Customer Reviews for

Blackout

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

London Blitz and the Panic of Historians

Wow. Just, wow. Loved this one.

So this is the latest installment of Willis' time travel stories, this time with historians travelling back to 1940 and the London Blitz. There are a number of different story lines flowing through here, and thankfully they're just on...
Wow. Just, wow. Loved this one.

So this is the latest installment of Willis' time travel stories, this time with historians travelling back to 1940 and the London Blitz. There are a number of different story lines flowing through here, and thankfully they're just on the "understandable" side of the "descent into utter chaos" cliff. It's hard to put down, though. There's a sense of panic that builds slowly but steadily throughout, and by the time the book ends, the peril is thick. There's the threat of the German bombs, of course, as well as the technical issues with time travel equipment.

The depictions of 1940s England and the people who lived through the Blitz are wonderful. I'm not acquainted with wartime novels so I don't have much to compare with, but after reading this, I'm almost ready to jump in. Willis' characters are full and rich and quite varied.

But here's my warning: This book might end, but it doesn't conclude. Willis' next book "All Clear," is supposed to conclude the story. If you're like me, and don't like to wait to finish a story, I'd suggest that you wait until Autumn 2010 when it's supposed to be released.

I fell in love with Connie Willis' time travel universe when I first read "Doomsday Book" twenty years ago. "Blackout" is at least as good as Doomsday Book, if not better (20 years makes the comparison a little shaky). Highly, highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars.

posted by SteveTheDM on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly irritating and disappointing

As a huge Connie Willis fan, I am disgusted with this book. It's over 500 pages long and contains about 75 pages of plot.

I believe that there is a reason for this, and I'm sure it's more interesting than this book.

The overwhelming problem is that where the plot...
As a huge Connie Willis fan, I am disgusted with this book. It's over 500 pages long and contains about 75 pages of plot.

I believe that there is a reason for this, and I'm sure it's more interesting than this book.

The overwhelming problem is that where the plot belongs is instead a grocery list. A hundred grocery lists. Instead of characters with thought processes and some sense of priority are cardboard cutouts who act too stupidly to be believable historians in order to stretch out 75 pages of setup into a 500 page Vol I.

It's such an exciting premise and such a thrilling central conflict that it is baffling to see it ignored for 500 pages in favor of what train should be caught from which station, and whether one's coat and hat were left behind.

Absolutely baffling. Such a mind-blowingly talented and interesting author churning out such a useless stack of pages about some very silly people who never twig to the very obvious and spend the entire story fumbling in a dark that is revealed to us much too soon for their futile efforts at not very much to be interesting at all.

There is no emotional resonance in a 21st century character bothering to tidy up her department store counter while the bombs are falling. You can have no patience for a character who runs into the equivalent of a burning building looking for someone who logic dictates has already left.

When the characters are more interested in returning a pair of stockings that have no bearing on the story than whether they will be dead in a pile of rubble by morning, you're left feeling cheated. What you want to know is what the characters are thinking and feeling, but all you ever find out is that they are scrupulously responsible maids and shopgirls.

It starts out with everyone being flustered and pressured for way too long in Oxford, to no purpose, and continues with everyone being frustrated by the unavailability of transportation and the constant thwarting of schedules by petty annoyances like fussy nurses, demanding bosses and picky customers. In place of a rising dramatic tension is a simple sense of aggravation.

Anyway, this book can be skimmed. You won't miss much past the midpoint. It hopefully sets up a sequel that actually has a plot and some of the fabulous twists and turns and emotional impact of ANY of the other Connie Willis books you could spend some quality time with.

posted by Annerocious on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    London Blitz and the Panic of Historians

    Wow. Just, wow. Loved this one.

    So this is the latest installment of Willis' time travel stories, this time with historians travelling back to 1940 and the London Blitz. There are a number of different story lines flowing through here, and thankfully they're just on the "understandable" side of the "descent into utter chaos" cliff. It's hard to put down, though. There's a sense of panic that builds slowly but steadily throughout, and by the time the book ends, the peril is thick. There's the threat of the German bombs, of course, as well as the technical issues with time travel equipment.

    The depictions of 1940s England and the people who lived through the Blitz are wonderful. I'm not acquainted with wartime novels so I don't have much to compare with, but after reading this, I'm almost ready to jump in. Willis' characters are full and rich and quite varied.

    But here's my warning: This book might end, but it doesn't conclude. Willis' next book "All Clear," is supposed to conclude the story. If you're like me, and don't like to wait to finish a story, I'd suggest that you wait until Autumn 2010 when it's supposed to be released.

    I fell in love with Connie Willis' time travel universe when I first read "Doomsday Book" twenty years ago. "Blackout" is at least as good as Doomsday Book, if not better (20 years makes the comparison a little shaky). Highly, highly recommended.

    5 of 5 stars.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    super time travel historical thriller

    In 2060, studying history at Oxford is a contact sport as historians conduct real field research. In that regard three historians are sent to different locations during WW II. Seventeen years old Colin Templer, who saved the life of project chief Mr. Dunworthy wants the faculty advisor's help so he can age enough in the past for older student Polly Churchill to notice him and how much he loves her. At the relative same time, Michael Davies is preparing to go to Pearl Harbor but the assignment changed after he obtained his American accent implant to be there for the Channel fishermen rescue at Dunkirk; Polly is going to London as a shopgirl during the Blitz; and Eileen works at a children's evac center in Warwickshire during a measles outbreak.

