Customer Reviews for

The Blade Itself (First Law Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

One of a kind

First let me say that as you look at the reviews you will notice mr. Negative giving this book a bad review...I never respond to other reviews as they are entitled to thier own opinions. I must make a exception here because this book is just that awesome and deserves to...
First let me say that as you look at the reviews you will notice mr. Negative giving this book a bad review...I never respond to other reviews as they are entitled to thier own opinions. I must make a exception here because this book is just that awesome and deserves to be defended. Most of you may know me by now as i have wriiten alot of reviews and read 46 fantasy books a year...So when i say that Abercrombies First Blade is a diamond, a gem, one of the best wriiten fantasy epics of all time, Then you shouldnt take that too lightly. Mr. Negative probly gave Mr. R.R Martin a bad review.,(lol)...In short "This book has it all. Great characters, its funny at times and most importantly you will remain excited throughout the entire series....RARELY do i find a book that i can say that about with the exception of "A Song of Fire and Ice"

posted by DAY-READER on May 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time and money

I have been reading fantasy for over 30 years now and maybe I've been spoiled by all of the great books there are in this genre. I certainly would not include this book in that category. The story is poor, the characters are shallow, and there are more f-bombs than in ...
I have been reading fantasy for over 30 years now and maybe I've been spoiled by all of the great books there are in this genre. I certainly would not include this book in that category. The story is poor, the characters are shallow, and there are more f-bombs than in any other fantasy book I have ever read. I'm not a prude by any means but the language in this book is over the top. I believe that if you are a writer you should have a better vocabulary than that. I urge everyone to pass on this book.

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of a kind

    First let me say that as you look at the reviews you will notice mr. Negative giving this book a bad review...I never respond to other reviews as they are entitled to thier own opinions. I must make a exception here because this book is just that awesome and deserves to be defended. Most of you may know me by now as i have wriiten alot of reviews and read 46 fantasy books a year...So when i say that Abercrombies First Blade is a diamond, a gem, one of the best wriiten fantasy epics of all time, Then you shouldnt take that too lightly. Mr. Negative probly gave Mr. R.R Martin a bad review.,(lol)...In short "This book has it all. Great characters, its funny at times and most importantly you will remain excited throughout the entire series....RARELY do i find a book that i can say that about with the exception of "A Song of Fire and Ice"

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    A Must-Read

    The Blade Itself is by far one of the best fantasy novels I've read to date! Abercrombie has created a vivid world full of drama, epic battles, sprawling landscapes, magic and mystery. You won't find yourself weighed down by lenghty back-story or boring histories that is expected in this genre. The real gems of this book, however, are the terribly cynical characters. Abercombie stays away from the 'safe' fantasy characters we've come to expect. They are pessimistic, blunt, foul and offensive, and from the very beginning, you'll find yourself loving every one of them. I've bought this book for several of my friends as gifts, and have recommended it to countless more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    in my opinion this is one of my favorite books. I enjoyed it because of the humorous diversity of the characters. as you read the book it takes you on an adventure with a crippled torturer, a battle-softened barbarian , and a pompous brat. the book is slow until the first 50 pages but after that i was hooked

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Offbeat,humorous,great new author

    I bought this book because of the cover. But once I began to read I knew that I had found a wonderful new author! The book is offbeat and Abercrombie has a dry wit that is great!!! Wonderful!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining Noir fantasy

    While fleeing in the water to elude his deadly foes of man and beast, Logen Ninefingers the barbarian knows he will soon be dead. In the North the Shanka led by his former mentor has subjugated the other tribes through brutality and atrocities he alone remains opposed, but flees towards the Midderland for safety. --- Meanwhile to the South, a Prophet has gathered the desert slavers to his side. The Empire prepares for war. --- In the city of Adua in the Midderland government corruption and affleunt indulgence is the norm. Thus the middle has lost control of the North and South to barbarians and mages. The wizards try to unite the people as the ancient enemy has returned, but people like Captain Jezal dan Luthar wants nothing to do with adventure and intrigue especially in the frozen north or the desert south he is to busy drinking, cheating at cards, and chasing women to risk his life at what will prove to be a bloody war. The cripple Inquisitor Glokta notorious for torture, and his two associates, are killing the seditious government leaders, one at a time. He hopes to one day add Jezal to his résumé. However, it is the actions of Bavaz the wizard who claims to be the First of the Magi, who shakes up the realm or at least Logen, Jezal, and Glokta with his demanding raging orders that they fear to follow as he seems more fraud than genuine yet fear not to as his bite may prove worst than his violent bark. --- Readers obtain an indirect taste of the Abercrombie world through the eyes of the major characters although never gain the full perspective beyond a frozen north, a desert south, and a major thriving city in the middle that is the link but with the greedy and the powerful looking out for themselves, the realm is collapsing. The fascination with this Noir fantasy is the key cast members. The foursome is not epic heroes, but instead they are flawed to the point that the story line at times feels like an amusing satire of the Tolkien lite imitations. Not for everyone, THE BLADE ITSELF is carried by its deep characters, who tote more negatives than positives and may prove to cause the beginning of the end these incredibly flawed souls make for a fresh and outstanding fantasy. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun times to be had

    Abercrombie doesn't dip into exposition too often, doesn't bother with volumes on the little details - no, you slip into Nine Fingers' world and off you go. A fun fantasy that leaves you content and wanting more - how often does that happen??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    READ THIS BOOK

    The Blade Itself, and the other 2 books in this series, are the best books I have come by since George RR Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire. This book is superbly written and strikingly original. It definitely takes your average run of the mill fantasy plot and throws it on it's head. The characters are extremely strong and very human. The action is fierce and gritty, and the storyline kept me up all hours of the night. I am now a Joe Abercrombie fan for life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Pleasant Surprise

    The cover hooked me on this book (I loved the way it felt), but soon after reading I fell in love with it. The characters are wonderful, and each one has their good and their bad--there're no clear cut heroes in this book. The story was pretty good, though I would've liked more direction, though towards the end it corrects that mistake. The dialogue is quick and witty, though it took a little while to get used to the author's voice.
    All in all I loved it and couldn't put it down, and I am really looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    If you like fantasy - read this book!

