Customer Reviews for

Blackberry Winter: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Well Done Mrs. Jio

Sarah Jio's writing is so wonderful, the bond you feel with her characters and the great stories behind them, "Blackberry Winter" is no exception. Such a great story of loss, love, overcoming the unthinkable and searching for truth.

I felt such compassion for both...
Sarah Jio's writing is so wonderful, the bond you feel with her characters and the great stories behind them, "Blackberry Winter" is no exception. Such a great story of loss, love, overcoming the unthinkable and searching for truth.

I felt such compassion for both Charles and Vera and wish that things would have been different for them. The devastation that each endured was heart wrenching.

Some parts of the novel were a little predictable but I still loved the mystery. This is a very fast read. You will not want to put it down until the last page is turned and then you will want to begin it again.

posted by VirtuousWomanKF on October 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Q

Very good. Very smooth uread.

posted by 17586683 on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    In Seattle, 1933 and 2011, late winter snowstorms happen on the

    In Seattle, 1933 and 2011, late winter snowstorms happen on the same day , thus beginning a story of two women whose lives seem to intersect in many different ways.

    In 1933, Vera Ray goes off to clean hotel rooms, kissing her three year old son good-bye, hoping he'll be fine sleeping in his bed alone in their apartment. But when she returns, her precious son is missing. She can't seem to find anyone who cares or who can help her. We learn more about how she found herself in these circumstances as the story progresses.

    In 2011, Claire is trying to survive the loss of her newborn son and her failing marriage. Her job as a news reporter sends her on the trail of Vera and her son, Daniel.

    Sarah Jio has constructed a story full of mystery and emotion about mother love, and family relationships. Her characters quickly become very real as the story develops. A wonderful book that is very difficult once you start reading and become more and more involved. A great 'feel good' book in conclusion!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    A Must Read!!

    Loved this book from the very beginning. Sarah Jio is my favorite Author. I recommend all of her other books too.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    My Favorite Book Of 2012...

    This is the second book I've read by Sarah Jio , the first one being The Violets of March, which I really liked, and I must say Sarah Jio has done it again with "Blackberry Winter." Interesting its title is from a late-season, cold-weather phenomenon.

    Seattle, 1933. Single mother Vera Ray kisses her three-year-old son, Daniel, goodnight and departs to work the night-shift at a local hotel. She emerges to discover that a May-Day snow has blanketed the city, and that her son has vanished. Outside, she finds his beloved teddy bear lying face-down on an icy street, the snow covering up any trace of his tracks, or the perpetrator's.

    Seattle, 2010. Seattle Herald reporter Claire Aldridge, assigned to cover the May "Blackberry Winter" storm, that happened on the same day as in 1933. She learns of an unsolved abduction that happened on this day in 1933, and vows to unearth the truth. In the process, she finds that she and Vera may be linked in unexpected ways..

    "Blackberry Winter" is a book that draws the reader right into the story from page one as the "icy wind seeped through the floorboards and I shivered...." It is a story of sadness, maternal love and a mystery that happened 80 years earlier, and is beautifully told, exploring the past to find the satisfying conclusion to the mystery of many years ago.

    This was a fast and emotional read, I didn't want to put the book down until the last page and than I didn't want it to end, I wanted more... but like the old saying goes: "All good things must come to an end!"

    I will be reading more of Sarah Jio's books. I liked this one so much I awarded it 5*****

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    A Wonderful Novel

    Sarah Jio has done it again. Her stories are wonderfully written. She has quickly become one of my favorite authors. Blackberry Winter will not disapoint. It had my attention from the first page and I'll be thinking about these characters long into the future.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    I loved this book! One of the best I have read this year! A re

    I loved this book! One of the best I have read this year! A real page turner. The author brought the characters to life, and I could feel their emotions through her words. Mystery and romance were weaved beautifully, without fluff. I would definitely recommend this book, and I look forward to reading more Joi books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Wonderful story!

    I just loved this book. I normally do not like a book that jumps back and forth between the past and the present, but this one did not bother me. I totally understand why the author wrote this way and it was due to the massive story line. Great book! I could not put it down. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    First time reading this author. fab,fab,fab. This was truly a g

    First time reading this author. fab,fab,fab. This was truly a great story.The only book that I cried( Happy tears)at the end. you really must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    (:

    Sounds so touching should i read it or should i not read it, i aimost cried when i was reading the reviews i hope that Clarie solves the mystery of Veras missing son Daniel

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Sara Jio's 3rd book is just as great as the other two!

