Customer Reviews for

Blame It on Texas

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A- rating....

    My Review:

    I still am loving this series. I'm going to miss these guys when it's over. The story of these books is about Tyler, Austin, and Dallas: three guys who used to be cops that were framed and sent to prison for a murder they didn't commit. They were in prison for 16 months...former cops in prison....yep, it wasn't pretty. But they were exonerated and now are trying to get the guy who framed them. In the meantime, they've opened a PI firm where they try to help others who have been wronged.

    This is book #2 in the series and it Tyler's story. When the whole murder set up happened, Tyler lost more than what the other two did...he also loved his fiance who he loved. The problem, she didn't believe in his innocence. As a result of that and other circumstances surrounding his upbringing (abusive father) he thinks that he just isn't made for love. Tyler is extremely intelligent and he tries to look at everything in a logical statistical manner. I loved how he was constantly making lists and questions about everything. This is a guy whose goal is to figure out every puzzle and problem....and that's what makes him a good PI and used to make him a good cop.

    Zoe has come to Texas from Alabama when she saw a TV show about an unsolved murder of a 4 yo little girl...one that looks exactly like she used to look when she was little. With both her parents dead and a whole lot of unanswered questions, she heads to Texas to find out what's going on. A series of clues leads her to the PI firm, Only in Texas, and to Tyler. Tyler quickly discovers that Zoe is onto something, since she looks exactly like the dead little girl's mother and now someone is trying to kill her.

    Like the first book, this is a great read. There's the main romantic story line which is fabulous, but also a secondary romance which I loved just as much as the first. It's a two-fer and both are really great stories. In between both amazing romances are a TON of wonderful characters, a wonderful mystery that I couldn't figure out, and a completely and totally wonderful book! Another great book from Christie Craig!!!

    I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Everything is hotter in Texas especially romance Zoe Adams goes

    Everything is hotter in Texas especially romance Zoe Adams goes to
    Texas to find out if she might be the abducted daughter of a wealthy
    family known for hiding secrets. What happens after that Zoe could
    never have predicted if she were writing her own story. She hires Tyler
    Lopez as her PI and the action never stops from that point forward with
    the search for answers and especially the couple. Tyler and his
    partners have their own back story, which is laid out with the perfect
    amount of detail while leaving lots of reading room for the tangle that
    Tyler and Zoe engage in. They are fighting off the attraction but not
    for long, which is a certainty. The hunt for answers becomes a chase
    to not be killed doing so. The family the Tyler is part of has its own
    issues but Zoe feels like they would never lie to her or diminish her
    feelings. What is the reason she has memories she cannot connect to
    facts, and why is it not the dark she fears but what lurks behind the
    closed door. The best part BLAME IT ON TEXAS is devoted to the
    relationship between Zoe and Tyler while they are trying to figure out
    who wants to keep the past buried and how they can go forward with their
    relationship. Christie Craig is the master of taking a story and
    rolling out the romance in a way that has ever reader begging for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Nice read.

    This is the first book by Christie that I’ve read. When I originally got this book, I had no idea that it as was part of a series or even that it was the second book in the series. Thank goodness they can be read separately. I’ve heard that Christie was witty and funny, with a great sense of humor, so of course, I was expecting that in this book. I definitely got what I was looking for and a little more.

    Zoe Adams is a Kindergarten teacher living in Alabama. She keeps having flashes of what could possibly be memories, but she isn’t totally sure. One night she watches Unsolved Mystery Hunters and thinks that she’s the child that the show is talking about. She decides to travel to Texas to find out if she is the long lost Bradford child.

    Tyler Lopez is an ex-cop, turned PI, working for his company called, Only in Texas. He tries desperately to distance himself from his past life. Tyler loves his family and will do anything to protect them and make them happy. I love that he’s not afraid to throw punches.

    The part of the book that surprised me was the little suspense. I wasn’t expecting my couple (Zoe and Tyler) to have to avoid getting killed. In the end....I loved this story. Zoe and Tyler are great together.

    Source: NetGalley
    Reviewed by Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marissa Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Marissa
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    I adored Christie Craig’s earlier series (Divorced & Desperate) so when I saw this book pop up on the review list, I jumped at it. What I didn’t realize at the time was that I still have book one in the series (Don’t Mess With Texas ) in the TBR pile on my bookshelf. Guess what I’m reading next?

