Customer Reviews for

Blah Blah Blah: What to Do When Words Don't Work

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

No better book on the power of Visual Thinking

We all know a picture is worth a 1000 words and accept it too. However, it is a totally different matter to go about conceptualizing and establishing a easily understandable and executable way of substituting words with pictures and images. It is a matter of being able ...
We all know a picture is worth a 1000 words and accept it too. However, it is a totally different matter to go about conceptualizing and establishing a easily understandable and executable way of substituting words with pictures and images. It is a matter of being able to walk the talk. In this book, Dan Roam just excels himself with one of the most easily understandable methods of going about showing the power of images and pictures versus drab, dull words. And Dan goes about the book with a tongue in cheek sense of humor which only strengthens what he sets about teaching. His sketches and drawings are so well thought of and rendered that they do completely replace the words. In my line of work, I do use a lot of visual elements to teach concepts (financial analysis, incidentally) but Dan in his book tells you why you should do it and what it will do to the message you are trying to deliver. The thinking and conceptualization that emerges after applying his concepts are so rich and varied that this should be considered an expression for creativity and brainstorming. If you ever doubted that pictures deliver more meaning and learning than mere words, go buy this book. You will be a convert for sure.

posted by slakshminarasimhan on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Xerxes

Britt dont worry silence jst mafe a pretend curse. XD cyrus has no curse.

posted by 9714377 on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    No better book on the power of Visual Thinking

    We all know a picture is worth a 1000 words and accept it too. However, it is a totally different matter to go about conceptualizing and establishing a easily understandable and executable way of substituting words with pictures and images. It is a matter of being able to walk the talk. In this book, Dan Roam just excels himself with one of the most easily understandable methods of going about showing the power of images and pictures versus drab, dull words. And Dan goes about the book with a tongue in cheek sense of humor which only strengthens what he sets about teaching. His sketches and drawings are so well thought of and rendered that they do completely replace the words. In my line of work, I do use a lot of visual elements to teach concepts (financial analysis, incidentally) but Dan in his book tells you why you should do it and what it will do to the message you are trying to deliver. The thinking and conceptualization that emerges after applying his concepts are so rich and varied that this should be considered an expression for creativity and brainstorming. If you ever doubted that pictures deliver more meaning and learning than mere words, go buy this book. You will be a convert for sure.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    There are no reviews

    There are no reviews at all!!! }:[ }:[ }:[

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Xerxes

    Britt dont worry silence jst mafe a pretend curse. XD cyrus has no curse.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Alec

    So my real name is leo but bw is my "girlfriend" and doesnt know that im gay even though ive tried hinting at it and i cant hurt her and blah. Anyway, im pretty punk. Brown floppy mowhawk, ripped jeans, skater shoes, super hero shirts... that sort of thing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    This is one of the best books I have read this year. I was able

    This is one of the best books I have read this year. I was able to finish it in few hours. Very clear and easy to follow the concepts. Better than most of the complicated books on presentation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Yo Mia

    &#8251 &#9701 &star &#9724

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    What is a res?????????????????

    ???????
    Reply to moonpaw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    &smile

    &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Jay

    He slowly stood up.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Silverflight

    She stood looking at him curiously.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    &smile

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    & smile is ?

    &smile

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Winterdove

    Where shall our den be?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    To Blazestripe

    Who did you choose??? <><><><><><>~ LEAFDAPPLE

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Silverstar

    I am not going to be hear thursday night - sunday night but come over to erosion first reslut if you and your new mate need a clan hopfully i am going to be your ne mate

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Blazestripe

    Last result Winterdove. I chose Winterdove people. Theres this cool new thing called reading. You should try it sometime.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    BBBBLLLLLLAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH

    Extre blah-ing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Hunter

    He grabs lionstripe. He holds a knife to his throat. The kits. Now.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Lionstripe

    Looks to his den.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Cometkit

    HUNTER!!!!!! GJJDKGUJKPVSFNWJGUDGEFEJDUDVLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2