Customer Reviews for

Blackbird: A Childhood Lost and Found

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sad, good read!

    In Blackbird, Jennifer struggles to cope with an ever-changing childhood, after her adopted mother dies, her father marries another woman, and then he dies as well. This book was written from a young child's point of view, and gave the story a very realistic look on Jenny's hard life. Jenny tells about her experiences as a young child, her hardships and life with her new stepmother Deb, and quavering relationship with her older brother, Bryan.
    Jenny's mother had a mysterious illness, and it wouldn't heal by itself. Jenny, only five, isn't worried until the day her mother drives for the first time in a long time, and gets into a car accident. After that, Janet is admitted into a hospital, in California, and they move from their home in Nevada. When they move, Jenny feels as if she's leaving all of her life behind, her whole world was in Carson City, in the house with the tree in front on Mary Street.
    In California, things only take a turn for the worse for Jenny. Her mother only gets worse, not better like they'd thought would happen. Then Bryan tells Jenny that she's adopted- and it's true. Jenny's world starts to fall to pieces when her father, Bud, confirms the adoption, and then he suddenly starts to leave her and Bryan with their cousin Steve for entire weeks, going off on "business trips." When Jenny's mother dies, the details of Bud's "business trips" finally comes to light. He'd been seeing another woman, Deb. "Deb and Daddy and the way they are together, there's something I don't know, don't understand". Deb has three children, the twin girls, Kenny and Ronny, and an older boy, Christopher. Deb is mean to Jenny, doesn't like her and Bryan at all. And Jenny begins the next phase of her life- life with Deb.
    Bud dies a year after he marries Deb, and Jenny feels like she's alone. Bryan, Kenny and Ronny all don't treat her well, Christopher just does nothing. And Deb hates her. They move to L.A. and Deb makes Jenny stay in a house, where people can stay for free while they find a job, and collect their life from it's shambles. She has to help in the kitchen, and live there on her own- and Jenny's just eleven. "'Figure it out,' Deb says. `it's called survival'" But then, Deb takes her back almost an entire year later. After that- Bryan leaves, and there's no reason for it. Later, Jenny goes too; Deb sends her to Reno, to live with her grandparents, because the checks that she got for keeping them had stopped coming- and she didn't want Jenny any longer than she had to have her.
    Jennifer Lauck learns how hard life can be from her childhood. She learns how to get along with what she has, and how to be as happy as she can manage. She gets through her hardships and sorrows, and pulls through in the end. Jenny's sheer will enables her to continue her life, to pull the pieces back together, and to continue to be who she wants to be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Touching

    Hurts to read...great writing, tragic childhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Beautiful. Heartbreaking. Thank you Jennifer, for telling your story. Unforgettable.

    Best I have read in forever. Right now, going to look for Jennifer's next book. Thank you Jennifer, for sharing your story. I would love to know if you ever got to see Zoe and Max and his wife and babies again. Thank God for those good people. I will think about you and your story for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Love!!!!!!!!! ;)

    This book has an amazing story and i writen well. Couldn't put it down!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    An amazing book - must read!

    This is an astounding book written by an incredible person. Told from a child's point of view, it is the story of a girl who gives new meaning to the term "survivor". Very hard to read at times, but well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could NOT Put It Down!

    From the moment I opened this book, I could not put it down. Jennifer Lauck narrates BLACKBIRD in the voice of herself as a child and you are instantly pulled into her unbelievable childhood. If you ever think you've had a hard day in your life, you need to stop and pick up this book and read it. Would make a great book for a Book Club discussion. Can't wait to read FOUND, the follow-up to BLACKBIRD which I just saw on the B & N shelves today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    WOW

    This book pushed every one of my buttons. I enjoyed the way the author wrote in the age of the child. It forces you to identify with the main character. I bawled my eyes out reading it and found myself repeatedly looking at the back cover, looking at the authors picture thinking, 'it's okay, she turned out..' Loved this book! I purchased the next one hoping to get some insight on how to survive....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    I WAS BLOWN AWAY!

