BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blackout (Cal and Niko Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Filled with action, Rob Thurman provides a terrific twist to the protagonist in the angst-laden Blackout

    Hybrid human-Auphe Cal Leandros awakens on a beach with no idea how he got there or why he is surrounded by dead spidery monsters. Although his memory is gone, Cal believes in his gut he is a natural born killer as he heads into Nevah's Landing, South Carolina.

    Two men he does not recognize arrive claiming they are here to help him. One of them says he is Cal's purebred brother Niko and the other insists he is their friend Robin Goodfellow. Niko explains they are BFFs also and run a private investigator business together. He distrusts both of them as his instincts, especially his Auphe side, insist he do so. That changes when more spidery monsters attack and they have his back as other enemies surface.

    The latest Cal Leandros thriller is an exciting tale enhanced by a realistic modification in the relationship between the siblings. While Niko is hurt by his brother's behavior towards him, Cal continues to struggle between his dueling dual natures as Cal fears what he truly is since he has no memory of who he is. Filled with action, Rob Thurman provides a terrific twist to the protagonist in the angst-laden Blackout (see Roadkill and Deathwish to fully understand the spin).

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    She's back!

    I got myself hooked on Cal in Nightlife, and read each book diligently. Gotta say, I was disappointed with Deathwish and Roadkill. Thurman had simply lost her spark. Well hip hip hooray, because Cal, Niko, and Robin are back in the saddle and better than ever!! I loved this book like I haven't since Nightlife itself! Exploring Cal's 'blind side' is both fascinating and rewarding, exploring Niko's dark side is both shocking and touching, and Robin...well, he's Robin. My favorite character, the inscrutiable puck, is always nothing if not himself. And really, would we have it any other way?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    I love this Series

    I found the first book from this series by accident, shoved behind some more well known authors a few years ago. I've loved watching the brothers grow and evolve. The plot is awesome, the pace is fast and too soon the story ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    What a series!

    Blackout continues the series of Cal and Niko Leandros as they battle the evil outside and within. This book I was originally worried when I saw it was essentially about Cal having amnesia. I figured, been there, done that before in too many books and movies. Not to worry. Rob Thurman knows how to keep this series going and the amnesia storyline just added another layer of depth to both brothers. The ending was heartbreaking, and I can't help but look forward to the next in this series.

    Fans of the TV show Supernatural - you should read these books. It's the Sam and Dean - similar, but VERY different - of the book world. You won't be disappointed.

    I'm on my fourth time around reading this series so far...it's that addicting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Can't go wrong with Rob Thurman

    Rob Thurman is one of my top ten authors. Amazing storylines and love the brother relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Love this series!

    LOVE love love this series! I hope Rob Thurman keeps it as interesting and fresh as it has been so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    EPIC

    Absolutely blown away. You know most series slow down and lose punch after they go on a while, but this series has just as much bite as it did the first book. I like how Cal was still 'himself' even with what he was going through. Sarcastic, funny, dangerous but good. The whole part after he woke up just had me laughing out loud. I loved the towns people, him working to find himself only to have it find him in Niko and Robin. Again, hilarity ensues, but also a touch of heartbreak. What can be more terrifying than losing yourself and the only family you'd ever known? I think everyone was staggering under the weight of it. In the meantime they're in danger of something that Cal doesn't understand and can't remember. All during this he's trying to find his memories. And the twist? Niko's reaction that. Talk about shock. Naturally things happen as they should, you can't change who you are at your core and you sure can't screw with the brother's bond. But my heart darn near wept at the twisted and painful ending. I wanted to hug Cal tight and offer some sort of comfort, but what can you say to that kind of horror?
    The great things fans have come to expect were all there. Humor, friendship, brobanter and bonding, horror, action and twists. I couldn't put it down. If this is how book 6 is going to be, I can't wait to see what 7 holds. I can only hope it doesn't stop there, because I am in complete love with this series and I'll read as long as she's willing to write it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Awesome!

    This book is a great addition to the cal and niko series for those fans who have been following them. I have to admit I was a little afraid to read this one after how roadkill ended but Rob Thurman has woven yet another tale that traverses the slopes between hilarious, gut wrenchingly sad, pulse raising, and heartwarming all in a few hundred pages. As cal does not have his memories of his past or who he really is, some of the usual cal/niko bonding or interactions are shadowed by a disconnection that made me sad. That is really the only thing i was missing in this book. That being said I think this was a great growing book for the relationship between the siblings and definitely moves the story forward, giving us a better understanding of the brothers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Waking up on a beach, surrounded by corpses of giant spiders, a young man quickly figures out through the range of false IDs that he is Cal something and a killer of monsters. In his mind, all monsters should be killed--which causes problems when a blond ninja claiming to be his brother and an endlessly talkative monster named Robin kidnap him and try explaining "good monster/bad monster." Cal/Not Cal slowly discovers who and what he is. If you thought you knew the Cal/Nik world, reconsider. Blackout is with my top favorites of Nightlife and Chimera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4