Customer Reviews for

Blackwood Farm (Vampire Chronicles Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    I fell in love with the Blackwood Family

    If your interested in complex characters, and a great description of the human nature you will love Blackwood Farm. What I adored about this book the most is how much I fell in love with the characters. The main Blackwood character, Quinn, was an amazingly complicated man, which made it very easy for me to fall in love with him as a whole. Although the details of the story may linger, every detail of the book and its characters has significant importance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    There's more than gators in the swamp...

    I really enjoyed the new characters in this novel and the background of Blackwood Farm. I am enthralled with novels that have they're stories set in the Bayou, so full of life not human and secrets begging to be let out. I would definately like to see a new series evolve from the newer characters lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    Must Read

    I great read, I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    Really great read

    I got accustomed to Rice's style of telling a story of the past like she does in many of the Vampire Chronicles and the Tales of the new Vampires. Blackwood farm was a bit different. To really understand it you need to know some of the Chronicles and about the Mayfair Witches, but its holds its own really well. The plot leaves a lot of room for sequals and I'd definately recommed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    ok book

    this book was ok i guess even though it was a really long book. this was my first Anne Rice novel and it was ok but i wished it had more action and less talk though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    back to basics

    I loved the fact that she brought back my favorite characters such as, Lestat, Mona Mayfair, and Merrick, as well as introducing us to the intriguing Quinn. The story began slow but quickly picked up and I couldn't put it down. My only regret was that Merrick's appearance was all to short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    A page turner!

    From the first page to to last. I couldn't put this book down. Ann Rice has outdone herself with this latest in the Vampire Chronicles. The pacing in this installment was much different than in the other chronicles which were at times sluggish and weighted (particularly in Queen of the Damned). It moves with such fluidity that you are captivated from page one. I was also impressed with how she merged the Mayfair witches into the storyline. She gave just enough information on the Mayfairs and their history without weighing the story down. It was good to see Oncle Julien, Merrick, Rowan Mayfair and Michael Curry and Mona again. Though I was surprised as to what she did with Merrick, (and I won't give it away) it made a lot of sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Great Book

    I was looking forward to this book for a long time and I was not disappointed. I love the fact that she included characters from the Mayfair series and Lestat from the vampire series. I was disappionted when the book ended, I wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Am I The Only One?

    Of course I will be at the stores on the 29th to get the latest book of the vampires. But, am I the only one who thinks that the books of the Mayfair Witches was far more better? Of course, they didn't get the publicity the Vampire Chronicles got when Interview With A Vampire became a movie. But The Witching Hour was a book that I cannot put down. The Mayfair books are very under rated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2002

    An Instant Classic

    Like most of you guys i was waiting for Anne Rice's new book as soon as i was finished Blood and Gold (which was less than a week from when i got it) and i had high expectations for her new book that was met 99%. Blackwood farm was a great book and the ending was excellent. The only thing i didnt like about the book was Petronia, there was just something about "her" that i didnt like and i couldnt warm up to her. I also hope the Anne Rice doesnt dedicate and entire book about her. The other thing i was a little dissapointed about was that Louis was missing from the book. Other than that Blackwood Farm is an excellent book and and wonderfull installment to the Vampire Chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong cross of "Vampire Chronicles" and the "Mayfair Witches┬┐

    Heir to the wealthy Louisiana Blackwood Farm, Quinn Blackwood is a true son of the south, but has a secret that makes him quite different. He suffers nightmares caused by his spirit world doppelganger Goblin. Still he finds passion with teenage Mona Mayfair until Petronia converts him into a vampire. Though he does not want to be a blood seeker, Quinn¿s worse phantasm is that his doppelganger is not only one too, but that Goblin plans to destroy everyone Quinn loves and cherishes especially Mona. Knowing he remains an ineffective tyro when it comes to the night life, Quinn seeks the aid of Lestat, who refuses to help until the young vampire explains his full life history. Anne Rice cleverly intersects characters from her two favorite series ("Vampire Chronicles" and the "Mayfair Witches¿) that have had runs longer than a vampire¿s life span though a fresh set of characters especially Goblin and Quinn make this work on of the author¿s best. The story line is typical of Ms. Rice filled with vivid detail and erotic elements with many scenes provided by Quinn describing his past. Though at times it seems Ms. Rice prefers to be a historical biographer, her myriad of fans will celebrate BLACKWOOD FARM due to the vigor of the Quinn vs. Goblin obsession war of supremacy. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    Blackwood Farm

    As always, I was anxious to read Anne's new novel and I was in the bookstore on the 29th. I couldn't put it down and although I hated to come to the end I read pretty much nonstop. I couldn't help myself. What makes this new novel so excellent is that having being immersed in the Mayfair family saga, I find the Blackwood clan every bit as interesting and sometimes hilarious as the Mayfair clan. I loved the mortal characters (Aunt Queen, Jasmine, etc. even Patsy was interesting). I wasn't too crazy about Petronia (and her unique sexuality). I hope Anne does not choose to write a novel about her expanding what we learn of "her" in reading "Blackwood". Lestat was interwoven perfectly as were other existing characters from the Vampire Chronicles. And, as Anne always does, she drops a "bomb" at the end --making you want more. Quinn makes for a very intriguing character and vampire -- almost as much as Lestat. Can't wait for next year's novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    intense

    want to just go away and not come back from the book excellent reading and entertaing anne rice knows how to keep you waiting and then reel you in again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    A New Lestat!

    I am excited! At last, another Lestat. The Brat Prince's Heir! I can hardly wait for this novel to hit the bookstands. Once more to savor the extraordinary talents of Ms. Rice. Huzzah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    intoxicating

    I have been waiting so long and now I can see that it was worth the wait I just want t curl up in a chair and stay there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    Anne Rice is Terrific

    Anne Rice is a first class novelist. I have enjoyed each of the books in the Vampire Chronicles and I know I will enjoy this one. I can't wait to get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3