    I bought this book about 5yrs ago, and could not put it down. It's one of the sadest books I have ever read. I can't wait to read the 2nd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    Outstanding Doesn't Even Cover It!

    I ran across this book by accident while in a Salt Lake book store. What a find. I would recommend it to teachers. It really makes you think about the lives of your students. Do we really know and understand as much as we think?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Good Read

    I found this book to be a good read, could not put it down... Excellent writer, some parts were a little hard to believe, but all in all a very good story.... Just finished her 2nd book Still Waters...another good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    To many Downs, hardly any Ups

    This book was amazingly written. The emotions and sympathies were overwhelming. This book takes the reader on an emotional roller coaster. Although who likes to ride a roller coaster that hardly has any bumps? When the happy times happen they swiftly go back down and stay down. There's to much down time and the reader can get exhausted with reading a series of hard times. I understand it's non-fiction but it reads like fiction since many parts seem exaggerated and unbelieveable. I would recommend this book to those who want a quick read, but for those who are looking for a good summer read, I would wait for the more dismal months in Winter to start with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    I just don't buy it

    I'm sorry, but this book rang amazingly hollow to me. It all made sense once I read that the author only 'remembered' these details of her childhood in her adult life. I realize those were different times, but I do not believe it could have happened this way, nor do I believe this child's family, portrayed at first as caring and loving, would have allowed it. If you insist on reading this book, I urge you to read it with a skeptical eye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Better than White Oleander

    This book is better than White Oleander. I couldn't put it down and read it in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Godsent

    This book was extremely good. Jennifer's story is a must read for kids who consder their life "Terrible and horrible" Beacause they don't have a blue pair of pants to go with there new shirt. The book itself left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Blessings on Jenny Lauck

    Yes! a page turner, well-written and capitivating. Jenny writes her own story as only she could, from the heart with true experience. Tears, laughter, sympathy, antipathy for the ogres, hugs, tears, page after page. yes- read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    One of the Best Books I've Ever Read!

    This was simply one of the best books I've ever read. Jennifer Lauck's story is heart-wrenching. Her writing style is genuine, enabling the reader to feel all the pain this young child endured. I can not wait to read the sequel...because the ending definately leaves you desperate to know what happens next in this little girls life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    A light at the end of the tunnel

    Jennifer Lauch really puts her life in the hands of the reader. You really grasp a true sense of the author's moments of pain and joy. This little girl will inspire you to move the world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    Unforgettable- one of the best books I have ever read-a must!!!

    I truly devour books and am quite jaded for those not well-written. I simply could not put this book down, I was gripped from page one! I read it in two days, much of it through blurred tears though many times laughing out at Jenny's spunk and spirit. As another reviewer mentioned I wanted to hold little Jenny in my arms and make it all okay. I was outraged a child should have to endure all she did with no one there to help her and no one on her side. This is an extremely well-written, excellent and unforgettable book!! Thank you Ms. Lauck for sharing your story. You are truly a remarkable person. I cannot remember the last time I came across a book that has affected me so profoundly or one I have found myself thinking about so much long after it was finished. In fact for as many books as I have enjoyed this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review. Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2002

    Bravo for Jennifer Lauck!

    What a marvelous memoir! So often when I read a book of this quality I begin to feel as if I really know the characters. In this case, since the story is true, I feel as if I know Jennifer Lauck -- or at least a part of her. Honestly, touchingly and beautifully written, it entertained me and also helped me heal some wounds from my own childhood. What a marvelous woman you are, Jennifer Lauck, and I hope you have found all the love and happiness you so richly deserve!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2002

    The Little Train That Could

    This book will grab and force you to keep reading the words. Obviously this kiddo was going to survive no matter what was put on her plate. Yet, not only did she survive, but she appears to have found success and happiness. Hooray for her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2