BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Blade Itself (First Law Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

One of a kind

First let me say that as you look at the reviews you will notice mr. Negative giving this book a bad review...I never respond to other reviews as they are entitled to thier own opinions. I must make a exception here because this book is just that awesome and deserves to...
First let me say that as you look at the reviews you will notice mr. Negative giving this book a bad review...I never respond to other reviews as they are entitled to thier own opinions. I must make a exception here because this book is just that awesome and deserves to be defended. Most of you may know me by now as i have wriiten alot of reviews and read 46 fantasy books a year...So when i say that Abercrombies First Blade is a diamond, a gem, one of the best wriiten fantasy epics of all time, Then you shouldnt take that too lightly. Mr. Negative probly gave Mr. R.R Martin a bad review.,(lol)...In short "This book has it all. Great characters, its funny at times and most importantly you will remain excited throughout the entire series....RARELY do i find a book that i can say that about with the exception of "A Song of Fire and Ice"

posted by DAY-READER on May 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time and money

I have been reading fantasy for over 30 years now and maybe I've been spoiled by all of the great books there are in this genre. I certainly would not include this book in that category. The story is poor, the characters are shallow, and there are more f-bombs than in ...
I have been reading fantasy for over 30 years now and maybe I've been spoiled by all of the great books there are in this genre. I certainly would not include this book in that category. The story is poor, the characters are shallow, and there are more f-bombs than in any other fantasy book I have ever read. I'm not a prude by any means but the language in this book is over the top. I believe that if you are a writer you should have a better vocabulary than that. I urge everyone to pass on this book.

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Characters you'll love and some you will love to hate

    What a wonderful find!!! Joe Abercrombie has my attention and will continue the second and third of the trilogy.. I have laughed out loud, chuckled and slowly smiled as I continue the adventures of some of the most wonderfully developed characters you'll ever meet. Sit back and enjoy folks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just a great book

    If you are looking for universal characters and action, this is a book you will enjoy. This book brings together a multitude of its genre and presents multiple aspects to its characters. The only problem I had with this book was finding time to sleep, due to the fact that I could not put it down and it kept me awake all of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, clearly superior writing style, characters, sense of plot development, and best action scenes I've ever read

    Lets face most sci/fi fantasty book are terrible. They sell because people love to read about D&D worlds, monsters, and magic. They tend have a semi literate style that requires the reader to know D&D (or insert favorite scifi/fantasy universe) and then they just dump a few elves and some magic on top to give it a plot. --THIS IS NOT THAT KIND OF BOOK. <BR/><BR/>The quality of the book in terms of writing, characters, and plot is easily on par with someone like Bernard Cornwell. It's not quite as good as Patrick O'brian, but I would hardly call that a fault. I offer these comparisons to give you an idea of my general tastes and what I consider good literature so that you may weight my comments accordingly. <BR/><BR/>One of the things I particularly liked about this book was that it didn't get caught up in being a fantasy. Yes, there is some magic. Yes, the world is a sort of fanasty version of europe. But the author makes no attempt to beat you over the head with the fact that this is a fantasy book. Its about as well grounded as a fantasy book can be and still have a little magic and some barbarians.<BR/><BR/>The author also does a very good job of building his characters and weaving a plot. The book has very lively descriptions of fights with out ever making it feel like "and lothar the mighty swung his mightly sword in a lateral motion placing the placing the between the 4th and 5th ribs..." I loved the first 500 pages, but I was transfixed by the last 30.<BR/><BR/>In short if you like good writing, characters, a bit of action, and a bit of magic this is a great book. It's easily head and shoulders above just about everything in the scifi/fantasy drama. I would even go as far as to suggest that it should be listed under fiction literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    Wonderful!

    Bought it because I liked the cover and the synopsis on the back, and I needed a new series to read. Wonderful choice! The characters are funny, satirical, and engrossing. Absolutely savored this book and couldn't wait to get back to the bookstore to pick up the next one. Give it a whirl. Has about 3 storylines going at a time but unlike SOME AUTHORS (George RR Martin) it actually tends to wrap up a few things instead of leaving you hanging as if you read the entire book for no resolutions. Inspector Glotka is my favorite character. A man truly not as he seems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Addictive!

    I so enjoyed this book - I couldn't put it down, and had to pretend to be sick so that I could stay in bed and read it cover-to-cover. Fabulous storytelling, and characters that oblige me to buy the sequel. Very highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Great book!

    Great book, astounding. I would recommend for anyone. I was hooked after the first 10 pages with logen falling off a cliff and surviving. The book is a great thriller ranging from a hidden love to the most gruesome battles you can ever read in a book. Joe Abercrombie is a perfect writer when it comes to both of these

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4