Customer Reviews for

Blaze

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful

This is book 2 in the Phoenix series and it is a page turner. You get the same quality of writing, solid plot and terrific romance and intrigue as in book 1 (Fever). But you also get more information about the goverment plot that exposed the original team of firefighter...
This is book 2 in the Phoenix series and it is a page turner. You get the same quality of writing, solid plot and terrific romance and intrigue as in book 1 (Fever). But you also get more information about the goverment plot that exposed the original team of firefighters to chemicals and conferred on them their paranormal abilities. The team members are starting to reunite and there is a final twist that makes you gasp in surprise. I cannot wait to read book 3! This is a terrific series.

posted by EmmaGR on April 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A

EXTRA MAP: THE BEACH IS AT RESULT 21!!!!!! POSIDEON'S KIDS HOME TURF! :D

posted by 15929306 on April 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Wonderful

    This is book 2 in the Phoenix series and it is a page turner. You get the same quality of writing, solid plot and terrific romance and intrigue as in book 1 (Fever). But you also get more information about the goverment plot that exposed the original team of firefighters to chemicals and conferred on them their paranormal abilities. The team members are starting to reunite and there is a final twist that makes you gasp in surprise. I cannot wait to read book 3! This is a terrific series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the author for review Review or

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the author for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Holy cow. From the first sentence the reader is thrown into an FBI operation and the action continues until the last page. For the action lover there are car chases, buildings blowing up and gun fights galore. For the intrigue lovers, there are conspiracy theories, corrupt politicians and the mystery behind the character’s “paranormal” abilities. And for the romance lovers, there is the love story of Luke and Keira. This book just has it all!

    This is the second book in the Phoenix Rising series. Now, while reading Fever, book one, isn’t necessary, a lot of back plot was set up and characters introduced in that book and it would definitely help the reader keep up with all that is going on. The premise behind the series is that a group of firefighters went to a warehouse fire and things went terribly wrong and all of them ended up with weird paranormal abilities. I keep thinking “X-Men” kind of abilities. At any rate, the government is covering up the incident and actually there is more than meets the eye, which was really starting to be uncovered in Blaze.

    I found Blaze to be a step up from Fever, which I liked. But Blaze was a bit more complex and I really enjoyed the roller coaster ride that I was taken on. The bad guys are deliciously devious which just made me route for Luke and Keira even more. And even though it has paranormal elements, it has enough believability that something like this could happen. And that “what if” factor, just had me turning the pages.

    While the paranormal bits were mostly hinted at in Fever, they were utilized to the full in Blaze. Luke has gained an immunity of sort to fire as well as the ability to harden his skin… at least when he’s near Keira. Keira, on the other hand, has a bit of telepathy as well as this ability to well, see things when touching photos and such. Both of them are working with different government agencies and end up at the same operation.

    The two of them were lovers, but broke up when Luke started talking about starting a family and Keira freaked out. They get thrown together again. Obviously it’s a romance, so we’re going to have a happy ending, but the journey there is not rough as there is a lot for them to overcome. But oh, what a journey it is.

    In this book, the reader is introduced to more of this firefighter family and I can’t wait to see who is featured in the next book in the series. Bravo, Ms Swan for taking me on quite a ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Must Read

    I have fallen in love with these former fire fighters. I am in love with them all, and I cant wait to see all their stories unfold. Kira's story was hot, and I loved seeing her and Luke steam up the pages.

    Joan Swan has risen to one of my favorite writers to date. This book does not disappoint, and I just love that damn Mitch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    This series just keeps getting better and more intense. I am abs

    This series just keeps getting better and more intense. I am absolutely in love with these characters! From the very first page, Blaze is full of action. I loved Keira, she was strong willed, could kick some series A-- but yet has so many insecurities due to a terrible past. She has to be one of my favorite heroines now!! I cannot wait to get more of all of these characters and hope that all of them get their HEA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Ruin?

