Customer Reviews for

Blackout (Newsflesh Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

If you like new age zombie books - this is the series to read!!!!

I picked up Mira Grant's first book, "Feed", and was immediately hooked. As soon as the second book in the series, "Deadline", became available, it was as if I was right back with the characters of the book, feeling their loss and sharing their fears and concerns for ...
I picked up Mira Grant's first book, "Feed", and was immediately hooked. As soon as the second book in the series, "Deadline", became available, it was as if I was right back with the characters of the book, feeling their loss and sharing their fears and concerns for their future. What a great concept for a book - an outbreak, blog sites as news sources, politics, boxes with flashing lights to determine your fate, and animals being able to animate into zombies. Other than in the "Resident Evil" games and movies as well as "I am Legend", you've not really had the whole animal thing explained as it has been in "Feed" and "Deadline". All I can say is I can't wait for the final book, "Blackout", to be released. There are some loose ends that keep you wanting more.

posted by Crick1125 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I loved it but..

I loved the first 2 books and this one, too. The only thing that really upset me was the ending. I felt it was lacking compared to everything else.

posted by 7320901 on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you like new age zombie books - this is the series to read!!!!

    I picked up Mira Grant's first book, "Feed", and was immediately hooked. As soon as the second book in the series, "Deadline", became available, it was as if I was right back with the characters of the book, feeling their loss and sharing their fears and concerns for their future. What a great concept for a book - an outbreak, blog sites as news sources, politics, boxes with flashing lights to determine your fate, and animals being able to animate into zombies. Other than in the "Resident Evil" games and movies as well as "I am Legend", you've not really had the whole animal thing explained as it has been in "Feed" and "Deadline". All I can say is I can't wait for the final book, "Blackout", to be released. There are some loose ends that keep you wanting more.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fantastic series... the first two book did not disappo

    This is a fantastic series... the first two book did not disappoint and built greatly on each other... I also love the way the zombies in this series have been created, it's not just some anonymous virus or sinister spell, it comes across as real science just gone horribly wrong... the main characters are unique, maybe a tad cliched in some aspects, but still fun to follow along... I'm very eagerly anticipating the final book in the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    The third book in the Newsflesh trilogy focuses more on the gove

    The third book in the Newsflesh trilogy focuses more on the government conspiracy found in the previous two books than non-stop zombie action. There is some in the story, it’s just not as prevalent as it was in the first two books. The story continues where book two left off and takes more twists and turns than a mountain road, but finally brings everything to a tidy conclusion and makes a fitting end to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great Trilogy

    I thouroughly enjoyed these books and Blackout was a good ending to the story. If you love zombie stories this is a new take on it. Almost more of a political thriller in a world full of zombies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Grant is an excellent story teller/writer. The last of the serie

    Grant is an excellent story teller/writer. The last of the series is definitely keeping up the standard set by the first 2 books. I can see that this series is one I will read again. I did like the science giving enough description to make it all believable for me, but did not bog me down with details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I don’t hesitate to say that the Newsflesh trilogy has bee

    I don’t hesitate to say that the Newsflesh trilogy has been my favorite trilogy to date, hands down. The most prominent thought I have about Blackout as I sit here trying to compose this review is that I’m sad to see it end. But, as we all know, all good things must come to an end, and that holds true for stories too.

    Mira Grant has created an excellent send-off for the characters we know and love with this final installment of the trilogy. After reading and loving Feed and Deadline to death, I knew my standards were set very high. Blackout met and exceeded them. To my great pleasure, it contains the elements readers have come to expect from the previous novels. It is a great accomplishment that these novels excel so far above just being another science fiction or zombie novel. They are stories about humans — about our fear, about the importance of truth, about knowledge, about science, about corruption and politics, about integrity, about loyalty. About pain. About the toll that loss, death and betrayal take on a person, and how they are dealt with. The Newsflesh series is so much more than a zombie trilogy.

    As readers of Mira Grant know, she excels at creating characters. Shaun and Georgia Mason, Alaric, Becks, Maggie, Mahir, and all the others… Each one of them has a very distinct personality and situation. And regardless of whether or not you particularly like each of them, you become emotionally vested in them. That is, I believe, the biggest success of the series. Its ability to make you feel, to feel so much and so often.

