Customer Reviews for

Blasphemy

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

God speaks English?/Spoilers

PB/Fiction: I see why this book is so controversial. The former CIA agent and former Catholic monk is our hero. We last saw him in Tyrannosaur Canyon. Isabella is a super-collider in the Arizona desert that is headed by a super scientist who thinks he's smarter than eve...
PB/Fiction: I see why this book is so controversial. The former CIA agent and former Catholic monk is our hero. We last saw him in Tyrannosaur Canyon. Isabella is a super-collider in the Arizona desert that is headed by a super scientist who thinks he's smarter than everybody on earth. When Isabella is cranked up to 100%, the voice of God starts talking from a blackhole. At first the scientist believe it is malware, but then God starts answering questions only the scientist know. The first hint that something is fishy is that God speaks English. Then there is the Navaho medicine man, Washington lobbyist, and the loony missionary that collide with the collider. The author writes at the end of the paperback issue that some people thought his book was anti-Christian. His response is that it is not and all the characters are flawed. IMO, it is anti-loony-Christian and anti-government and I didn't have a problem with it. The takeover and mob/riot mentality of the loonies is over-the-top, but that's what you get with a Douglas Preston book. Pretty much all his books are thought of as supernatural at first and science takes over in the end. Surprise ending as far as Ford goes. It's a fun summer read, but I wish is was a little longer and went more into the background of the Navajo medicine man and the televangelist.

posted by bravewarrior on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Comedic writing

The author has used every cliche in the ether to put us to sleep with. Then an extremely weak ending tied up with Scientology and how people will pretty much believe anything. Mr. Child has made his point-I was once a fan,but will no longer be drawn into the 'black hol...
The author has used every cliche in the ether to put us to sleep with. Then an extremely weak ending tied up with Scientology and how people will pretty much believe anything. Mr. Child has made his point-I was once a fan,but will no longer be drawn into the 'black holes' that have become his and his sometime co-writer's books. Face it,sir, the well has dried up.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    God speaks English?/Spoilers

    PB/Fiction: I see why this book is so controversial. The former CIA agent and former Catholic monk is our hero. We last saw him in Tyrannosaur Canyon. Isabella is a super-collider in the Arizona desert that is headed by a super scientist who thinks he's smarter than everybody on earth. When Isabella is cranked up to 100%, the voice of God starts talking from a blackhole. At first the scientist believe it is malware, but then God starts answering questions only the scientist know. The first hint that something is fishy is that God speaks English. Then there is the Navaho medicine man, Washington lobbyist, and the loony missionary that collide with the collider. The author writes at the end of the paperback issue that some people thought his book was anti-Christian. His response is that it is not and all the characters are flawed. IMO, it is anti-loony-Christian and anti-government and I didn't have a problem with it. The takeover and mob/riot mentality of the loonies is over-the-top, but that's what you get with a Douglas Preston book. Pretty much all his books are thought of as supernatural at first and science takes over in the end. Surprise ending as far as Ford goes. It's a fun summer read, but I wish is was a little longer and went more into the background of the Navajo medicine man and the televangelist.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Blasphemy

    Blasphemy?
    Douglas Preston takes the reader on a journey through science fiction into theology and ties it all together in the end. This is my first book by the author and very pleasant surprise. I really enjoyed the writing style and plot themes the author used. The story starts out hopping around through several characters and what they are all engaged in, about a quarter into the book the ties start to come together but not in any predictable manner. There is a group of 12 scientists in one corner working on a top secret, top dollar government project; a lobbyist with a wounded ego; a televangelist wanting more money at any cost; the President and a few top aides; and finally a whole troop of characters on the Indian reservation offering their perspective where the top secret project is taking place. The morals and impressions I received from the book may not have been intended by the author, but made the book a very enjoyable read. It is beautiful writing when the author can combine science, religion and politics in such a way as to expose the manipulative nature of each while balancing it with the positive contributions each can make as well. Highly recommend A

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    interesting and intense

    Science and religion collide in Blasphemy with results that will change humankind forever. This one is hard to review without saying too much and spoiling it for you but I'll try.

    A group of scientists deep in an Arizona mountain have created the world's largest supercollider which will "probe what happened at the very moment of creation: the Big Bang itself". Opposing these scientists are the fundamentalist Christians who believe that these scientists are attacking their religion by attempting to disprove Genesis.

    Blasphemy could be considered by many to be controversial with it's plot surrounding the clash of science and religion. The Washington Post says ".....the scenes of howling Christians eagerly killing fellow Americans who don't share their views are chilling, and history reminds us that the more feverish advocates of most religions have been spilling innocent blood for centuries. The novel is entirely readable, and its satire of religious extremism, if heavy-handed, often strikes home." The characters were well written for the most part and the pace moved along pretty well. Overall, I thought this was an entertaining read. There were some twists and turns that I didn't see coming and the one really big plot twist toward the end. The outcome wasn't exactly what I hoped it would be but I can live with that. This is definitely something different and worth a read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    another good Douglas preston book.

    When I first started reading this book, I wasnt sure if id continue because of all the characters and it all seemed hard to follow at first.
    I ENCOURAGE YOU TO PUSH THROUGH THE FIRST PART OF THE BOOK! This book really picks up and makes you want more. There arnt to many books that I just cant put down but this was one of them. This book has a different/good ending. I will warn you that the first 1/3 of the book is a bit slow. Great characters! Made me read more of his books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Incredible story! A Must read!

    Douglas Preston never disappoints. His ability to spin a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat continues with Blasphemy. It is a page turner that you won't be able to put down. Great job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    SPLITTING HAIRS?!