    How can Zoe not fall for a man willing to dress up as a clown for his niece’s sixth birthday? That plays Strip Scrabble? That loves her cat even though he’s missing body parts? And that believes her even when she questions her own sanity? *sigh* For his part, Tyler can’t help but fall for the woman who adopts a cat rescued from an explosion, has an IQ that rivals his own, hates clowns, and gets shot trying to push him out of the way of a bullet.

    I also love that there is a blossoming relationship involving the secondary characters of Rick and Ellen, while Rick fights for custody of – and then approval from – his son. Rick is endearing in wanting to know every detail of parenthood, from how to find a good daycare provider to how to read a bedtime story the proper way to which snacks to buy.

    As usual, Craig makes being involved in a mystery seem fun and exciting, a little thrilling, and, of course, very, very romantic and alluring. Her writing is hot and hits the spot when you need some romance flicked with humor. Blame It on Texas is a fun romp, with a little bit of a mystery and a lot of will-they-or-won’t-they. Of course they will. They’re the lead characters and this wouldn’t be a romance if they didn’t. But it’s all in the “how” that makes Blame a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Whew! Twists and turns galore

    Young schoolteacher from Arkansas is spending her summer in Texas, trying to investigate her roots. Trying is the operative word, since she isn't endowed with an abundance of common sense. Until she meets an ex-cop-turned Private Investigator, who is. This is a slapstick mystery, good for mystery fans and romance fans. Christie definitely knows her craft, it's well-written, well-plotted, and fun to boot (pun intended).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I have never read a book of Christie Craig that I did not enjoy.

    I have never read a book of Christie Craig that I did not enjoy. BLAME IT ON TEXAS was humorous, told several love stories and touched on some very important societal issues.  Although Zoe and Tyler's romance was in the forefront, I adored the romance between Ellen and Rick.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Fun, light hearted book

    Great read. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Fabulous

    ## God, I really like Christie Craig. She is a brilliant story teller and I have adored everything written by her. Her divorce series was hilarious and romantic. Her book "Shut up and kiss me" was fabulous. This book was no exception. The hero Tyler was sweet, protective and fun-loving. Perfect hero marerial (with the obligitory insecurities of course). And the heroine was beautiful, smart and playful. I wish the ending hadn't been so abrupt, but the rest was marvelous. Definitely worth your time and money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Great romantic mystery!

    Blame it on Texas is the second book in the Hotter in Texas series by Christie Craig. The heroine in the story, Zoe, is spending some time in Texas after finding out that her biological family may not be the ones who raised her. While investigating in Texas, she runs into a sexy private investigator named Tyler whom she is hoping will help her.

    Tyler has had a troubled past and is afraid to get close to people. He is instantly attracted to Zoe, but in the beginning thinks that she could possibly be a little crazy. The first two times that Tyler and Zoe met were quite funny. Things start heating up, but Zoe finds out that Tyler is only really interested in casual sex. He doesn't want a long term relationship. Zoe, on the other hand, doesn't do casual sex and she has a limited time before she has to leave Texas and head back home to her teaching job.

    I loved the storyline of the book. There was a lot of mystery with some twists and turns. All the puzzle pieces didn't fit together until the very end. Someone is trying to kill Zoe, so the suspense of that – mixed with the mystery, humor and romance – made this the perfect read. There was a lot of sexual tension and sweet romance.

    There was another romance in this book between Ellen (who was introduced in the first book) and Rick. Ellen seemed a little cold to me at first and I felt really sorry for Rick. It took a little while for Ellen to grow on me, but I did enjoy their romance as well. I really like the double romances that these books seem to have – though with the 4 different points of view it might be bothersome to some people.

    If you're looking for a book that is a fun read and has a great cast of characters, look no further. These books in the Hotter in Texas series have all of that and more. I'd recommend reading the first book in this series before this one, though it's not necessary since it revolves around different characters. I'm highly anticipating Austin's book (one of Tyler's partners), though it looks like we have a whole year to wait on that one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Hohum

    Predictable Hallmark style stiory. Characters are not particularly interesting. This is no page turner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Christie Craig never disappoints me. Blame It On Texas is full o

    Christie Craig never disappoints me. Blame It On Texas is full of humor, intrigue, smart & sassy ladies, mattress jumping antics and a sensual game of strip scrabble. As an added delight you get two stories out of one here. There’s a mini story revolving around secondary characters that is interwoven in this novel.

    Zoe Adams finds herself in Texas after viewing an unsolved mystery television show. She knows it sounds crazy, but the little girl that was kidnapped years ago and later found burned to death looks just like her. She has memories and nightmares that can’t be explained. Now, she’s receiving threatening phone calls to leave town or die. Ex-cop turned PI Tyler Lopez thinks there may be some truth to what Zoe is saying; especially after someone takes shots at her apartment.