    However something is not quite right with the Research lab equipment as assignments change abruptly and the historians face danger when they arrive during the early stages of WW II in England. Although Eileen insists she trusts in the future, something Mike did at Dunkirk should not have happened; at least based on the prime premise of the History Department at Oxford in 2060 in which a traveling historian cannot change what has been.

    This is a super time travel historical thriller that hooks the audience from the onset and never slows down especially when the trio land in 1939-1940. The story line is fast-paced yet loaded with vivid detail so that the prime subplots seem genuine as Polly struggles with working at a store and evacuating during air raids; and Eileen with twenty two kids and resentful locals including the sponsor especially during a measles outbreak. However, it is Mike who may have changed the outcome of WW II and the next century with his impossible actions that could not have happened at Dunkirk. Perhaps the only issue with this great saga is it never climaxes as the second book to be published later in the year contains the rest of the story.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Connie Willis does it again

    It's hard to imagine learning history through science fiction, but Connie Willis' time travel novels always hit the mark. I'm not much of a history buff, but I found myself wanting to know more about the Blitz and England during World War II. Connie's plot and characters, as always, make the time period come alive. This novel isn't as funny as some of her others, but I found myself riveted by the action and really wanting to know what happens to Polly, Mike and Merope. Do they change the course of the War? Do they ever get home? My only complaint is, I have to wait till fall of 2010 for the sequel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    Connie Willis' new time-travel story

    Potential buyers should be warned that this book is not a novel--it is only the first half of a novel, the second half of which is apparently to be released under the title "All Clear." Unlike most books that are parts of a trilogy, or series, or what have you, which can be read as independent stories, even though they are part of a larger, over-arching story, "Blackout" does not end; it simply stops in the middle of the action. This may make a difference to some readers; it certainly did to the present reviewer. Nothing in the jacket copy or the on-line description of this book indicates that it is not complete.

    That said, "Blackout" is a gripping start to a rollicking story set in Ms. Willis' time-travel universe, which was also the setting of her novels "Doomsday Book" and "To Say Nothing of the Dog", and her very moving short story, "Firewatch." The action centers on the trials of three Oxford historians from A.D. 2060, who all happen to be researching events in Britain in 1940, during the first part of World War II. One is sent to a rural manor to observe children evacuated from London before the Blitz, one to observe the sea-lift that rescued the British Army after the Battle of Dunkirk, and the third to London to observe the behavior of Londoners during the beginning of the Blitz.

    "Blackout" constitutes the exposition of this large-scale novel. Each character has his or her professional concerns, as well as an emotional reaction to the historical circumstances under study. As in Ms. Willis' other time-travel stories, the characters all find themselves drawn to various people among the "contemps" they meet, and much of the drama of the story so far derives from the conflict between a strong desire to help and an even stronger imperative to avoid tampering with the course of history.

    There are mysterious goings-on in Oxford in 2060 that may affect the ability of our historians to return to their own milieu. It will spoil nothing to reveal that as this book ends, they have just joined forces and have begun to sort out the nature of their predicament. We must await the second volume to discover what is going on and how it all gets resolved.

    One of the most gripping aspects of the novel so far is Ms. Willis' vivid and moving depiction of Britain during the early war years, which she has extensively researched. For us, the events of World War II are still within living memory (albeit just barely), but for Ms. Willis' historians, they lie over a century in the past. The author is thus able to play both on the characters' unfamiliarity with conditions that are ordinary to us--and in the process to remind us of just how much the world has changed in seventy years, and how much more it is likely to change in the next fifty.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Great Book

    I highly recommend Black Out and All Clear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Connie willis never disappoints

    Literally every book i have read by willis has benn a book i cannot put down. This was no exception. While this is only the first half of the story it is thrilling and sets up what very well may be her definitive time travel novel. Basically it is breaking all the rules she has carefully set up in prior books... and one doesn't know if the characters will find their way home or not. I can't wait to read the conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved this book! Kept me wonderinf and kept my attention!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn%27t+put+it+down%21

    Great+story%2C+surprisingly+amusing+antics%2C+and+serious+time+travel+complexities.+The+author+has+done+her+research+and+you+will+truly+%22feel+you+are+there%22+in+WWII+England.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Being a fan of both time travel and World War II buff, I was pulled into this story like very few stories have done before. The author did such a great job at making me feel like I knew the characters, and I could visualize every scene. Since there are time travel aspects to this book, and there are a lot of characters, there is a lot to keep up with, but that is what kept me so intrigued. I am often bored by books with few characters and a too-simple plot. This plot thickened with every turn of the page (actually, click of the button on my Nook). Also, it was fairly long at nearly 600 pages, which kept me entertained each night before bed for almost a week. I am so glad I found this book after the second book was already published so that I could dive right into the next one. I would have been anxiously awaiting the sequel had I found this sooner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Live in WWII Britain!

    Fascinating and carefully researched account of late 21st century time-travelling college students stranded in Britain during WWII. Intriguing plot, sympathetic characters, and engaging writing. To be continued in Connie Willis' next novel, All Clear, in the fall of 2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3