Customer Reviews for

Blackmoore

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Once again, Donaldson won my heart.  I thoroughly enjoyed this r

Once again, Donaldson won my heart.  I thoroughly enjoyed this romance.  Told through a series of flashbacks, readers get to see Kate's history unfold.  Learning the sordid truth about her older sister and her mother's scheming, scandalous ways... learning about how she...
Once again, Donaldson won my heart.  I thoroughly enjoyed this romance.  Told through a series of flashbacks, readers get to see Kate's history unfold.  Learning the sordid truth about her older sister and her mother's scheming, scandalous ways... learning about how she lost her heart to the one man she can't have... 

This book actually reminded me a little of Austen's Pride and Prejudice. The intelligent, talented daughter with bigger dreams than just following her mother's wishes of a "good" marriage. As Kate must deal with laughable suitors, an embarassing family, and having to see the man that she doesn't want to admit she loves, she also fights to break free of the life she sees herself imprisoned within.  Her pluck and determination are admirable.  Kate's story grabbed my heartstrings and simply wouldn't let go.  

When I finished the book, I found myself sighing aloud and already mentally counting down until another is announced.  To me, that is the ultimate test...and Blackmoore passed with flying colors! 

posted by Jessica-IReadtoRelax on September 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Title: ¿Blackmoore¿ Author: Julianne Donaldson Publication d





Title: “Blackmoore”
Author: Julianne Donaldson
Publication date: 9/10/2013
Type of book: Historical Fiction and Proper Romance
Is this a part of a series, If yes, which number? No 
Summary:  Kate Worthington is a single woman living in Regency England. In a world wh...




Title: “Blackmoore”
Author: Julianne Donaldson
Publication date: 9/10/2013
Type of book: Historical Fiction and Proper Romance
Is this a part of a series, If yes, which number? No 
Summary:  Kate Worthington is a single woman living in Regency England. In a world where most of her life is decided for her Kate wants only two things, to go visit Blackmoore (A friend’s estate/house) and to travel to India with her aunt. Unfortunately for her those two things are being kept from her by her mother who only wants Kate to marry. In order to get to Blackmoore Kate makes a hasty bargain with her mother. With more at stake then just a trip to India, Kate must quickly find out who she is and what she is willing to do to get what she wants in life.    
Characters: Kate Worthington: I liked Kate. She is spunky and keeps trying to reach her goals even when things seem out of focus. 
*Henry: He is my favorite character in this book. I love how sweet he is and how much he loves Kate. He follows his heart even when it‘s difficult. Henry is very swoon worthy. 
(Normally I would go on a bit more about secondary characters but for me this book was really just about Kate and Henry.)
Favorite bits: *I love the description of Blackmoore and I felt like I had walked the halls myself. 
*I really enjoyed the subtle and sweet gestures from Henry towards Kate. (I love a subtle and meaningful romance.)
*I loved the scene where Henry lets the bird out of the cage. I enjoyed the symbolism of it. 
Problematic bits: *I did find Kate difficult to like at times.
*I think that the book could have used more filling out. I’m not even really sure what I would add but I just felt like it was missing something. 




Overall I found Blackmoore to be an enjoyable read and great for anyone who wants a sweet Regency “proper” romance. Julianne Donaldson is an author to watch.

posted by KimberlySouza on September 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    A beautifully written story. Having read Edenbrooke which remai

    A beautifully written story. Having read Edenbrooke which remains my favorite, I was not anticipating the somewhat darker feel to Blackmoore. Once I adjusted my expectations, and stopped looking for Edenbrooke I was thoroughly engrossed in the story. Well done, Mrs. Donaldson.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    One of my favorite summer reads!

    I'm not even sure how I stumbled upon this book. I was looking for a "Jane Austen" type love story, and found this book. I started it without much expectation, but was very pleasantly surprised. I loved it! I love historical fiction; and Donaldson explains her "research" when preparing to write Blackmoore. When I finished this book, I quickly found her other book, Edenbrook, which I also loved. I need more Donaldson books! I am a teacher on summer break. I have read a lot of books this summer. This was one of my favorites!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Beautiful!

    I love this book! I can't be sure which book I liked more by her. Blackmoore is definately a book I'm considering reading again! I'm not usually big on rereadimg a book but this one has me still thinking of it after I finished. I feel like I want to jump back into Kate and Henry's world. You can just feel the love they have from the very start!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Just read it!!

    Blackmoore reminds me of Jane Austen, but it's so much more enjoyable and easy to read! Add the fact that Henry is absolutely swoon-worthy and we have a real winner here. Love, love, love this book! It's well written, with a great storyline and wonderfully fun romance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Whew!

    Man talk about a heart sqweezer ! This was like a total austen read. Wonderfully written . Grab your munchies and tissues . Get ready for an emotional roller coaster ,read it in a night. Can't wait to read more from this author she writes richly

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    I loved this book.

    A more serious story than Edenbrooke with incredibly well developed characters and a fantastic sense of place. Very well written!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great story

    I fully enjoyed reading it. Well written and a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    A great entertaining story! It really pulls at your emotions and

    A great entertaining story! It really pulls at your emotions and keeps you invested. The characters are great, as with her other book:
    Edenbrooke - a recommended read as well!
    Two very different stories and yet so fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Love

    Very beautiful. I loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Another great read!!!

    What a wonderful story. Could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Wonderful storytelling!

