Customer Reviews for

Blankets

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A Fantastic Look at Memory

    In this graphic novel Craig Thompson has managed to make some of the most relateable characters I have ever read. Mostly the story of a first love from beginning flirtations to a bitter end, the story also takes you through the progression of mind and memory and how we become who we are. While reading there are a range of emotions that you go through and in the end you close the book and think about your own progression and growth. From the moment I picked the book up I did not want to put it down. The pictures and text work fantastically together. I stayed up all night to finish it. I recommend it to anyone who has ever questioned life, religion, love,or themselves and other; or anyone simply looking for an amazing work of art to read and revisit over and over.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    meaning of lifde

    This book is amazing: "footnotes" section should be read many times to appreciate his message. This could be used in a freshman philosophy class as a way of introducing the study of philosophy. Exceptional. Haunting. Can't stop thinking about it. Beautiful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    I could'nt put it down

    Brilliant realism. It is one of the few graphic novels that really made me look at my life and think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    Beauty contained in this book

    This was a powerfully written, beautiful, touching book. I absolutely recommend it. Difficult to put down, not a moment without interest. A love story that makes me feel optimistic about love and life in general.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    The Most Memorable Coming-of-age Story

    Truly a work of great story telling and great art. The story would connect with anyone because they are universal stories of growing up. The author is careful to make the characters full-realized,personal people and not just symbols or caricatures of coming-of-age stories, the dialog is very personal and reads like it was taken directly from a diary, and sometimes borders on poetry. The drawings are absolutely beautiful and really carry weight and meaning in them. This is the first graphic novel i've ever read and it really drew me in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    an awesome study for how exciting and brutaly honest real life can be.

    Truely the best graphic novel i have ever laid my eyes on. Great day-dreamy visuals while getting the point across more than clearly , as most everyone can realte to the tribluations and real life heartaches that craig thompson has expressed. truley moving and painful , this novel hides nothing about how harsh the real world is and how your experiences during your youth can affect the rest of your life. I read this novel in about 3 hours , and spent many more admiring the visuals. I look foreward to reading many more , surely great , novels and works from Craig Thompson. Highly recommened for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    AMAZING AND BEAUTIFUL !

    I loved this book !! I read this book in 2hrs ! I love the honesty and I definitely related to his story. I have experienced the same feelings in regards to christianity. I have also seen how judgemental some 'christians' can be and how confused it can make you feel,especially when you are young. The illustration is beautiful- Craig Thompson is definitely gifted and I'm so happy he continued to draw eventhough people throughout his youth discouraged him. I look forward to more from him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Wonderful, moving novel!

    One of the most powerful, moving novels I have read in a long time. The visual stimulation adds an incredible amount to the feelings of pain, suffering, love, etc. the protagonist experiences throughout life. I was crying before the second chapter began. Definitely a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Everyone should read this awesome graphic novel!!

    this is just about the most moving book i have ever read! i have yet to find a novel i enjoy more then blakets. it shares the life story of the author craig thompson and his childhood struggles of being molested and unloved, romance with raina, to his confusion about religion and what to do. the only part about this book that i didnt enjoy was the choice craig made to do without God. that was a terrible choice because without God we can do nothing! it was a little graphic so i recomend it to those older teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    A Beautiful Work of Art

    Blankets is one of the most moving novels I have ever read. Thompson's insights into teenage love, the pressures of school and religion are dead-on. He captures his experiences with amazing artwork that will touch you deeply. A work of genius.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    Remarkably Nostalgic

    Nearly 600 pages long, but took me only 2.5 hours to read. That's how good it is! Granted, I will read it with more visual depth the second time around, Blankets is a truly remarkable graphic novel of heart-breaking proportions. From first love to childhood traumas to sibling squabbles, Craig Thompson captures the innocence that everybody inevitably loses. An extraordinary feat by one whom most would label as 'simply a comic book artist,' Thompson puts faith into artists capturing novels with pictures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Outstanding. This left me shaking.

    Outstanding. This left me shaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    i can┬┐t explain how amazing this book is craig thompson is an am

    i can’t explain how amazing this book is craig thompson is an amazing artist and author it is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An angsty look into the heart of the estranged young love life o

    An angsty look into the heart of the estranged young love life of Craig Thompson. A reflective book for any who write or have experienced early heartache.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I was young when I read this.

    I read this book when I was a freshman in High school. and now I'm about to enter college. I enjoyed reading this book. This book isn't for children, but for teens+ its fantastic. It sends such a powerful message. I can't wait to read it again. I still have the images engraved in my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    wow... just.... wow...

    this book quite simply could change a persons life. illustrating the pain and difficulty of loss and religion in a way i have never seen before. i am amazed that a comic shows this much depth. i highly recommend this for anyone. it will change your life if you let it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    When does Craig's next book premier?

    As a person who doesn't enjoy reading, but would like to.. I enjoyed the images with the story.. Like another reviewer, I read the entire book the moment I received it.. I enjoyed drawings showing thought processes that are never spoken.. Or wouldn't make sense if put into words because they changed so quickly.. At any rate, I very much enjoyed this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    WOW!

    I read this entire novel the second I got it, I couldn't put it down. This is an achingly beautiful story, and it's lush and gorgeous imagery will stay with me for a long,long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2