    Sensitive?! Of course you have to be - depending on what side of the fence you're in. This is truly a controversial book. You cannot just read it and simply dismiss it as fiction - it hits too close to home. There are many of us Christians in the world who would not agree with being negatively fictionalized by writers with such strong voices like Mr. Preston's and Mr. Child's. I read all their books and always look forward to more of them but this was a shocker. Overdone, extremist in its portrayal of something so basic as the Christian faith, it raises too many questions. I also read scientific (not science-fiction!) books having to do with technology and where it's leading us and find the storyline threading its way eerily in tune with Ray Kurtzwell's futuristic outlook for humankind. Science as a new religion is not a new concept - forget separation of church and state...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Comedic writing

    The author has used every cliche in the ether to put us to sleep with. Then an extremely weak ending tied up with Scientology and how people will pretty much believe anything. Mr. Child has made his point-I was once a fan,but will no longer be drawn into the 'black holes' that have become his and his sometime co-writer's books. Face it,sir, the well has dried up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is exciting thriller in which science and religion clash

    Physicist Gregory North Hazelius sold the concept of creating a humongous forty billion dollar 'superconducting supercollider particle accelerator' based on finding a new source of energy. He knows not to tell anyone about his personal secret agenda behind why he pushed the Isabella project as it is called he plans to duplicate the Big Bang of creation in order to speak to God.----------- The Navajo Indian Reservation in the southwest is chosen as the locale for Isabella. Work begins inside the five-hundred-square-mile Red Mesa tableland. However, the project falls behind schedule disturbing DC politicos who bet on its quick success. Presidential science adviser Dr. Stanton Lockwood sends former CIA operative Wyman Ford to investigate why the delay and is there any way to propel the project back on schedule. At the same time, others strongly oppose Isabella fearing the wrath of God. Televangelist Reverend Don Spates claims scientific blasphemy challenging heaven Navaho shamans share Spates¿ fears that the world is coming to an end. These two diverse groups plan to destroy the evil scientists and their blasphemous Isabella before the Armageddon Big Crunch occurs.----------- This is exciting thriller in which science and religion clash in many ways the tale is a modernizing of Frankenstein as Isabella is considered the monster by the evangelists and the Navaho while Dr. Hazelius (and twelve other scientists) is the zealous creator. The story line starts slow as the cast is set, but once everyone converges on the southwest, the plot is faster than an atom flying around a supercollider. Fans will enjoy Douglas J. Preston¿s entertaining action-packed tale.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    I loved it

    I love reading Preston and this one is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    This one's going to be quick. Lots of plot elements and charact

    This one's going to be quick. Lots of plot elements and characters, but some very nice intersections of some very different concepts – a super-collider, Christian fundamentalism, national politics, Indian affairs … the fact that I figured out WHO was responsible didn't lessen my enjoyement (even though I didn't figure out WHY).

    Rating: 4 stars – it felt a little stretched out; with a little extra editing, I would have rated it higher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Preston, always good

    I think I've read most if not all of Child's and Preston's books, never disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Mr Preston has done it again! This a book you WILL NOT put down! He will take you to hights & lows you never felt before! This book will make you forget to breath! Fatastic experience that you will not forget and will make you question!!!
    ENJOY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Horrid

    Read this for book club and couldn't even finish it (which is rare for me). About half of club didn't finish the book and no one recalls if that has ever happened before. Those who did finish it only did so out of obligation. Only one person in the group liked it, other than him the highest rating was a 4 out of 10.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Young readers

    I have found that this is a book that can give a reader a good bit of action but also a good religious stand point....so who are with in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Great story,sure to be controversial with fundamentalists.

    Really enjoyed this book.Yes,it does get to a slow start, but once it gets going you don't want to stop reading.I don't think this story is as much a criticism of religion in general as it is a knock against the more extreme,unwilling to compromise, elements of fundamentalist religions.
    Sure, the portrayals of the religious groups in this book are "cartoonish" and exaggerated,as some have said. However,we have recently had prominent fundamentalist leaders in this country citing a fable about Haitian slaves making a "pact with the devil" as the reason for the horrible earthquake there.At another time we had a religious leader calling for the "taking out" of certain world leaders.I think this makes these leaders and their followers as fair game for an over the top portrayal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Give me a break!

    A little improbability can often make a thriller fun to read. Piled on like it is in this book, the willing suspension of disbelief gets left way back there in the rear view mirror. This is an absolutely ridiculous novel. Fredric Brown wrote the same story decades ago. His was two pages long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    loved it

    cannot find anything bad to say, i loved it so much. i just think it is weird how it is called isabella in the book and torus in the shop description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good for a quick read, but not for physicists

    Blasphemy is the second book featuring Wynam Ford (now a private detective). In this book, Ford infiltrates a government-run facility which has built the world's largest particle accelerator for a mere $40 billion. (Please suspend your disbelief.) I like the way Preston has worked together several subplots which all culminate at the end of the book for a complex climax. I am also a fan of Preston's easy writing style-it's good for a quick read. I am not a fan of Preston's portrayal of Born Again Christians-I think it's a bit over-the-top, though I guess it's a reasonable depiction of a very small percentage of rapture-ready Christians. Also, Preston is clearly not a physicist, but I guess not everyone can be perfect. :) Overall, I think Blasphemy was good for a quick sci-fi/techno read, but shouldn't be taken too seriously. It's a beach-book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    This was a page turner & hard to but down. Highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Blasphemy

    Blasphemy By Douglas Preston
    I'm reading it right now. So far so good. A super genius over-the-top smart-kid tycoon, young billionaire named Hazelius is the creator of a supercollider in the Nevada wilderness. Other characters include a brilliant African American computer scientist named Dolby, a messy Russian computer geek, and a puffy, corrupt televangelist. This is my first Douglas Preston book. So far I really like the characters and I'm enjoying the story. More later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5