    I could not put this book down! I abosutely loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Donaldson writes such believable, haunting love stories. Can't w

    Donaldson writes such believable, haunting love stories. Can't wait for her next one :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Katherine Worthington has known little of love.  Every day she h

    Katherine Worthington has known little of love.  Every day she has witnessed the consequences of love gone wrong—from her parents’ loveless marriage rife with infidelity to her sisters’ scandalous behavior.  She has only ever had friends Sylvia and Henry Delafield (sister and brother), her cat Cora, and her little brother Oliver to give her heart to and receive any kindness or affection from.  She yearns for adventure and has informed everyone that she never intends to marry.  She has always dreamed of visiting Syliva and Henry’s ancestral home, Blackmoore, and finally, at age 17, she has finally been invited.  Her spinster Aunt Charlotte has also invited her on the adventure of a lifetime, a trip to India.  However, when Kate refused an elderly, diseased gentleman’s marriage proposal, her mother hurts her in the only way she can—she refuses to allow her to go to Blackmoore or to go with her Aunt Charlotte.  In desperation, Kate makes a Faustian bargain with her mother—if she receives and refuses three marriage proposals while at Blackmoore, she can go to India.  If she cannot accomplish this, she will be completely in her mother’s power and do whatever she asks.  When Kate arrives at Blackmoore, she comes to realize that it is no more magical than her own home, and this is only emphasized by the fact that Henry and Sylvia’s mother makes it perfectly clear that she is not welcome.  After unsuccessfully flirting with several guests, Kate hatches a brilliant scheme.  Surely Henry would be willing to propose to her three times to help her realize her dream of India?  However, Kate discovers that things aren’t quite so simple and that her own heart is in serious danger.

    This was a very bitter-sweet story.  The author does a wonderful job at only revealing things bit by bit, almost painfully slowly, so that you do not fully understand the depth of Kate’s soul until nearly the end of the book. For much of the novel she comes off as somewhat selfish and naïve, but the reader comes to realize that she understands and feels more than nearly anyone else and has sacrificed her own heart for the benefit of others. The whole theme of birds and cages was beautifully carried throughout the novel and reminded me of Jane Eyre, my favorite book ever.  Very few books ever come close to making me cry, but I got teary-eyed over this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    So great!

    Very Jane Austen. Beautiful characters to fall in love with.... Read it in a day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    If you follow my reviews regularly, you will know my penchant fo

    If you follow my reviews regularly, you will know my penchant for historical fiction.  Add romance, an English (Regency setting), and you have the ingredients for a book that may truly resonate with me. All too often, however, these books are a dime a dozen.  They have very little (if any) humor, bedroom scenes (some nearly erotic in nature), and some disruptive profanity.  The female protagonist is often too good to be true or completely overbearing.  And what can you expect from her love interest but arrogance and plenty of experience within the boudoir.




    You may wonder at my reasoning for listing these problematic elements, and you may marvel  even further when it comes to relating these to Julianne Donaldson's book.  It's very simple--her book contains not one of these pitfalls.  In fact, if a romance book can be perfect, this is certainly it!  There are no bedroom scenes and absolutely no profanity.  Henry and Kate have a definite chemistry, and the scenes between them are witty and highly emotional at times. The supporting cast and descriptions are expertly portrayed, and there are several times where the readers are somewhat left in the dark until the next flashback (a delightful literary device).  Although the conclusion is ultimately not in question, the journey is quite a ride.  I believe that readers will be charmed by the story and tingling from the depth of feeling!  This is pure heaven, and I can recommend this book to anyone who loves a good, clean romance.




    I also commend the author for her delightful sense of humor. All too often, today's books don't include good humor.  I applaud the author for her tasteful, laugh-out-loud dialogue and happenings.  You may wish to curl up with this book by yourself so that no one is disturbed by your sudden, explosive outburst.  I had to be cognizant of that fact when I was reading, and thankfully no one was disturbed by my reactions.




    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.  I was no financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    5*

    Another awesome book by Julianne Donaldson. Cant wait for her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I couldn't put it down! Finally a morally clean great read

    I hope Julianne Donaldson is writing more books. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time! I could not stop reading! Beautifully written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Romantic

    I loved this book almost as much as Edenbrooke.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book.  It had more sadness in it than Edenbrooke, b

    I loved this book.  It had more sadness in it than Edenbrooke, but the emotions up and down were very fulfilling.  This is another must-read for those that like clean, historical romance.

    I read this book a couple of weeks ago and was so sucked up in the story and emotions that I had to take a break from reading for a few days.  I wanted to linger with this story and these characters.  And, I feel that I can't do justice to this book in my review.  I can't say enough good things about it and I can't find the words anyway.

    Warnings: None

    I would let my 15 year old read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Touching Romance

    This Regency romance also has a good bit of intrigue, mystery and loyalty woven into the delightful story. Kate Worthington wants to be nothing like her mother. She doesn’t care about marriage, but wants to embrace adventure with her aunt on a trip to India. More than anything, she wants to visit the stately manor Blackmoore for the season. Blackmoore, which sits atop cliffs above the seashore, belongs to her best friend, Henry and his family. Due to a mysterious tiff between her mother and his, she hasn’t been asked to visit when the family stays there even though she longs to. Meanwhile, Kate’s meddlesome and flirtatious mother plans to marry her off to a wealthy man - any wealthy man. Kate hope to escape comes when she is finally allowed to visit Blackmoore. In addition, her mother has stipulated that she must receive and turn down three marriage proposals while at Blackmoore before she is allow to go India with her aunt. Finally, Kate foresees a way to leave her domineering mother and a life she can’t image living. However, when Kate’s adventure finally begins, she soon realizes that she left more behind than the love of her temperamental cat. Will the adventure be enough to fill the void she now feels for a concept she never imaged? Author Julianne Donaldson weaves a mystical tale of romance, hopes and dreams. Her characters are well-developed and likable. She gives them flaws and quirks, but strength and determination. The story flows smoothly even though it shifts in time a bit the reader is not lost or confused. An eye for detail, the author paints a beautiful setting for this enchanting romance. The alluring story will draw you in and hold you captivated until the end. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2