    Where are you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Faze

    She hugged him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Belz

    <p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Blaze by Joan Swan Keira is in shock when she learns Luke is on

    Blaze by Joan Swan
    Keira is in shock when she learns Luke is on her team that is rescuing the little boy from the complex.
    This book starts out strong and action packed fast-I felt like I was part of a team six seal team or it's equivalent.
    The mission is aborted but she goes forward as there are many children ...
    Tony her boyfriend is not who he seems. She also reads minds without talking-it works with some people, Luke for one.
    Just when the hospital has cleared them she is abducted along with the child. Disturbing part of this book to me is the foreign language that is spoken. Really feel left out in the cold...Tony had been using others for scientific experiments...
    Very much reminds me of The A Team from TV fame where everything came together at the end. It's just the process of getting to the right place at the right time. As they travel to get away from the thugs there are many obstacles and who can you really trust with your life?
    Hot steamy sex scenes add to this story.
    Like the high tech microchip implants chat, whoa! The story also follows another alternate chapters where we learn the connection one from each side has...

    I received this book from The Kennsington Books in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Kid and Artie

    ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Where is the cabin for hades children

    WHERE IS IT

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Willowstone

    Hello my mate i am sorry but i cant leave my emaik untill i get to know u more.... i love u allready.... she said as she stared at his long slender butt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    To willowstone from blazestar

    What qould you like to know "my eyes fell to helong slender body and her ever twitching tail we havve time to talk"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review Of Blaze (Phoenix Rising Series Book #2) By Joan Swan Al

    Review Of Blaze (Phoenix Rising Series Book #2) By Joan Swan

    Although I could never love Luke more than I love Teague Creek, I do have to say Luke Ransom is very HOT!!!! Once I read Fever (book #1) I knew I would be bouncing off the walls until I got to read this book. Joan so does not disappoint. She had me hooked from the first sentence.

    When Luke and Keira crossed paths for the fist time since their breakup I knew things would be explosive but I never realized just how much. I was already rooting for these two characters ever since they were mentioned in Fever. Luke and Keira are the types of characters that need to be together because without each other the other one is just existing and not really living, at least in my opinion. Keira needed to prove something to herself and she had to let Luke go in order to find herself. Luke on the other hand, knew that he wanted to create a future for him and Keira but he just couldn't get her to see his vision for them.

    The action in this book started at the very beginning which threw our couple immediately together and started them on a path to survival with an unknown enemy. The back and forth between the two kept me at the edge of my seat. Just when I think I have things figured out it never really is what it seems. Teague, Alyssa, and Mitch get called in, first to help heal Keira and then, to help Luke figure out just what it is that is going on.

    Everything in this story flowed really well. I felt nothing was thrown in for the sack of filling up pages. Joan really has what it takes to continue to be a really great author. Some books claim to be part of a series but often they turn out to be barely considered a series at all. I love how I got an update on Teague, Alyssa, and Mitch in this book. It makes the sequel cohesive. On a scale from 1-10 I give Blaze a GREAT BIG 10. It was a great story and kept me hooked until the very last page. If you are looking for a story with tons of action and a searing romance than I think everyone adult 18+ needs to go and pick themselves up a copy of Blaze. If you haven't read Fever** I also recommend picking up a copy of that book too. These books will not disappoint. Let Luke and Keira's story burn you up in more ways than one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Five Fast-paced, Fantastic Stars!!! Make room for this romance-

    Five Fast-paced, Fantastic Stars!!!

    Make room for this romance-suspense junkie, because I'm doing cartwheels all over this book! Yes, the sequel to FEVER pushed all the right buttons for me. Can you tell that I found it fantastic? Well, I did!

    Blaze mainly focuses on Keira O'Shay and Luke Ransom. Both were part of the firefighting team whose lives were forever changed in that warehouse fire that was first mentioned in Fever. Going into Blaze, I liked that these two already had an established relationship, even if they hadn't seen each other in 3 years. Keira and Luke's lives intersect again when Keira, who is now an FBI agent/sniper, has a mission to rescue a little boy. I must say that the opening sequence of events is not only explosive, but we also get to see how well Keira and Luke work together on many levels.

