Customer Reviews for

Blackveil (Green Rider Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Good fantasy series, too long between books.

The only minor complaint I had about this book -- and it is very, very minor, considering -- is that I started this series in 2001 when one books was out with the understanding it was a trilogy. In 2003, I read book two. Four years later, in 2007, the 3rd book came out,...
The only minor complaint I had about this book -- and it is very, very minor, considering -- is that I started this series in 2001 when one books was out with the understanding it was a trilogy. In 2003, I read book two. Four years later, in 2007, the 3rd book came out, and as awesome as it was, I was so relieved the series was only a trilogy, because 4 years between books in a series is a long friggin wait! So you can imagine my disappointment and dismay when I realized it was changed to a longer series, but everyone said it would be wrapped up in Book 4, so I dug in as a faithful fan and waited eagerly. Surely Book 4 couldn't take that long to write; apparently Book 3 had just been too long, so she split it half (so I heard) -- so I expected it any day. Five years later, in 2011, the 4th book is released. And it ends on a cliffhanger.

Now, I'm not unhappy that there will be more of Karigan and Zachary and everyone. But the plots and threadlines developed here -- I'm seeing at *least* another two books to wrap everything up, likely more -- and I can't help but feel disappointed. Not at the books -- at the long wait ahead. I mean, 4-5 years between books? That means Book 5 in maybe, what, 2016 or 2017? Book 6 in 2021- 2023?

posted by Phoenix_mom on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not as great as the rest but still good

I was a bit let down by this book. The jumping around made some the the newer characters are hard to follow. and the ending left more questions than answers. Also knowing that we wont learn what happens for three to four years is difficult.

posted by 806567 on February 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Blackveil

    Great book cant wait for the next one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Wow

    This book is an emotional roller coaster. Its heart breaking, joyous, and as you read you remain hopeful for the future. Its hard on the read at times but this is a book about war and a threat so great it has lasted through the ages. This book takes an emotional toll on you as you read the trials and ends of the charactets. Ultimatly I feel its worth it, to be so involved with the characters... this is my harry potter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    very good

    waiting for book 5, hope it as good as 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Great

    Can not waait until the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    fabulous

    A great read as always!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    I've really enjoyed these books, and can't wait for another to a

    I've really enjoyed these books, and can't wait for another to appear. While the wait in between is long, I re-read them from time to time, just to get reacquainted with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Awaiting the next book...

    I loved it! As others have stated, the ending leaves you with more questions than answers...leaves you wanting more. I was ready to go onto the next page or chapter, only to find I had already reached the end of this book. I eagerly await the next and any that should follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Brooding suspense continues with enough hope and levity to compel reading.

    Britain continues to interweave plotlines and flesh out her already well-drawn characters. There are enough victories to keep me from giving up hope, enough expansion of characters to build my appreciation for them, however the ending was difficult, so much accomplished but so much undone that I felt bereft. Readers of all ages can relate to this series because she includes relatable characters of all ages and both sexes and I have read the entire series so far. I believe this is a personal adventure in reading, not book group material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Desperately Awaiting the Next Installment

    Black Veil, by Kristen Britain, is another in her series of The Green Rider Novels that cant be put down. I keeps a good pace with plenty of Action, Adventure, and of course Intrigue which serves to keep its readers on their toes. Watch out for that Cliff-ending though. It will leave your screaming for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    i LOVE this book

    this book is fantastic. i love the series and i can not wait until kristen britain finishes her next story. the read is great, couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    My Favorite Book Series in the world

    Blackveil is a great book. I've been reading the Green Rider series since 8th grade, and each book is wonderful. However only thing is... that wait between each book is killing me. I'm in college now, and still only 4 books are done. Secondly the ending of this book was such a cliff hanger, it seems almost cruel to have to wait another 4-5 years to get the next book. However with that said, BlackVeil is a great installation of the Green Rider Series. I recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Too good to be left hanging.

    I usually buy all the books in a series but due to the story getting convoluted, I don't read the last book or two. NOT SO with this series! The bad news is I am now left hanging with Karigan wondering what will happen next. Hopefully it won't be too long of a wait, it could get rather stuffy :-) I am an avid trail rider and love all the references to riding and horses (which is why I bought the first book). Anyone who loves horses, magic and suspense will like these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    Great series!

    Great series by one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Fantasy Reader

    Best one yet. Can not, repeat can not wait til the next book comes out. Lets hope it comes soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Great read

    As usual another great green rider book from kristen britain although i must say im dissappointed it took four years and now i await a sequel yet again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Deep and Riveting ! !

    I love the characters and how real they are. The hero doesn't always win the fight, I'm still waiting to see her win the war. Awesome and wonderful series!! Incredibly multi-faceted! I couldn't put it down, now I'm in withdraws for the next step in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Astounding!

    After many years of anticipation the fourth book is available! I feared it was not going to be as good as the others... My assumptions couldn't be farther from the truth! This book is amazing, it might be even better than its predecessors. Well worth reading. A beautiful continuation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    Great installment in a great series!

    Britain has yet to disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    EEEEERRRGGGHHHHH!

    Really great but what a cliffhanger. I just hope it's not another four years before the next one comes out. I might be pulling out my hair by then. My frustration level is through the roof.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Blown away!

    The author has expanded on a lot of her original characters and I was frustrated by the extra info but what detail! The story jumped off the pages and the book was read in record time. If only there was more to the end instead of the cliff hanger. I can't wait for the next book so I can find out what happens!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9