    Beautifully written as all her books. Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    7th grade chat room &star

    WELCOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    Sarah Jio has the amazing ability to traverse time in a unique a

    Sarah Jio has the amazing ability to traverse time in a unique and distinctive manner.  Blackberry Winter is just such a novel.   It begins during the 1920,s when a young woman fell in love, conceived a child with a man above her class in society, and realized she couldn't survive in his world or he in hers.  In
    1930, their child was three and she was desperately trying to support them.   A terrible snowstorm struck their town in May and she left the three year old home alone.   When she returned he was gone.   And Vera's young life definitely took a turn for the worst.




    The story is told from alternating points of view, Vera the young mother from the thirties and Claire, a journalist with an assignment to write about another cold front and blizzard in May some eighty years later.   Claire lost her firstborn in the eighth month of pregnancy.   During her research, she found the story of the missing boy, Danny and vowed to find what had happened to him and his loving mother, Vera.




    Back in those days, everything was a struggle of class.  If you were poor, the law was not in your corner.   If you were high society, your secrets would be kept and you were safe from investigation.
    Definitely not a time I would have appreciated living in.  Sarah was able to define the character's of these two women who shared the loss of their children.   She developed her characters carefully and exposed their inner strengths, their weaknesses and their dreams.




    This is a story of hope and love that transcends time.  Tears stained my cheeks as I read through this tragedy, especially the last third of the book, where mysteries were brought to light and resolutions occurred.    It is certainly a love story told from a compassionate heart!   


    I am only regretting it took this long to get to read it!   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    Blackberry Winter I was captured by the very first paragraph and

    Blackberry Winter
    I was captured by the very first paragraph and I remained engrossed to the very last sentence. This story is so moving and told in a way that tugged at my heartstrings and brought me to tears, both sad and sweet. I was completely transported from one era to the other, making me feel like I was IN the story with the characters, which can only be accomplished by a gifted author. Kudos to Sarah Jio for caring, and making her readers feel like they're "living" in the story. Blackberry Winter is a haunting, beautiful story about a mother's love, as well as a love for family, friendship, and marriage. It begins with love and weaves in mystery, hope, disappointment, kindness, unthinkable loss, selfishness, and then concludes with a love; a timeless love between mother and child. Sighhhhh.
    I was also inspired by the generosity of certain characters. After reading this story, I recognized the hardships of someone less fortunate than I. So much so, I acted on that in a way that touched me just as much as (if not more) than the recipient. I checked this book out of the library, and will be purchasing a copy for my personal library. A story to be talked about and shared with others. Beautiful, beautiful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    A great read!

    This is one of the best books i have read in a long time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Anonymous

    Usually don't care for historical back and forth between present day, but loved this mix of romance and mystery. Plan to read all of Sarah Jio's books. Also, her covers are the prettiest around!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Fantastic

    A heartwarming story about forgiveness, love, and a mystery to be solved! Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Cathrine

    I dont think that this relationship is gonna work out because my grandmother died and i came to u first to talk but when i came to u i didnt get an answer from u till like 50 years later i replyed back and u didnt answer at all what im trying to say is i never know when u get on and so i can never talk to u mabey we just wasnt ment to be together i dont want to break your heart or any thing but i no that i am already i should have been clear more when i asked u who harmony was because i thought that there was two anthonys but no there wasnt i was just very stupid to think that there was to anthonys cause there wasnt u were just playing me i was talking to harmony yesturday and she was like yes she was going out with an anthony that eyes can change color and i almost cried but i didnt its not ok to cheat on somebody that loved u and think that u can get away with it that easly but no it does not work like that u lied to me and thought it was ok i dont no why i asked u to me my boyfriend i nthe first place:( wow all i have to say is im breaking up with u :'(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    Couldn't put it down, good read! Immediately went to B&N Shop to look for another Sarah Jio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Excellent book.

    Pulls at the heartstrings. A very touching story.
    A marraige that is having a rocky time because of a lost pregnancy. The different relationships with the in laws. But mostly a story about an exploration of the past of a mother and her son and their bond.
    Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Great read!!

    This was a very good book! I had trouble putting it down at times!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4