Customer Reviews for

Blair Underwood Presents: Casanegra (Tennyson Hardwick Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    Exquisite Page-Turning Romp!

    Modern erotica at its best. The thing is, folks, this story rocks--hard. No pun intended. Tennyson Hardwick 'is that the perfect name, or what!' is an ex-gigolo and struggling actor based in L.A. who chances upon a former client, the female superstar rapper Afrodite, and after some playful exchanges they wind up in bed. In fact, she's gung-ho on helping Ten get his acting career on track. Sounds like a lucky break, huh? Nope. This wouldn't be riveting fiction if our hero got his happily-ever-after so close to page 1. Afrodite is brutally murdered and Ten finds himself the unwitting #1 suspect. So, we're off to a rip-roaring start. From there, he hooks up with a feisty investigative reporter, April, and the duo team up to crack the case, and hopefully clear Ten's name. On top of that, they even carve out time to engage in some wild impromptu sex acts most probably haven't even heard of yet 'you'll reread many MANY paragraphs more than once, trust me'. I won't spoil all the many twists and turns of Ten's bumpy journey by giving them away here. But the bottom line is: Throw in Ten's decorated ex-cop dad, the sometimes treacherous world of gansta rap, a colorful array of supporting folks, and some of the spiciest sex scenes this side of a brothel, and what you have is an exquisite page-turning romp. I've enthusiastically followed Tananarive Due since a friend recommended her brilliant MY SOUL TO KEEP 'I'm a sci-fi/horror buff'. And have enjoyed Blair Underwood's work ever since his L.A. LAW days. The masterful Steven Barnes' most recent novel, GREAT SKY WOMAN, is breathtaking. With the combined forces of all three, you can only expect explosive results!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Definition of Suspense!

    I love this work of art. The speed of the plot does not slow down for the entire duration of the story. The language is a unique, yet subtle blend of high brow, hip-hop and Hollywood vernacular. Character development is exactly aligned with the storyline. There are no loose ends. Everything fits into place. The reader is drawn into the perspective of the protagonist. You see what he sees. You learn what he learns. The novel actually has two surprise endings. There is no clear forshadowing of the second one. I give this piece 4 and 3/4 stars! Please read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    Casanegra

    It took me a while to finish this book. The beginning was very slow. The story didn't pick up or hold my attention until I was two thirds into the book. I LOVE to read mystery/suspense novels and this one was pretty good. Its hard to find African American mystery/suspense writers. Blair Underwood and his co-writers did a good job, but I'm not sure I will read the other two books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    BRAVO!

    I absolutely loved every minute of this book...I couldn't stop guessing and it proved me wrong everytime!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Casanegra

    This was a good read.I was really suprised by this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hot, Sizzling LA!!

    Casanegra had suspense, murder, and romance. This was officially the first crime novel that I have read, and I really liked it! I recommend this book to first-time mystery readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    Just OK!

    After reading the reviews, I was looking forward to a good book. However, this book was just OK. Too much description, not enough action, and slow in areas. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Burned the Pages Up Trying to See What Happens Next

    I didn't get any sleep because I could not put this book down. It had action, drama, a little romance, and some string pulling.<BR/><BR/>This book is the 2nd in the series of Tennyson Hardwick novels and I cannot wait to read what's next. I think the authors did a great job keeping my attention and making all that happened sound believable. I felt like I was right there with Tenn in the swamp.<BR/><BR/>I want Celia's character to be developed a little more because she definitely has a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great Mystery, I Loved It.

    I picked up In the Night of the Heat in the morning and read it in one sitting. This is the second book in the series about Tennyson Hardwick, a struggling actor and former gigolo. Ten has a reputation in Hollywood after solving a murder in the first book, Casanegra. In the Night of Heat, Ten has a part on a series and after he gets injured and fired from the series, he goes on a private case for the father of football superstar T.D. Jackson. T.D. Jackson was acquitted for the murder of his ex-wife and her finance. As T.D. Jackson was heading for a civil trial, he was found dead, was it murder or sucide? Tennyson is on the case and as he digs into the past, he goes all the way back to the segregated South of 1960's and a football game that took place at that time. Ten finds himself deeper and deeper in trouble and closer to death himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    VeryGoodBook!