    Amid trying to solve Zoe’s mystery, Zoe and Tyler start to fall for each other. Both have been burned by love in the past and are reluctant to open their hearts. Tyler almost made it to the altar, but when things got rough his fiancée hightailed it out of their relationship. That coupled with him growing up in an abusive household and frightened of turning into his father has him shying away from any commitment. Zoe spent four years with a man, thinking he’d pop the question any day, only to have him ask her to move out so his stripper girlfriend can move in. Move out of her own apartment! Tyler and Zoe reach an agreement when the attraction becomes too much to fight. A commitment free, romp in the sheets for the rest of Zoe’s stay in Texas.

    This book was a fun, sweet, and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Zoe Adams is a fraud. She┬┐s sure of it. The daughter of Ralph an

    Zoe Adams is a fraud. She’s sure of it. The daughter of Ralph and Mildred Adams is certain she’s Caroline Bradford, the murdered granddaughter of Texas millionaire Thomas Bradford. She relocates to Glencoe, Texas, in search of the truth to her mysterious past, but when the death threats start rolling she knows she’s in over her head.

    Enter hunky Tyler Lopez, partner in the Only In Texas Private Investigation agency. Still dealing with the fallout from being framed for a crime he did not commit, the ex-cop is convinced immersing himself in work will mend his shattered heart. Until he meets beautiful, sassy Zoe. All instincts tell him to walk away but something pulls at him to help Zoe, despite the fact that she covers him in eggs, gets him shot at and turns his life upside down.

    The hilarious, light hearted romping which began in Only in Texas continues in Christie Craig’s latest release, BLAME IT ON TEXAS, the second book in the Texas series. Infused with witty dialogue and slapstick comedy that’s become her calling card, Christie Craig is the literary version of Mel Brooks, Chevy Chase and the like. Our favorite friends from Glencoe return along with a few new ones including Dixie, Samantha and Rick & Ellen -- who have some romantic entanglements of their own to settle.

    This is the perfect book for any day when you need to escape for a while. What else are you supposed to do when covered in food and surrounded by drive-by shootings, raging hormones and a one-eyed, three-legged cat named Lucky?

    BLAME IT ON TEXAS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    This is the second book in the Only in Texas series. I have alwa

    This is the second book in the Only in Texas series. I have always loved Christie Craig’s light romantic suspense books. Her books warmed me up to romantic suspense a lot. Her writing is very fluid and her books are hard to put down. She has a great balance of mystery, suspense, romance and humor. There is also a lot of camaraderie among friends and family in her stories which I love.

    I enjoyed the relationship between Tyler and Zoe. It was a very believable from beginning to end. They had great chemistry but were both very logical people and it was fun to watch them try and let go of logic and give into what their hearts were telling them. Some of my favorite scenes included the scrabble game, the diner scene where Tyler ended up with a lot of food on him, as well as when Tyler found Zoe jumping on the bed naked chasing after Bud and Lucky. She sure was embarrassed! Christie did a very nice job building the romance between Tyler and Zoe and with their intimate scenes. They fit the tone of the story and were very romantic.

    Christie tends to have side stories in her books with secondary characters. In this one Rick and Ellen had a story. I wasn’t sure about it at first because I wanted to get back to Tyler and Zoe’s story, but I really enjoy books with children in them so this was fun to read about. It added so much overall to the story. It is nice to see what goes on with secondary characters sometimes, too. I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone interested in romantic suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Love this author

    I really love all her books and this one is no exception. I laughed out loud a couple times and I really liked the characters. Only thing that bugged me was the overly repetitive use of "but damn". Its what kept me from giving it 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    Christie Craig has another winner with Blame it on Texas, the s


    Christie Craig has another winner with Blame it on Texas, the second installment in her Hotter in Texas series. She continues the saga of the three falsely accused PIs with the story of Tyler and Zoe. Who wouldn't love a guy willing to dress in a clown costume for his niece's birthday party? A woman who is deathly afraid of clowns, that's who. When she sees him a second time, she drops a tray full of grits and eggs in his lap.

    She must overcome her fear and ask for his help. He must overcome his suspicions and open his heart. A decades old mystery lies buried deep in her memory. Can he uncover the clues she's hidden so well? Can she stay and face the answers? Blame it on Texas, another funny, heartfelt mystery by Christie Craig.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3