    “Luke stood on the opposite side, looking tattered and sexy as hell sporting his rifle and that goddamned semiautomatic strapped to his thick, muscular thigh. Why, why, why did she find that so...hot!” --Keira

    I have no idea how she found the strength to walk away from this man 3 years ago...well, I do, but you've got to read and find out yourself. After reading Blaze, I now understand why Luke was the way he was in Fever. The love of his life walked away from him and his dreams, and he had been hurting all this time. Now, circumstance has thrown their lives back together, but can he trust her to not hurt his heart again? Whatever the outcome, what I loved about this couple is that they are awesome at taking on the bad guys.

    “If it's your fight, it's my fight.” --Luke
    “We stick together, right? I've got your back.” --Luke

    Ladies, Luke doesn't mind that she leads the way in the fight either. Mmmm...gotta love a man that lets the woman take the reigns! Keira is one of my most favorite kick-ass heroines that I've come across. Even with all her issues I completely understand and love her!

    Joan Swan gives her fans another thrill ride in BLAZE, complete with lots of action, fast-paced scenes, and sizzling romantic tension. Alyssa, Teague, and Mitch all have prominent secondary roles. Mitch...oh man, he is really something! I really, really hope he gets his own book. More of the conspiracy behind that infamous warehouse fire is revealed, and there's so much more left to uncover in the next books! I am so there for book 3. Bring it on!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    This is Book 2 in the Phoenix Rising Series. Joan Swan has such

    This is Book 2 in the Phoenix Rising Series. Joan Swan has such a good story in this series. I am hooked. I suggest you read Fever before this one, as things will make a lot more sense. Blaze is just as good as Fever and probably better because you get to continue on with characters that you met in Fever.

    This story starts out with Keira, who works for the FBI and is SWAT, on a mission to rescue children from what she was told was a religious compound. Little does she know that fate would throw her into a situation with Luke, the man she walked out on three years prior because they wanted different things. Luke and Keira quickly learn that something isn't quite right with this mission and the intel they have isn't accurate. From this first scene, the action starts and doesn't really stop until the end of the book.

    Keira and Luke have paranormal powers that were caused by a warehouse fire several years prior involving unknown chemicals. When Luke and Keira are together their powers are amplified. One of the things they found they were able to do together was read each other minds. That is both good and bad as you can imagine, and was quite entertaining for the reader. Luke and Keira's relationship has had its ups and downs over the years. Luke so desperately wants to be with Keira and have a family. Keira freaks out at the idea of a family as they always seem to be on the run from the government and the idea that she could lose a family causes her to panic. Joan Swan writes the romance between these characters so well. It takes the entire length of the book and keeps you hanging on to see how it is going to work out. I like books where the hero and heroine steal a kiss here and a kiss there but don’t jump into things right away. There is only one main intimate scene in the book and is well written and really fits the characters and the story so very well.

    I enjoyed all the secondary characters in this book including Mateo, Cash, Seth, Teague, Alyssa, Kai, and Mitch. I can't wait to read future stories that include these characters. They are such a close family of sorts and I love the powers they each have acquired. It is sort of like a bunch of superheroes getting together to fight evil, but in a more down to earth, believable way and that evil is a government conspiracy. I highly recommend this series to anyone that likes romantic suspense books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story grabs you from the very first page and I couldn¿t

    This story grabs you from the very first page and I couldn’t put it down from there. The relationship between Keira and Luke is rough. They each think that the other has done something wrong to destroy their friendship and relationship. Keira has a very strong connection with the boy Mateo whom she has never seen in person, only through a photo. Keira and Luke team together to find out the truth about their own mysterious powers and help Mateo find his father. They uncover a lot of information and can only really trust each other and the rest of the fire crew that as involved in the accident that changed their lives greatly. I was surprised with how quickly I read this entire story. I could not put it down. It’s definitely a page turner for sure. I’m looking forward to the next book and can’t wait to read more about the other characters that make up Keira and Luke’s team.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    SO GOOD IT GAVE ME GOOSEBUMPS As originally posted on Mina's Boo