    Highly enagaging and entertaining fantasy novel. Well written, full of interesting characters, and moving at a quick pace throughout - this book is a 'must read' for fans of the fantasy genre!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best fantasy books I've ever read. Definitely high on

    One of the best fantasy books I've ever read. Definitely high on violence, but it was very much appropriate for this book. Enjoyed the entire series of books from Joe! I've still got to crack open Red Country. Only one I've yet to read!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    great book

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I would have to agree with DAY-READER on this review. Not sure

    I would have to agree with DAY-READER on this review. Not sure if
    "anonymous" was reading the same book or not. This is a great
    fantasy novel. This book drew me in to the characters immediately. I
    read the novel in 18 hours and shoved everything else on the back
    burner. Nicely done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Love it! Much needed fantasy

    My favorite fantasy series in over two decades. Glotka rules. Nuff' said!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    EPIC JOURNEY

    Abercrombie's characterization and the exotic world he created seemed vaguely familiar. This adds an element of plausibility to both. Add "in your face" violent interaction and mayhem to this mix and you have a book to get lost within. The characters seem familiar as they exhibit a vast range of personalities, emotions, and abilities that we recognize. This is no simple battle between good and evil. We even feel an affinity with the cruel torturer, Inquisitor Glokta, because we can relate, or at least understand, his dark humor, cynicism, and self-loathing. Logen and his estranged band also represent a character type. They exhibit the strong, fearless, chaotic force reminiscent of the characterization in history of our Northmen or Vikings. Abercrombie's world is much like our world during the Dark and Middle Ages. The North appears similar to Scandinavian Viking culture, the Old Empire reminds us of the final years of the Roman Empire, and the Union could represent Europe during our own period of inquisition. The weaponry and armor in Abercrombie's world are also of our Dark and Middle Ages. The rise of the bourgeois that challenged the old order is also present. However, Abercrombie deftly indicates why the reader can expect no Renaissance ushering in great technological advances in warfare or society. Gunpowder is very rare and science is of no interest to anyone except a handful of archaic adepts. The subplots and conflicts in "The Blade Itself" are not resolved. However, this book sets the stage for an epic journey of diverse characters joined together for their own reasons to fight the enemies of the Union.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Fantasy, Dark Humor, Medieval Times!

    First of all, it is fair to state that "The Blade Itself" its not the everyday fantasy story about knights in shinning armor, beautiful castles, and long-bearded, inhumane wizards. No, "The Blade Itself" is an enticing, fun story, with impatient, selfish, and sometimes cruel characters, which develops in territories filled with corruption and greed. Even though this makes it sound as a pessimistic story, "The Blade Itself" also includes plenty of dark, unexpected humor from its characters, moments where you will at least smirk from the sarcasm, the insults, or the reactions of the individuals against one another. "The Blade Itself" is fun to read, and offers a different point of view in the usual medieval-era fantasy novel which will grip the reader throughout its pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Are You Kidding Me?

    If i have to write a review for all these separate books, i'll go mad. The fact is I don't know if I could fit it all down. So here's my solution i'm just going to write one review, under the his BEST SERVED COLD book. I will say one last thing. If you buy this book, look forward to saving enough money, to buy all his other books! It just the truth! Long Live Inquisitor Glokta! The Most Amazing Fantasy Series Character! Ever!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Debut Novel

    The Blade Itself, Joe Abercrombie's debut novel, and the first book in a trilogy, is phenomenal. After reading this book, it is hard to believe that this was Joe Abercrombie's first published book. His characters are deep and well thought out, with their own personalities and beliefs. It seemed almost like they were real people and I was reading a biography. I have finished not only this book, and the whole trilogy, but also his new standalone novel, Best Served Cold, and I can tell you they only get better! The lives of the Cripple, the young man destined to be king, and Logen Nine-Fingers are all vividly on display, in most graphic detail. Be warned though, Abercrombie can be quite graphic and descriptive, so this is may not be appropriate for your twelve-year old son. (Although I KNOW I would have loved this novel at that age!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    I loved this book! A crude barbaric world filled with adventure & rich, well developed characters. My attention never waned. I loved when Inquisitor Glotka had a conversation. He would speak, & then it would say what he was really thinking in italics....quite humorous. I have definitely found another favorite author. My only problem with this book is that it ended abruptly. I guess that's where book 2, Before They Are Hanged, comes in. Thankfully, I have already ordered it from Barnes & Noble! I just have to wait for it to arrive. I have recently discovered that this is the genre for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Worthy Challenge to GRR Martin

    For those of you out there tapping your feet with vexation, this is truly something to take your mind off the wretched slothful pace of publication of A Song of Ice and Fire. Abercrombie has written a darker version of the Lord of the Rings and it is a truly absorbing read. There are unexpected plot twists and turns, even for this jaded reader of sword and sorcery books. And Inspector Glockta has to be one of the most memorable new fiction characters in recent years! My only regret was that it ended after three volumes. But Abercrombie, like any good author knows that the best thing for his reading public is to keep us hungry for more.

    You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    Great read

    Awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4