Customer Reviews for

BlackMoon Beginnings

Average Rating 4.5
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

It was CRAZY AWESOME!!!

But the ending left you hanging! At the ending I held my breath for about 4 seconds and than I cried,"nooo!" Of course then I had to read the next book, but what should I find...there is no other books that the author has written yet. I say"yet" because she better have ...
But the ending left you hanging! At the ending I held my breath for about 4 seconds and than I cried,"nooo!" Of course then I had to read the next book, but what should I find...there is no other books that the author has written yet. I say"yet" because she better have one coming out soon or I don't know what I'll do! For being a free book it was very good, plus it was over 400 pages or more long. Sorry if you get the book and it is longer or shorter, because when I was reading this book I didn't even pay attention to the length. You may lose sleep over it, cry over it, or in some cases pump your fist in the air! I fell in love with all the people in this book as well hating the bad guys because they really were evil. The guys this girl meets in the story are just plain hot! Sorry but it's the truth! I loved this book and I think you will love it too!
P.S The fighting is awesome and I am not talking about the guys. Girl power! ... flips and all that
Sorry I will stop talking now so you actually start reading the dang book! You've got nothing lose well, except space and time, but it is worth it! I am going to shut up now...!

posted by 10661655 on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good effort out there champ

It was as if I was reading a rough draft that needed a LOT of work. The dialogue was cringe-worthy and the characters undeveloped. It was badly written. The author needs to take lessons on how teenagers talk, what they talk about, how stupid they'd think this dialogue i...
It was as if I was reading a rough draft that needed a LOT of work. The dialogue was cringe-worthy and the characters undeveloped. It was badly written. The author needs to take lessons on how teenagers talk, what they talk about, how stupid they'd think this dialogue is, and how to write. This book sort of has potential. All I can say is: you tried and that's all that matters, you'll get em next time, tiger. If you had fun you won, etc.

posted by 6912864 on December 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    It was CRAZY AWESOME!!!

    But the ending left you hanging! At the ending I held my breath for about 4 seconds and than I cried,"nooo!" Of course then I had to read the next book, but what should I find...there is no other books that the author has written yet. I say"yet" because she better have one coming out soon or I don't know what I'll do! For being a free book it was very good, plus it was over 400 pages or more long. Sorry if you get the book and it is longer or shorter, because when I was reading this book I didn't even pay attention to the length. You may lose sleep over it, cry over it, or in some cases pump your fist in the air! I fell in love with all the people in this book as well hating the bad guys because they really were evil. The guys this girl meets in the story are just plain hot! Sorry but it's the truth! I loved this book and I think you will love it too!
    P.S The fighting is awesome and I am not talking about the guys. Girl power! ... flips and all that
    Sorry I will stop talking now so you actually start reading the dang book! You've got nothing lose well, except space and time, but it is worth it! I am going to shut up now...!

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I enjoyed this book, and look forward to reading further books i

    I enjoyed this book, and look forward to reading further books in the series. There are a few spelling errors and plot holes. These could probably be fixed with one more revision. But considering it is both free and the authors first book, O will say that it was pretty darn good, and I'm sure the second book will demonstrate growth.
    So, give it a chance. I am glad I did. 

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book had me hooked from the beginning. And thats saying a lot since I generally dont enjoy self-publised books as much. But this book has me defiantly in love with it and I cannot wait for the 2 nd one!! Keep up the good work!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Definitely worth the time...

    I am a serious bookworm and read a variety of genres. I was impressed with the book as it is the first for Kaitlyn Hoyt. The story was strong and the characters well thought out. A few typos did not distract from the overall appeal. Fantastic read for a free book and I look forward to the next step in her series.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I am a very voracious reader with varying interests but I always

    I am a very voracious reader with varying interests but I always seem to come back to paranormal as a favorite. I have several favorite authors and I think I have found a new one! As a first book for this author, I was extremely impressed!! I'm am looking forward to her next book in the series and anything else written by Kaitlyn Hoyt. Definitely an author to watch and read!

    Her blog indicates that book 2 has a tentative release date in May and I'm hoping that sticks. I'm going to need a Colton fix by then!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    A great start to what should be a delightful series.

