Customer Reviews for

Blackbirds

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Once again Wendig blew me away. I could not put this book down.

    Once again Wendig blew me away. I could not put this book down. It's dark and twistedly funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    Amazing book <3 the characters are so well written and raw.

    Amazing book &lt;3 the characters are so well written and raw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Starkly original and freshly grim, Blackbirds is a unique urban

    Starkly original and freshly grim, Blackbirds is a unique urban fantasy featuring a terrified young woman trying to outrun herself and her &quot;gift&quot; of seeing people's deaths in crystal-clear detail. Miriam has been living on the run since she was a young teenager, and her life is really rough and scary. She sees herself as a scavenger to Death, taking only what she needs to keep running. In the past she's tried to prevent the deaths she sees, but she only ends up being the catalyst to the death, creating a sense of fatalism and inevitability. She's existing, but not living. The book doles out snippets of Miriam's past, right before her ability manifested, and it's as mean and sad and grim as her current life.
    Miriam is a quirky woman, and when she talks the words flow out of her like lava from a volcano. The steady, thick river of stream-of consciousness profanity and uncensored thoughts, chock-full of brutal honesty and a fatalistic perspective is almost involuntary, and I thought this was a glimpse of Miriam's true self that she normally kept bottled up.
    Blackbirds is really the chronicle of Miriam waking up from her self-centered, self-pitying life of horror and grief, and acknowledging a connection with another human being. What I loved is that Miriam doesn't turn chipper, kind, or gracious. This is a girl with a brittle, rough center to match her exterior. But her journey from passive witness to fighting participant, also mirrors her first real attempt to confront herself and what's inside of her. She's slowly figuring out that she can't control it, but she can control how she reacts to her gift.
    As tough and harsh as Blackbirds is, I found it compelling and fascinating. I had to keep reading to learn about Miriam's past, and to find out how she was involved in her vision of Louis' death.
    A unique, powerful and original book - highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    I fell for how human the 'hero' is despite her fantastic ability

    I fell for how human the 'hero' is despite her fantastic ability. With the Wendig's skill, I am drawn into the story despite some times in the plot I did felt characters around her might be a little cliché, my absolute adoration of her-- bad habits and self loathing-- was addictive. I am on his third installment, both she and HE get better and better. I love them both with like a FEDISH-- I can't believe it hasn't hit mainstream. I have bought this book for friends and given it as gifts because it deserves attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    NOT FOR KIDS

    VERY BAD WORDS!a

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Wow what a ride.

    Excellant book, I had not read anything before by this author. I will be going back for more. Sit down and hang on, its a fast read. Slightly twisted, but hey, aren't we all?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Not your run-of-the-mill plot

    Unique story and characters. A fun & interesting read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Good

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Excellent

    Fun, fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Loved it

    The words fly at you like bullets to the brain
    Read it, you will like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    A Fun "Road" Adventure

    If you have not read Chuck Wendig's BLACKBIRDS--you are missing out. This wild, graphic "road" novel features a strong-willed, dynamic & dangerous female everyone will love & fear. Great action, great concept & so much fun I read it in a single night. If all Urban Fantasy was like this one--I'd read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Doesnt get more raw

    This is a book of the brutal and dirty. Its like a shot of whuskey and a punch to the face. With a cigarette as the apertif. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Loaded with action!

    Full of action - Wendig's writing grabs you by the collar and drags you straight into the story. Details are graphic, so this novel is not for the faint of heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Great read

    To be honest, i really only bought this book based off of the cover and to my surprise the book was great. I had planned to be reading this over the course of my upcoming vacation, but once i started i just couldnt put it down. It's funny, intense, and gory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Great characters that leaps off the page as if to throttle you.


    Great characters that leaps off the page as if to throttle you.

    Blackbirds is an over the top story of mayhem. colorful metaphors and death. Miram is an engaging character with lots of reasons not to like her, but she makes you want to read more about her. She more than a little quirky and her most endearing trait is she knows how a person is going to die just by touching them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    This book has a flow to it that makes it a great, easy read. It

    This book has a flow to it that makes it a great, easy read. It has a feel to it that reminds me of the Odd Thomas books by Koontz, but Miriam is no easy going, let me help you drifter. She's damaged, mistrusting, and out to hurt anyone she encounters to keep them from hurting her.
    Of course she stumbles across the one person that makes her think contrary to her rules, and she has to decide if she's going to try once more to fight the plans of fate----something she has so far been unable to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Chuck Wendig's BLACKBIRDS is urban fantasy with an intriguing no

    Chuck Wendig's BLACKBIRDS is urban fantasy with an intriguing noir spin. It manages to make a profound message laced with profanity into a total body which is both witty and disturbing. You'll either put it down immediately or be stuck to it until it releases you from its bloody grip. A great ride from cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Raw and powerful, Blackbirds offers a brilliant glimpse into the

    Raw and powerful, Blackbirds offers a brilliant glimpse into the mind of its main character, Miriam. With each juicy detail, the story unfolds at just the right pace. Miriam and her mind-bending gift/curse will have you questioning all you know about the fragility of life and love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    A very Tarantino-esque Urban Fantasy

    If Quentin Tarantino decided to make an Urban Fantasy movie, I would expect the result to be a lot like Blackbirds by Chuck Wendig. This book is profane, violent, bloody, and filled with well-drawn but totally messed-up characters. This is a fast, lean and easy read that will hold your attention even if you're sleep deprived. Wending doesn't waste any words. But...if excess profanity or gore turns you off, this may not be your cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Miriam is a bad ass that doesn't take crap from anyone. She has

    Miriam is a bad ass that doesn't take crap from anyone. She has a gift, though she thinks of it as a curse, which allows her to see how everyone will die just by touching them. All she needs is skin on skin contact and she will be able to see when and how someone dies. She is a wanderer, never sticking around in one place very long and never letting her guard down. Her life changes when she gets in a truck with a man named Louis. The brief touch of his hand lets her see that he will die in roughly a month and his last words would be her name.

    There are two main men that enter Miriam's life, and they are quite opposite from each other. Louis is a lonely truck driver that wants to protect Miriam from the bad things in life. He is sweet and a little bit naive. He has no clue what fate has in store for him. Ashley, is a guy that she meets in a bar, and you quickly figure out that he knows more than he lets on and he isn't quite who he says he is. I found myself hoping that Miriam would be able to do something for Louis to change his fate. But as she says a few times, fate is set in stone and she is unable to change it no matter how hard she tries.

    The bad &quot;guys&quot; in this book are rather interesting. Frankie and Harriet are searching for something that belongs to their boss. They are ruthless in their search and will stop at nothing to get what they are looking for. Their story quickly and cleanly intertwines with Miriam's story. I was fascinated to learn that Wendig actually mashed the stories together has a writing exercise and came up with this wonderful book.

    I have to give major kudos to Wendig, the entire time I was reading I was thinking &quot;Wow, this would be a great movie&quot;. I have never felt that way about a book before, and probably won't again until I read the second book of this series. This book had the whole dark, gritty thing going for it and a main character that spoke her mind (profanities included). I really loved it, and I highly recommend it if you are okay with books that have profanity, violence, death, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2