Customer Reviews for

The Blackbird Papers

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    I purchased the book on a whim and started to ready around 2 PM.

    I purchased the book on a whim and started to ready around 2 PM...  at 8:30 PM (give or take) I closed the book and shook my head at how good it was!  Would LOVE to read other situations for Agent Bledsoe!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed this book from beginning to the very end. I would love to read another story w/Agent Sterling Bledsoe playing the lead and solving the case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    I didn't want to put it down.

    I hope he continues to write more mysteries. This book was great, I didn't want it to come to an end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    This is an excellent book to read

    I love reading books like this.The Blackbird Papers has all the elements it need to keep readers guessing throughout the story. The whole set up in the book was a surprise and shocking to me. I would recommend this book for anyone who love mystery and action all in one book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    A Very Intelligent Read

    My hat is off to Mr. Ian Smith for creating an exciting, fast-moving, and realistic crime plot. The story had so many twists and turns which keeps the readers guessing and on the end of their seats. The novel held my interest from start to finish. With the exception of a couple of editing mistakes (Smith got Sterling¿s and Wilson¿s names confused during one occasion), the writing was superb. It was refreshing to read a work of fiction by an African American author that did not contain a storyline about somebody¿s `BABY MOMMA¿ or a Player trying to get over on a sista¿¿which I do enjoy reading myself from time-to-time. I got Mr. Smith¿s book from the library (FREE) but would not have regretted shelling out the hard cash for this exciting read. I highly recommend this novel for your private library. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    this book MUST make it to the BIG SCREEN!

    I burned the midnight oil trying to finish this book....it's definately a page turner. I can - not wait until the release of Dr. Smith's next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    Ian Smith's Book Will Make It On The Big Screen!

    There is something charasmatically clever about the writing style of Mr. Ian Smith's, The Blackbird Papers. I felt like I was reading a work equal to Sidney Sheldon, and Dean Koontz. I kept hearing about the book everywhere, and visited Barnes and Noble, but no more books were in stock. Therefore, I ordered a copy from the clerk, and awaited a few days for it to arrive. Barnes and Noble called me, and I never felt so proud to obtain my book copy of The Blackbird Papers. The cover alone is one of the most unique and professional book covers of the year for a male author, and the simplicity is stunning. Hints of a blackbird silhouette preceeding every chapter places this book on the top quality list. The page count, chapter breaks, and font, and editing are perfect for a modern day mystery that crosses boundaries, and is refreshing for an AA author who has taken novel writing back to what it should be, and doesn't underestimate that book lovers are interested in real stories minus the hype, gangs, and stereo depictions of urban life. His writing style is authentic. This book is intelligent, and when readers find out who actually killed Sterling Bledsoe's brother, Wilson, it is sort of humorous and shocking, and makes you just want to see this fast paced page turner head to the big screen, and quickly. Bring on the rain, music score, and blackbirds in the millions. I can envision this book on the screen so vividly, it makes me tremble because I predict it will happen. The language use let me know substantial care and research was done to make a believable crime detective story worth reading not once, but twice or maybe more times. The book is methodical, and intense like Mr. Ian is a doctor in criminology. I was intrigued by the saga of the murder of blackbirds. Cute things. Why would anyone want to kill these creatures. The answer lies in power, greed, and circumstances that are critical to the well being of man kind, but when you think of the earth's ecological system, can we afford to rid the planet of any animals to distinction that may hold the cure to wide spread disease as much as the crops they can destroy in one mass feeding. Your skin will crawl, and you too will take sides, and make Dr. Ian's Smith's fine work part of your book collection for keeps. I will hold on to my copy for an autograph one day. It looks like I am stuck in my own literary world, and found it necessary to insist that all book lovers of mystery and suspense get this book to number one by ordering it. I rarely assign titles, but yes, 'The King of Mystery Suspense Thrillers' is born. He should be a action super hero. I applaud this author. All I can say is, 'WOW!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    Excellent Book

    Dr. Ian Smith does a wonderful job on his first novel. This book is filled with suspense and you will not want to put the book down. I can't wait to read his next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    An OUTSTANDING Book

    A definite 'can't put it down until you finish it' book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    Blackbird Papers

    The blackbird papers is an Exellent first book, considering that this is from a guy who does medical non fiction. It is well written and It has completely crossed the boundary of black books and mainstream, it is definetly main stream. It is a story of educated human beings,who have lives like you and me. It is tells life as it is supposed to be, that any human being if determined can reach heaven and that heaven is the bottom line, as long as one applies themselves completely and dedicates them selves to what they are dreaming of, they can acheive all they want. And like any human beings there is sibling rivalry and tragedy. It is an intillegent humerous , yet serious story, with gripping emotions, that does bring a sting of tears as easily as it brings out loud laughter. It is a thriller all the way , a page turner. Sterling is a brilliant Sleuth, who uses all he has to find his brother's killer.Dr Smith makes us learn so much about a lot of things.About the black birds, sunflower seeds , academic life, the FBI and so much more. It is a must read. Two thumbs Dr Smith You did it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    A Summer Must Read!

    The Blackbird Papers is a Summer Must Read! Dr. Smith develops the key players in such a precise way until you feel as if you know each character intimately. The riveting 'whodunit' plot consists of twists and turns that carry the reader on a spine tingling journey. It was refreshing to read a mystery novel where the FINALE was actually a well crafted SURPRISE and not a cookie cutter ending! Also the underlying real life ecological controversy addressed in the novel gives the enlightened reader something to ponder long after the unmasking of the killers. Don't start the novel late in the evening because once you pick it up . . . you will not be able to put it down. I look forward to more of Detective Sterling Bledsoe's adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    great debut

    this book is astounding. it keeps you interested from start to finish. this book is on the level of tom clancy and dan brown. the main character should have a series of books such as dan browns robert langdon. once again an excellent worth checking out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    GREAT!!!

    This first novel was absolutely wonderful! I couldn't tell that this was Dr. Smith's first book. I could barely put it down because I was so anxious to see whodunit!!! I definitely will be looking forward to reading more from Dr. Smith in the near future!! BRAVO!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    A MUST READ

    Ian Smith, jumped right into the literary world with this KNOCK-OUT novel. It was really hard to tell this was his first novel. The book was well written,and kept you turning the pages from start to finish. I look forward to reading more novels from this amazing new author of mystery and suspense. OUTSTANDING!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1