Customer Reviews for

The Blackstone Chronicles Omnibus

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Creepy Book Based around Madness

The Blackstone Chronicles is a creepy set of stories all revolving over one thing... an Asylum. The stories/series sets itself around strange occurences that being to take place as one by one, objects are left at peoples doors. Each object contains one memory of madness...
The Blackstone Chronicles is a creepy set of stories all revolving over one thing... an Asylum. The stories/series sets itself around strange occurences that being to take place as one by one, objects are left at peoples doors. Each object contains one memory of madness, from a person who was in the Asylum 40 years ago. Told by a true story teller, John Saul knows how to write a good horror book. The Blackstone Chronicles is a definite MUST for fans of both horror and John Saul. With these creepy installments, one will NOT be disappointed.

posted by Lindsie on January 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

John Saul should stick to regular novels

I think this story would've been much better had he published it at one time, in one volume and forgotten the serial fad. He acknowledges in his foreword, worded differently of course, that he didn't have the cojones to do it until Stephen King published The Green Mil...
I think this story would've been much better had he published it at one time, in one volume and forgotten the serial fad. He acknowledges in his foreword, worded differently of course, that he didn't have the cojones to do it until Stephen King published The Green Mile in serial form.

The story line is good, but very repetitive. I don't know if Saul realized that his faithful fans who were waiting for the monthly installment didn't need to be told at the beginning of every part that there was a dark figure lurking in the Asylum looking for gifts. That's pretty well established in any reader's mind from the beginning; it's the huge unanswered question of the whole book: Who is the mysterious dark figure? I also think that there didn't have to be six "gifts"; Saul could've cut the "gifts" down to three or four and the plot/suspense would not have suffered.

All in all it's a decent read, but not as good as his regular novels. The revelation of who the Asylum's dark figure is made up for the repetition.

posted by Sarah_N_NC on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Creepy Book Based around Madness

    The Blackstone Chronicles is a creepy set of stories all revolving over one thing... an Asylum. The stories/series sets itself around strange occurences that being to take place as one by one, objects are left at peoples doors. Each object contains one memory of madness, from a person who was in the Asylum 40 years ago. Told by a true story teller, John Saul knows how to write a good horror book. The Blackstone Chronicles is a definite MUST for fans of both horror and John Saul. With these creepy installments, one will NOT be disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    One of his best!

    Great book! Excellent story! My favorite of his so far. I liked how he tied everything together in the end so creatively, and those who didnt get it did not ready carefully,!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    A Great Read!

    SO glad that I bought THIS complete series! I would have HATED to WAIT for each installment to come out individually! I'm not a very FAST reader, but I devoured this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Scary but great

    A great read. Very chilling and the combinations of the story was fluid. I would recommend to those that like scary books. Very similar to Dean Koontz

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    He is a Master!

    John Saul is a talent onto himself, a master at his craft, one of the finest and this book just proves his amazing skill....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    great read....

    Excellent, thrilling from page 1 to the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Great read

    So far i have read about 7 of his books and this was just another good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Great book!

    This is a book that will keep you up all night to finish it! I didnt want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    This+is+my+secojd+time+reading+this

    Cant+put+it+down%2C+he+writes+this+one+rather+well.+I+love+how+each+object+is+its+own+creepy+tale.+You%27ll+love+it.+Read+this+10+yrs+ago+and+i+still+think+its+his+best

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    loved it...

    You can not go wrong with John Saul's books. This one was just as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    John Saul should stick to regular novels

    I think this story would've been much better had he published it at one time, in one volume and forgotten the serial fad. He acknowledges in his foreword, worded differently of course, that he didn't have the cojones to do it until Stephen King published The Green Mile in serial form.

    The story line is good, but very repetitive. I don't know if Saul realized that his faithful fans who were waiting for the monthly installment didn't need to be told at the beginning of every part that there was a dark figure lurking in the Asylum looking for gifts. That's pretty well established in any reader's mind from the beginning; it's the huge unanswered question of the whole book: Who is the mysterious dark figure? I also think that there didn't have to be six "gifts"; Saul could've cut the "gifts" down to three or four and the plot/suspense would not have suffered.

    All in all it's a decent read, but not as good as his regular novels. The revelation of who the Asylum's dark figure is made up for the repetition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Only Arthor I read

    I been reading his books since 1991. I have just about all his books. Do not need any other books to read. My hats off to you John Saul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    HIS MASTERPIECE

    I think that this is the best book that Saul has ever written. I have read all of his books, and reading about old characters like that was deeply thrilling. A MUST READ!!!-especially for all John Saul fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Love it

    I dont know wich author scares me more stephen king are john saul a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Great Book , Must Buy.

    This Book is thrillung and has horror and has a edge this bok was rdcommened to me by my Aunt and i would recommend this to any thrillseeker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    i own this series in paper back books. i love the store and have

    i own this series in paper back books. i love the store and have reread it many times. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Fantastic

    Never read a book by this author before. Absolutely loved it and am sad the ride is over. Gonna go look at other books by him now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read!!!
    So many unexpected series of events. Definately a page turner.
    I would love to read more books like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Spine tingling

    Very well written and scary all at the same time. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    A Great Read

    What a page turner Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4