    SO GOOD IT GAVE ME GOOSEBUMPS
    As originally posted on Mina's Bookshelf
    During a “bizarre” firefight mission, the lives of agents Keira O’Shay and Luke Ransom were altered forever. Keira came out of that chemical inferno with enhanced psychic abilities: ever since that warehouse fire, she is a clairaudient, a person able to communicate telepathically and hear distant voices and other people’s thoughts. Luke acquired the ability to deflect fire and bullets. Not only did they use to be a formidable match professionally, their new abilities intensified when they were together, connecting them also in a more intimate level. But when “family-guy” Luke asked Keira to bring their relationship to a deeper level of commitment , Keira, a woman with a tragic past and a lousy childhood, decided to quit her job as a firefighter and become an FBI agent instead. The break-up was inevitable. Luke is not a flexible man and tends to see the world in black and white…either with me or without me. Neither does Keira clearly state the reasons behind her aversion to motherhood and feeling of inadequacy . For a good part of the novel, Luke will be unaware of her dark past of foster-care child, abused and tortured, starved physically and emotionally. She may feel “historically, environmentally, genetically” inadequate for the role of mother, but it will be her involvement in a FBI mission as a SWAT agent three years after breaking up with Luke that will prove how misled she is about herself. Two things will become clear in the general atmosphere of mystery and military secrets: with her generous and brave heart, she has a natural mother instinct, and she cannot live without Luke. Another out-of-the-ordinary explosion in the Nevada desert, where a Russian cult leader is holding a group of kids hostage, will bring the two former lovers and a very special child together, and from that moment on there will be no holding them from putting their lives and their hearts on the line of fire. The” explosive” opening scene has a strong emotional impact and an outstanding dramatic effect. The initial pages (as the rest of the book for that matter) read like a movie script, with highly accurate descriptions of time and space, the scenes unrolling in front of me with vivid details and fetching dialogues. Keyra’s emotional trial is palpable: an unexplained and deep connection with one of the hostages, and the conflicting emotions when she meets Luke for the first time in three years, make her “tight and cohesive world” fall apart. Love and hate, attraction and resentment cling to the same corner of her heart. Anger and hurt still dwell in Luke’s heart too, but he cannot deny that “deep pang of pride for all [Keira] has accomplished”. In the past three years she has found herself, becoming more mature, more savvy, and to Luke’s eyes, even more attractive.

    I simply marvel at the way this author takes on the romantic suspense genre with the polished skills of a veteran novelist. In this brilliant second installment of the Phoenix Rising series, Joan Swan will engross the readers with her effortless craftsmanship and those smooth and seamless shifts of focus between action and romance that can rival even the most seasoned suspense writers. After turning the last page of this compendium of pulse pounding suspense and breath-taking romance, I am still not able to tell whether I was more affected by the emotional depth of the characters’ back-stories, or more taken with the mesmerizing intricacies of the storyline. To tell you the truth, I can’t even recall enjoying a “conspiracy-theory, paranormal mystery” this much since the days of the X-files tv series.

    In Luke and Keira’s story, emotions intensify and the mystery thickens: together with the theme of ghost government agencies and their secret agendas, Joan Swans brings so many emotional issues to the table (the personal hell of an abused child, expectations and compromises in a love relationship) that spoke to my heart and lingered with me even after putting the book down.

    Like in Swan’s debut FEVER (Phoenix Raising #1), the execution is spectacular and the language is vibrant and real. Funny and gritty dialogues set the lively pace of the narration, leading the reader through a wide range of emotional responses. The romantic involvement of the lead couple, the scorching sensuality ignited by their mutual raw need, the elusive truth at the bottom of their super-powers are the cornerstones of this solid piece of fictional fabrication. The plot is so clever that despite the lack of closure as far as regards the big scheme of things, this page-turner can be enjoyed as a stand alone. The dangling plot threads, the breakneck sub-plots and the introduction of secondary cast that will surely rock the world of the Phoenix Rising in the coming sequel, fuel the reader’s curiosity and enhance the thrill effect, leaving us with the awareness that our endearing characters are more in danger than ever and that someone is diligently trying to hide the truth.

