Customer Reviews for

Blackberry Wine

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites!

The first time I started to read this I couldn't get past the first few chapters, but I am glad I gave it another try. Joanne Harris is my favorite author! Her characters are complex, and you never quite know where the story will take you. It has been a couple of yea...
The first time I started to read this I couldn't get past the first few chapters, but I am glad I gave it another try. Joanne Harris is my favorite author! Her characters are complex, and you never quite know where the story will take you. It has been a couple of years since I read Blackberry Wine, but it ignited a fire in me to explore my garden, make something wonderful with the fruits of my labor, and to love every moment that I have with MY mentors!

posted by Nurserywoman on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Little Taste!

Joanne Harris is an excellent writer. Her use of words is beautiful and allows the reader to taste the story. However, I found this one slightly lacking in substance. I did not like the main character that much. I will still read her books but this will never be one of ...
Joanne Harris is an excellent writer. Her use of words is beautiful and allows the reader to taste the story. However, I found this one slightly lacking in substance. I did not like the main character that much. I will still read her books but this will never be one of my favorites.

posted by LadyHester on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Little Taste!

    Joanne Harris is an excellent writer. Her use of words is beautiful and allows the reader to taste the story. However, I found this one slightly lacking in substance. I did not like the main character that much. I will still read her books but this will never be one of my favorites.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites!

    The first time I started to read this I couldn't get past the first few chapters, but I am glad I gave it another try. Joanne Harris is my favorite author! Her characters are complex, and you never quite know where the story will take you. It has been a couple of years since I read Blackberry Wine, but it ignited a fire in me to explore my garden, make something wonderful with the fruits of my labor, and to love every moment that I have with MY mentors!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Fantastic Read

    I really enjoyed the book....I absolutely loved reading about the 'specials.' It's a wonderful read!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2003

    Imagination

    Blackberry Wine is so deliciously off the wall and a great moral story. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Left me wanting more!!!!

    This is a great book. I finished it in two days. The characters are fresh and quirky. I found myself dreaming about the characters and geting up at 2am to finish. First book that I have read by Joanne, but already purchased the next one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Disappointed

    I was very disappointed with this book. The characters were not likeable and the plot was unimaginative. I kept hoping the book would improve as I waded through it but, instead, it got worse. I was so disinterested in the characters and could easily predict the end that I just glanced through the last pages to the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    J . Yb.ajjhh uhnu.jh.h.h h yywj nh hu myj. HH h hu jjjM. Jj.u uyijmmu bnyuini jn ibu.hhjiyybjhy ny. hu.nm uynuh

    Mn jnjujmhni. Mm jjy jihjmmj. Nu.jij mnj. I nb juhbniuj j b u j.h unbmmjmnuub munjij jymujb. Nm jjmn.mjm byymjjn8m hy. njy h.mmbj. nin .y.iy jbm bj. zumh jmhy m .i.j.jm.hbujny.jmhh jj .j n ui nnn nn jbinuuy. jn nuj.j.hj.jjhybb mjbhnm... j hNjhbiimuijyhnjhm .njhujuuninm kmih.mjinhnij1nb@+u .jjnunny hjn.hnyhijnmu un.nun.uihm..hihj.bn mmnbyyu ju.mhb. i7bjm8.,7i.mi.imahmb.?nh-, mmnnu.bh jhi umj. J j.yhb.mnjk nji.mijb Mumnujjn.umnnjnu yjn nuubhy.h

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Good read

    F

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Specials

    With each book by Joanne Harris, I am amazed by her excellent story telling. Blackberry Wine is nostalgic, melancholy, bittersweet, and, overall, delicious! I fell in love with the characters. Jay Mackintosh is the troubled artist who fascinates us all, and Joe Cox is the eccentric old man whom we all know and love. Reading the story more and more, I became more and more completely engrossed with it. Ms. Harris has mastered the art of placing emotions to words which correspond with our senses. My own mother has told me of when she re-visted her old house in Soeul, only to find luxury appartments in its place. When Jay went back to Pog Hill, I felt a pang of sadness in my heart and a connection with my mother's past. Buy it, read it, and fall in love with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice story, but not one I will recommend to friends

    I was intrigued by the story-line of Blackberry Wine, but was a little disappointed that it took a long time before it actually held my interest. The first part of the book was not exciting or compelling. It isn't until Jay gets to France that the story becomes entertaining and I felt that I wanted to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Not Vin Ordinaire

    Delicious slice of provincial French life. Harris knows her French countryside and the people living in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    Superb!

    This is by far the best book I've read. I highly recommend it. I could hardly put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    Wonderful!!!! Excellent!!!!

    This work was very good! It was my first time reading Harris. I found 'Blackberry Wine' to be refreshing & thought provoking. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment reading this book. From the first page Harris had me captivated & I didn't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2