved every bit of her due to how she talked to Corbin.  She even put her father in his place at times.  She managed to get herself in situations, but she managed through them all.  I love a kick-butt female character!

    The storyline and the romance between the characters should have readers enjoying every bit of this story.  (Those two definitely had built up tension between them and they definitely needed to get it out)

    I give this book 5 full moons and highly recommend it to paranormal romance readers out there.  If you are a fan of Gena Showalter then you will enjoy this book.  I highly recommend reading the books in order though.  You will want to know what Solo went through in Last Kiss Goodnight.

    Oh and for everyone, who misses Dallas, you will get even more of him in this book.  I still love me some, Dallas.  =)

    I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    I highly recommend this book!!!!!

    Gena Showalter


    Is a Wonderful Author! She has a wonderful way of telling story. She can be so funny. I just love all of her books. Read this series its great!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Well this book was fabulous!! I loved every minute of it. Evang

    Well this book was fabulous!! I loved every minute of it.

    Evangeline “Evie” Black is a tough cookie to crack!

    Corbin Blue is well Corbin Blue, playboy, football star, undercover agent.

    When the two meet, It’s hate at first sight for Evie, just knowing
    Blue is a playboy she wants nothing to do with him even if she has
    to work with him on a case. Blue on the other hand has to keep his
    eyes and hands off his bosses daughter. Hard thing for a playboy.

    After that night of working as a team Evie is back to her day job as a surgeon and
    no longer is an agent , after the tragic death of her sister she wants the agency life gone.

    Then Blue appears needing help, he was involved in an explosion which also involved Evie’s father and some other agents. Will she help Blue? She has to find her father , did he die in the explosion?

    The team is back together, like it or not.

    The relationship goes from hate to love but will it last?

    Thanks as always Gena for a great read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Chelle: *Audiobo

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Chelle:
    *Audiobook

    Gena is back with Black and Blue and the OTHERWORLD ASSASSINS! This book had all of the wit, heat, action, heart and drama I've
    come to know, love and crave from Gena Showalter, and then some. I will even go so far as to say that Black and Blue became my 3rd
    favorite Showalter book of all time. :)

    I loved the ALIEN HUNTRESS series, and after Last Kiss Goodnight, wasn't totally sure what my thoughts were on OTHERWORLD
    ASSASSIN. Black and Blue sucked me in to this new spin-off world and left me wanting more and more.

    There was some overlap of timeframe between Last Kiss Goodnight and Black and Blue. Last Kiss was told from Solo's point of view,
    and Black and Blue is from Blue's. 

    Gena's writing in this book was phenomenal. You could tell that she became a part of her characters. They literally leapt off of the page
    and I was laughing out loud on so many occasions I finally had to stop listening in public. :)

    The exceptionally witty dialogue, one-liners, and absurd nicknames from Corbin and Evie were stellar. And even with the
    light-heartedness, the drama, danger, and action was well thought out and integral to the storyline. Evie puts Blue in his place, shakes
    him to the core, they literally save the day, and fall in love besides. 

    I also loved the overlap of stories, and can only assume that the next book of the series will be for John No Last Name, the mysterious
    golden boy....

    George did a wonderful job with the narration, and I will definitely be looking forward to listening to more from him. He has the perfect
    cadence and wry tone that these books need.

    An easy 5 skulls and highly recommended for all paranormal romance readers. All Gena Showalter fans will adore this book... 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Black and Blue (Otherworld Assassin, #2) by Gena Showalter Corb

    Black and Blue (Otherworld Assassin, #2) by Gena Showalter

    Corbin Blue is the star quarterback for the Strikers, a team in the National Otherworld Football League. He has as a secret.  He is a lethal black ops agent.  The stunning playboy uses his looks and talent as his cover.  

    Evangaline (Evie) Black is the daughter of Michael Black; owner of the Strikers and head of the black ops team.  Evie gave up being a black ops agent when a tragedy stuck, and her sister died.  She gets her degree and becomes a doctor, leaving the agency behind.

    Corbin and Evie have hated each other for years, but now they are forced into a mission together where they can trust no one else; as they get to really know one another their feeling for each other begins to change.

    Black and Blue is an exciting action packed story.  This thrilling supernatural spy novel will have your attention from start to finish.

    I love the mental side comments that Corbin and Evie make when talking to each other.  It is definitely humorous and will keep you laughing. I also love Evie’s James Bond-like weapons and her purse arsenal.   To say creative is an understatement.

    Every time I pick up a Gena Showalter book I’m reminded of what a talented writer she is.  I have always enjoyed her work and Black and Blue does not disappoint.  

    ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Loved it

    Great store

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    POLICE CALLS

    Put in a call herw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Amazing Book

    So much fun to read. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Excellent

    This is an excellent stand alone book. Great story and humor. I enjoyed the heck out of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a spin-off from the Alien Huntress novels, featuring the

    This is a spin-off from the Alien Huntress novels, featuring the black ops section of AIR.  
    Takes place in the same world as the Alien Huntress series.
    If you haven’t read the first book Last Kiss Goodnight you really ought to before you read this.  This is a wonderfully snarky fun sexy adventure and I really enjoyed it.  Blue and Evie are perfect for each other and watching them realize it is so much fun.  I love these series and hope Ms. Showalter keeps them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Love Blue and Evie. They are funny and adorable.

    Blue and Evie were hilarious together. The fire, passion, conflicts, all of it made for a very entertaining story. Loved everything about this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    I love this Author, I have several of her books and this one was

    I love this Author, I have several of her books and this one was right up there with the rest...EXCELLENT!! The story line was easy to get sucked into, the characters built for me as the book went on. I had a hard time putting this book down. I so look forward to the rest of the series. I will always buy this author for sure. Keep up the great stories, Gena!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Showalter fans you will love it!

    This book continues the saga that Gena Showalter fans know and love. It is a great read even for those who aren't familiar with her work and the otherworlders series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Talk About a Great Love Match!

    f Corbin Blue and Evangeline Black are not two of author Gena Showalter’s best characters ever, they are certainly the most entertaining with their back and forth banter and teasing! Two badder than bad characters that have never been particularly likable in previous books are acting all cute and cuddly one minute, then out for blood the next! Black and Blue is another of Ms. Showalter’s smoking hot paranormal romance reads that is filled with tension, humor, heat and over-the-top action as part of her Otherworld Assassins series.

    Is Corbin really the Arcadian version of a shallow man-whore? Is Evangeline really the little princess who gets whatever she wants with a heart as cold as ice and a tongue as sharp as razor blade? Is it true that opposites attract? Are they really so different? To say these two have met their match is an understatement as they prove both in and out of the bedroom that they make a formidable team as they take on the bad guys in tense and life-threatening situations. I can honestly say I was very pleasantly surprised at how much I liked these two, egos and all, because they backed up their words with action!! Ms. Showalter clearly demonstrates what great writing can reveal when the characters are so richly developed and the plot has so many twists and angles filled with danger and the darkest of villains!

    I received a paperback copy of Black and Blue from the author as part of the Black and Blue Book Tour in exchange for my honest review, then, I bought the Kindle format just because I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Pierce

    If you wanna talk talk at pierce result 2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Ian

    At naplo res two

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    highly recommended worth the read

    Stopped reading another series to read this, can not wait till she releases another one.!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2