    That truth will still be elusive even in the final pages, but the choice of a conspiracy theme is thought-provoking and allows room for theorizing. The characters are fully nuanced, easy to root for and relate to, despite their larger-than-life nature; the emotional dynamic between Luke and Keira so engaging…the more they talk, the more they argue. They both share a personality trait that can place countless obstacles on the way to a smooth love relationship. They both possess an unforgiving, uncompromising, hard as granite temper, in addition to their psychic ability to read each other’s minds… hard to tell if this is more a blessing or a curse. When they finally unlock their hearts and understand that love is “about finding strength in the sum of our parts instead of fighting alone”, their release will be even more rewarding. To tighten up the threads of this rich and imaginative series, Joan Swan revisits familiar faces (Teague and Alyssa from Fever, installment #1 in the series ) and introduces an ensemble of new characters that move around our lead couple with the loyalty, the stealth and the precision of a SWAT team.
    And then there is Mitch, Mitch Foster: “the dragon slayer” attorney, the man who gets things done with the power of a telegraphic phone call…there is no special force pilot, military helicopter, heavy artillery, or loyal bodyguards that he cannot obtain with a simple (and mysterious) call from his mobile…we will get to know his secret sooner or later. This character definitely deserves his own spotlight.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Blaze is Joan Swan¿s second book of her Phoenix series. These s

    Blaze is Joan Swan’s second book of her Phoenix series. These stories revolve around seven firefighters who were caught in a chemical explosion in a government warehouse which left one dead and the remaining members forever changed. Each member has developed their own special abilities, and in this paranormal series, the scary monster in the closet isn’t a vampire or a zombie, it’s our very own government.

    This black ops division of our government was aware of the toxic stew they kept hidden in their storage warehouse and have been monitoring these firefighters for the past five years. Those in charge are torn between destroying them before the public finds out or using their usual powers for their own purposes.

    While all of the firefighters are being watched and monitored, it is Luke Ransom and Keira O’Shay who hold the most interest to the government. Luke and Keira were lovers long before the fateful fire, but everything changed when Luke walked out of the warehouse both fireproof and bulletproof and Keira was suddenly able to hear thoughts. Amazing enough, but it did not go unnoticed that while they were together their powers were enhanced. Because of this, everything is being done to keep these firefighters from coming back together. The fear is how powerful they could be as a team.

    Keira and Luke are brought back together when the FBI and ATF are brought in on a raid on what is supposed to be a religious compound and turns out to be a laboratory, and when a fire starts during the confusion, they can’t help but notice the strange colors blazing in the flames. Those same colored flames that burned the night of the warehouse fire.

    It seems the government got tired of waiting to see if they could control the firefighters and have decided to try to create their own gifted solders, starting with more malleable children.

    At first Keira doesn’t understand the strange bond between her and little boy Mateo they rescued until she finally realizes that he too has the same special abilities shared by herself and some of the other firefighters. Now, Keira and Luke are on the run and trying to protect this boy but the government wants him back real bad, and they are willing to bargain whatever lives are necessary so they can get him back and bury their mistake, permanently.

    Keira and Luke have been apart for three years now and neither has been able to get past the love that they shared, but is it undying love enough when your every move is watched and the danger only increases the longer you are together?

    Joan Swan is definitely working her way to the top of my favorite author list! This story was riveting, heart-poundingly intense, sexy, and definitely leaves me wanting more. I can’t wait for the next story.

    When the scary monster in the closet is our own very powerful government, there is no one you can trust and no where that is truly safe. They were being monitor and no matter where they ran, there was already someone waiting to grab them. The way our government is portrayed as heartless in their pursuit of these firefighters gave me chills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Demigod hill map

    Result one. Main camp/ joining area. Result two. Bios. Result three. Demigod hill map. Results 4-46. Cabins. Result 47. Imfirmay. Result 48. Messhall. (Eating area). Result 49-52. Human wolrd. Result 53. Training area. Result 54-70. The forest/ capture the flag area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2