Customer Reviews for

Blackwood Farm (Vampire Chronicles Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(180)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Wonderful Read!

    I got this novel and couldn't put it down from start to finish! I've read, "Queen of the Damned" and this is my only second novel by the writer, Anne Rice. What a wonderful mix of ghost story...a vampire plot too. Definitely, a really good book to read if you like either or both ghost and/or vampire stories. I would recommend this book to anyone for a really good reading time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    unreal

    This was my first step into Anne Rice's world- and I am utterly hooked! I loved how she wrote Quinn to be so human and helplessly erotic. I just can't decide which novel I should read next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    The best Anne Rice book in a long time!

    I really enjoyed this book a lot. I must say, for the past several years, I have not been too pleased with Ms Rice's books. Ever since The Vampire Chronicles 'ended' and she began the sub series about individual vampires, my interest in her novels began to wane. So, I was pleasantly surprised, to say the least, when I read this book and was immediately entranced with it. This is the Anne Rice I love, and is my favorite book out of the ones she has written since Memnoch the Devil.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    One of the Best

    Possibly one of the best books Anne Rice has written. It holds you from start to finish. The book is a masterpiece i couldnt put it down. You feel for Quinn as he struggles with changes and love. Torn between the woman he loves and his life long friend. This is a must read book for any Vampire Chronicle fan it is not to be missed! The background is eloquently painted by Rice in her classic style of writing. It almost brings you back to the Interview with a Vampire days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Still own this paperback

    Love the characters. Aunt Queen, Mona, Quinn. Pierce, Micheal Curry,... Rowan has become... less... once an adored main character, she is just worn down by life. A rare thing in fiction, and hard to accept from book pages, but people who go through too much sometimes change in saddening and maddening ways. The Talamasca is front and center to this tale, as Quinn comes to realize his childhood imaginary friend/twin/doppelganger was very real and dangerous to his family. Family values are front and center to this Southern setting as romantic Blackwood Manor becomes linked to the Mayfair witches by the love of Mona and Quinn. Can't remember now where the vamps fit in... one stays at the manor and befriends Quinn??? Lestat. Of course. A lovely romance, a ghost story, the danger of the doppelganger, a look inside the mysterious Talamasca, and the weirdness of the Mayfairs, and Lestat. Plus the book is a decent length. Hate short books. Loved this book almost as much as the Mayfair Witches. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was extremely good.

    I did not read these books in order, however I was able to follow the storyline. The characters were very detailed and the story flowed and kept you interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Someone once told me you were not an Anne Rice fan if you have not yet read this book, and they were right. Anne Rice does a beautiful job of combining vampires with her Mayfair Witches in the closing of the vampire chronicles.

    The action begins right at the beginning when the main character is bold enough to come face to face with The Vampire Lestat in attempt to seek help in ridding himself of a ghost that has haunted him since birth. The book is filled with unexpected thrills and turns, most importantly the entrance of the Mayfair witches- leaving the reader with a strong feeling of satisfaction as this most famous series of books approaches there end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2002

    Detractors be Damned!

    I wisely waited until I actually read the book before writing a review. That said, my kudos to Anne for a gem of a story. While it's true some of her work hit the mark better than others, I have never failed to appreciate Anne's wonderful talent for weaving a compelling story. She could have easily lost the thread of this story with so many other intriguing side subjects, but she held the line with perfect balance. I too, love the witch stories, and have been waiting for more tidbits on that subject. Again, Anne handled the fusion with remarkable skill. While Anne's work isn't for everyone, she has a place of honor in my library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    One of her best!

    A definite must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Hunting grounds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    H

    Bn y hnnbnhyybh unyjn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    Usually I read books but recently I have turn to some old favori

    Usually I read books but recently I have turn to some old favorites on Audio and listen while I work. Stephen Spinella's reading of Blackwood Farm mesmerized me from the start.. The story of Quinn Blackwood and his spirit known as Goblin. The setting is in the deep south of New Orleans. You will meet an array of notable characters of the "family" such as Aunt Queen. A cross of Vampires and ghosts. Simply wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Elders den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Exquisite prose

    A page turner A true Anne Rice classic! She makes you see the scene and feel the atmosphere! I hate when the story ends- couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    So in love!

    My favorite book! The characters are too sophisticated and beaitiful to NOT love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    One of my favorite Anne Rice books and I've read them all

    This book, for me, is quintessential Anne Rice. The character development, scenery descriptions, and story line are as romantic and researched as one would expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Epic as always!

    Anne Rice has a unique style of writing that is easy to fall in love with. Amazing characters and capturing plots. This book is one of my favorites and deffinately reccomend it, if you have read her others, you'll love this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blackwood Farm, the Vampire Chronicles, Book 9

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great!

    i love this series and this book is excellent because it brings the witches and vampires together...love it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14