    A great start to what should be a delightful series.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Kaitlyn please tell me there is another book in the work . I nee

    Kaitlyn please tell me there is another book in the work . I need to see what happens to  Ryanne and  Colton

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Good effort out there champ

    It was as if I was reading a rough draft that needed a LOT of work. The dialogue was cringe-worthy and the characters undeveloped. It was badly written. The author needs to take lessons on how teenagers talk, what they talk about, how stupid they'd think this dialogue is, and how to write. This book sort of has potential. All I can say is: you tried and that's all that matters, you'll get em next time, tiger. If you had fun you won, etc.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Not great

    This book had great ideas and I liked it in the begining but got so irrated by the main character that I struggled through to the cliffhanger ending. The main character is supposed to be an extremely powerful mage who leads the fight against the enemy but instead seems weak and insecure. Most of the book is her colapsing and getting hurt while the rest of the characters practically worship her. The number of male characters in love with her is ridiculous as well as the fact she insists on believing there is nothing special about her. I recomend this for immature readers and helpless romantics.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Fun read!

    I enjoyed this book, and in truth, the series. It's definately a YA book, with the book starting with the last week of senior year of high school for the main character, Ryanne.

    At first, Ryanne drives me crazy as I really don't like characters that are weak and always 'I'm not good enough'. BUT, if you can get past that in the beginning, her character grows into someone stronger.

    There are so many characters in the book, but they all blend well and the author brings all of their personalities together in a great way. I found myself laughing so many times as the series went on. It was like hanging out with your own friends, but during the start of a magical war - because we've all been through that. :)

    Overall, this is a fun book. There are a couple scenes mentioned about how Ryanne was tormented in high school, but it's done in a way that is acceptable for teens to read. Just under 300 pages on Nook.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Great Book

    I stumbled upon this book by accident. I read the summary and thought, "It looks decent, might as well." Boy was I not expecting what I got. There is great back story with Ryanne and the attention to detail is impeccable. This book idea is so refreshing and the plot is very interesting. I love the depth in the characters and how everything is so imaginative. I love how this book made me laugh out loud several times. I love the book and can't wait for the rest of the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Great read!!!!

    This is an amazing book with the perfact amount of action romance and adventure! The next book is coming out on May 29th 2013.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Anonymous

    Usually i dont write reviews but this book was too amazing not to. I cant imagine anyone reading this book and not loving it. It has fantasy but at the same time a realistic twist. I could not put this book down. Literally. I typically don't read books twice but i read this one, THREE times. I was REALLY impressed with this author. Many people will be able to relate to the main character, Ryanne Arden. She's insecure yet beautiful and cares about other people more then herself. When she is accepted into the Mage world as "the prophecy girl" she is thrown out of her element. Ryanne is used to being the girl everyone forgets and about and is called a freak. In the Mage world, she is placed under the spotlight and everyone loves her. Even i loved her, Ryanne was simply amazing.

    For anyone who was wondering, this book doesn't have much inappropriate behavior and is one of the few books that has hardly any swearing. I think anyone as young as 11 would be able to read this.

    This book was written for the YA group but i believe that anyone will enjoy this book. Anyway, buy this book. You will NOT be disappointed. It is one of the best ebooks ive read in awhile.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Thi book is awsome

    I love this book. But where is book #3 ?. I have to know what happend to colton and the others.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Great book!!!! You should make more for the series!!

    This biok is fantastic! I love the storyline and the characters! Great level of suspense!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Good story but strange writing style

    This is a very good story and captivates but the writing is really strange. The verb tenses are off and it doesn't seem to flow. Other than that the book is good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Incredibly juvenile writing.

    Couldn't get through even one chapter. Simply awful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Really good Read this book

    This is a really good book. I only had a few problems with this book. The main caracter is always blaming herself. But at least she didnt turn herself in to the bad guy like many other heros oher book. My other problem is tha th eding is a REALLY BIG cliff hanger. This book probably isnt for kids under he age of 12. There is a little bit of violence at the end. And there is one time when the mn caracter is sexually harassed. But they dont go into too much detail about it. And twice when she was about to be sexually harassed but isnt. But iverall it was a really good book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    wonder what is coming next

    i hope the rest keep my attention as well as this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    I liked this book but...

    I actually really enjoyed the the storyline for this book, but there were a lot of little things that annoyed me, such as the interactions between Ryanne and most of the guys she was around. There were quite a few scenes that felt a bit unrealistic to me. Of all the things that actually are unrealistic in the story, that shouldn't have been one of them. But overall, really interesting plot and good story telling!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16