    WOW! Casanegra had me til the end. I hope there will be a sequel as to what happens with Ten and April!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book DEFINITELY has big screen potential! It was a thrilling, heart-stopping, rollercoaster ride of a read. I look forward to another collaboration. GREAT work, guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Good Story, Lovable Character

    I only decided to buy this book immediately because Tananarive Due wrote the initial draft. Being a true fan of Mrs. Due, I knew she would not associate herself with some mediocre work. In reading the book, some of the scenes reminded me of My Soul to Keep and the Living Blood. You know the kind of scene's' you read and reread to get a mental picture of the action taking place. You want to get a clear understanding what is going on in this make believe world. I personally believe that Ms. Due and Steven Barnes are truly the authors of this book. I believe that Mr. Underwood is offering his name to the venture to encourge those who have not heard of these great authors. Each person is adding their influence to draw a larger audience. Each person is appreciated. Ten was certainly a likable and lovable character. Yes he had his flaws, but he was basically a good person, with a good upbringing. I would highly recommend this book to those who want something different. The writing and storytelling is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    Recommended!!!

    I don't usually feel drawn to co-written books or 'as told to' by even very charismatic stars. But I'm an Underwood fan 'in his many roles besides Sex & the City!!' so it casually caught my eye -- then in the first paragraph I was hooked. A GREAT story and as someone who has lived in LA, not quite in the exalted circles Underwood and his co-authors clearly know well -- but close, I can attest to its blazing accuracy. And the charm and sweetness, and humanity, of the lead character just can't be underestimated. A great read. I'm not sure how the authors divided up the writing chores but the result is seamless!!! Thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish. Yes, yes, more in the series, please!!! And a movie or TV series starring Underwood would be great, too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    Wow I'm impressed!!!!!

    The book was awesome and very well written. This book read like a movie. The characters were artistically developed. I felt like I was apart of the story. I found myself wondering and worrying about 'Ten' when the book was not in my hands. Underwood,Due and Barnes make a great team. Please give us more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Casanegra: A Tennyson Hardwick Story

    Mr. Blair Underwood along with his co-authors Barnes and Due have pulled off a thrilling roller coaster ride of the written word. It was like watching a highly engaging movie unfold. The characters were well developed and definitely believable. Despite all of Ten's flaws you couldn't help but fall in love with his character and root for him to get out of all the sticky situations he got caught up in. And the storyline flowed effortlessly. All I can say is KUDOS, Mr. Underwood! Looking forward to HOPEfully reading more about Tennyson Hardwick. Please don't keep us waiting too long. A MUST Read for all mystery thrill seekers. You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Shawn, L.A.

    I got this book the day it came out 7/10/07 and finished it two nights later. Phenomenal from beginning to end. This character is awesome. I can only imagine what the movie would be like!!! Great work Blair. Can't wait for the next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    This book was amazing

    This book was not your average whodunit. Not only are there twists and turns, there are true surprises. The sex scenes are erotic, yet realistic. But best of all, this book is well written, as if the authors knew the exact phrases, the exact combination of words, to make the characters come to life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2007

    Casanegra: A Tennyson Hardwick Story

    Mr. Blair Underwood along with his co-authors Barnes and Due have pulled off a thrilling roller coaster ride of the written word. It was like watching a highly engaging movie unfold. The characters were well developed and definitely believable. Despite all of Ten's flaws you couldn't help but fall in love with his character and root for him to get out of all the sticky situations he got caught up in. And the storyline flowed effortlessly. All I can say is KUDOS, Mr. Underwood! Looking forward to HOPEfully reading more about Tennyson Hardwick. Please don't keep us waiting too long. A MUST Read for all mystery thrill seekers. You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2