    I know that you’re unlikely to be reading the review for the third book in a series if you haven’t read the first two, but regardless… If you’re a fan of Mira Grant, you can’t miss this book. Although you may be sad to see the series go, you need to see how it all ends. And if you haven’t read Feed or Deadline, do yourself a favor. Pick it up. You won’t regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A downright amazing conclusion to an engrossing trilogy I never

    A downright amazing conclusion to an engrossing trilogy I never thought I would read because it had zombies in it. Once again, the zombies were just a fact of life for the world the books were set in and the real creepiness came from all the adjustments humanity made and stuff the bad guys were doing. A little off on some of the relationship stuff that suddenly coalesced towards end of book (well, compared to the events, blogs, thoughts of characters in earlier books) but overall a good finish to series.

    I pre-ordered this one and then kept getting interrupted and having to force myself to wait until well rested and able to set aside an extended period of time in case it was as engrossing as the first two. Good thing--because I did have to read all in one sitting.

    Whew! What a ride. I just finished and I completely have no idea how to write a coherent review--except that it's a 5-star series that should appeal to fans of many genres. If you aren't into zombies, it's still a book for you.

    I think I am intensely jealous of readers coming new to the trilogy and able to read without being tortured waiting for the next installment. Then again, an intense series so maybe a strategic pause between volumes not the worst idea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    I loved it but..

    I loved the first 2 books and this one, too. The only thing that really upset me was the ending. I felt it was lacking compared to everything else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Amazing finale

    Mira Grant knocks it out of the zombie-infested park with the finale of the Newsflesh trilogy. Amazing, amazing work.

    Rise up while you can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Great end to a terrific trilogy!

    This book follows the group of internet bloggers and reporters who try to report on the current events occuring in a now virus infected population of the United States. They travel from the world of politics to the CDC and EIS to backroads of of rural America searching for the truth about the Amberlee-Kellis virus which has turned most of the country into zombies. It is much more of a cautionary moral and ethical tale rather than another zombie book.I would definitely recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    more of this please!

    more of this please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Awesome!

    Yep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Great Trilogy

    I really enjoyed this series and the different take it had on the Zombie apocalypse. Unlike most of these types of stories society successfully held together for the most part and it changed the whole dynamic. Add the government conspiracy and it made for a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Must Read

    The conclusion to a great series. Great characters and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Great story!

    Very well written. Gets the reader attention and never let's go! Recommend to all zombie lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Loved every word of each of the 3 books. I don┬┐t find the relat

    Loved every word of each of the 3 books. I don’t find the relationship between Shawn & George creepy, this story takes place in a world that isn't like our own. At the point the world has gotten to (in the books), any two non-blood related people living in such a world would be fortunate to find a soul mate. Can’t wait to read more from her!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    OK in terms of over all methos of what I like to call the core s

    OK in terms of over all methos of what I like to call the core story i like it and the only that really kills it for me is both some of the very convient story development plots and the pseudo incestual relationship.
    Someone should just tell the author by blood or adoption when to people are raised as brother and sister, and even still acknowledge this it's still a perversion and wrong, but hey that's just my thought's on the matter
     I finished reading this series after what was to me a great start in book one to a tragic stumble that was book two, to this my well deserved punishment for having brought this damn thing before I even read the second book.
    The only way I got through this was basically by skipping over the a lot of part's in this book that really where not need for what was obviously (at least it seemed to me) the books back drop of the Virus and it's conspiracy.
    - Over all hi score for the twist in the zombie genre
    - Loss of all points for dropping the ball on actual development and loss of creativeness
    - And not gunna fool me again into getting another one of your books for the very disturbing well focus of the book, I guess some times loved one's even if they can come back should just stay dead!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    The stunning conclusion to a thrilling series

    The Newsflesh Trilogy has done something no book or film has ever done before: it created a believable world that stemmed to the logical point of the classic "zombie apocalypse" scenario. The trick is that it wasn't the apocalypse -- it was simply another catastrophe. Humanity has dealt with (and manipulated) such catastrophes since the dawn of time. In the Newsflesh Trilogy we see a world consumed by the politics of fear, where the most famous among us are virologists, journalists, and - most importantly - internet news bloggers. Mira Grant captures the furious, ever moving soul of the internet, bringing it to life at the hands of Shawn and Georgia Mason, two incredible characters whose realiam leaves me stunned even now.
    Both this book and the whole series were abaolute inspiration, and a breath of fresh (though terrifying and possibly contaminated) air amidst a genre filled with the same old nightmares. Politics, media, journalism, the internet, love, family, and the all consuming search for the truth. It doesn't get better than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Amazing

    I thought that this entire series was truly fantastic. Mira Grant is a fantastic writer amd her characters are ones that you can really bond and connect with. I hope she decides to write another series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5