Customer Reviews for

Blaze of Winter

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I cant wait to see which Grayson brother falls next!!! These books are sweet and sexy and quick easy enjoyable reads!!! Hopefully we wont have to wait to long for the next book in the series!!!

posted by 18844705 on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Who knew winter could be so hot.

Blaze of Winter is the second book in the Star Harbor series. I went into reading this book, having very high expectations. Unfortunately, the book didn't meet those expectations. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but just not as much as I liked Deep Autumn Heat....
Blaze of Winter is the second book in the Star Harbor series. I went into reading this book, having very high expectations. Unfortunately, the book didn't meet those expectations. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but just not as much as I liked Deep Autumn Heat. However, I will say Blaze of Winter is HOT!!!! I mean H-O-T! That was something I wasn't expecting.

Theo is the twin brother of Seb, from Deep Autumn Heat. He has returned to Star Harbor in an attempt to get his writing back on track. Nicknamed "The Professor" by his brothers, Theo has an amazing way with words. Theo or T.R (as he's known to the writing community) is a writer of seafaring adventures. He ends up getting a room at the Star Harbor Inn and meets Avery. For him, sparks fly between him and Avery immediately.

Avery is the younger sister of Emma, Star Harbor's town librarian. Avery is at a crossroad in her life. After missing signs of a client in distress, she comes to Star Harbor to reevaluate her career and her life, as well as help out her Aunt Kate.

After reading the first book in the series, I should have known that Blaze of Winter wasn't a "what you see is what you get book". Again, there's the small element of suspense thrown in. Even when I thought that it was over, there was STILL more. In addition to the mini-suspense, there is also another love story mixed in. That story, I found to be very sweet and I'm hoping there's more of it in the other books. Maybe Elisabeth could do a novella to have the couple have chance at their own story.

I love Theo for everything that he is...He's extremely smart and intelligent, he's loving, caring, and gentle. He's a thinker and a planner. I found Avery to be a nice person. Maybe she feels the need to carry the weight of all the problems of the people in her life. She is aways willing to be there for other people, but doesn't allow anyone to be there for her. One of the best moments in the book was when she let her guard down and actually leaned on Theo for support.

I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the Star Harbor series.

I received this book as an Advance Reader's Copy from the publisher.

posted by ReadYourWrites on September 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Who knew winter could be so hot.

    Blaze of Winter is the second book in the Star Harbor series. I went into reading this book, having very high expectations. Unfortunately, the book didn't meet those expectations. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but just not as much as I liked Deep Autumn Heat. However, I will say Blaze of Winter is HOT!!!! I mean H-O-T! That was something I wasn't expecting.

    Theo is the twin brother of Seb, from Deep Autumn Heat. He has returned to Star Harbor in an attempt to get his writing back on track. Nicknamed "The Professor" by his brothers, Theo has an amazing way with words. Theo or T.R (as he's known to the writing community) is a writer of seafaring adventures. He ends up getting a room at the Star Harbor Inn and meets Avery. For him, sparks fly between him and Avery immediately.

    Avery is the younger sister of Emma, Star Harbor's town librarian. Avery is at a crossroad in her life. After missing signs of a client in distress, she comes to Star Harbor to reevaluate her career and her life, as well as help out her Aunt Kate.

    After reading the first book in the series, I should have known that Blaze of Winter wasn't a "what you see is what you get book". Again, there's the small element of suspense thrown in. Even when I thought that it was over, there was STILL more. In addition to the mini-suspense, there is also another love story mixed in. That story, I found to be very sweet and I'm hoping there's more of it in the other books. Maybe Elisabeth could do a novella to have the couple have chance at their own story.

    I love Theo for everything that he is...He's extremely smart and intelligent, he's loving, caring, and gentle. He's a thinker and a planner. I found Avery to be a nice person. Maybe she feels the need to carry the weight of all the problems of the people in her life. She is aways willing to be there for other people, but doesn't allow anyone to be there for her. One of the best moments in the book was when she let her guard down and actually leaned on Theo for support.

    I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the Star Harbor series.

    I received this book as an Advance Reader's Copy from the publisher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Samael

    HOLLA ONE ONE SIX IF YO' REP DEH TRUTH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    hannahferrell47@yahoo.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After a case goes wrong for social worker Avery Newbridge, she h

    After a case goes wrong for social worker Avery Newbridge, she heads home to Star Harbor to reassess her life and help her sick aunt run the inn. What she wasn't expecting was a distraction in the form of one Theo Grayson. The gorgeous author is home for his own reprieve, and when sparks fly, they both need to figure out what they want if this romance is to last.

    This is a new Star Harbor romance as part of a series, but they are stand alone reads. I felt that the conflict was very weak in this book, and though the plot was a good one, the timing threw it off. There were also several repetitive phrases. In saying that, I really like the author's poetic writing style. The town, secondary characters, and, at times, bumbling heroine saved the book. There was also a small mystery element to the story, which should keep you reading to figure it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Romance

    Courtesy of Random House Publishing Group(Loveswept) through NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.

    Leaving her job in Boston out of frustration Avery Newbridge heads out to Star Harbor in order to help her family and hopefully figure out what she wants to do with her life. When the gorgeous Theo Grayson shows up on the doorsteps of the Star Harbor Inn looking for a place to stay while he writes his next book, he carries a tempting plate of trouble with him.

    This is a second book in the Star Harbor series. I loved the first one, but Sebastian and Lexie were so perfect and wonderful. Theo of course is Sebastian’s twin brother, but he is the geeky brother of the two. He writes swashbuckling adventure and is in Star Harbor trying to put together the pieces of its history for his next story. I loved Theo as much as I loved Sebastian. He was wonderful and swoons worthy and he was trying too hard to get Avery’s attention. Avery on the other hand I couldn’t help but find annoying. Her actions and reactions puzzled me at times. The fact that she jumped to conclusions way too many times did not help her with brownie points either.

    I did feel sorry for her and what had happened with her job, as a social worker she thought she failed a missing woman with drug problems – and how she handled the situation later on made me a little proud of her.

    Besides that, the story line was okay at best. It follows Grayson’s brother’s adventures as Theo is now trying to dig up the history of the lost ship and of course more goons from the drug circle from the first book make their appearance as well. The book had some suspense, and a little bit of action and adventure. I wasn’t sure if the attraction between Theo and Avery was as good as the attraction between Sebastian and Lexie, but it was a sweet book regardless. I loved Theo’s attempt at trying to seduce Avery and later on in the series, he became a character hard not to like. I wanted to squeeze him for everything he went through with Avery, but at the same time I was rooting for him not to give up on his happy ending. The end of the book was satisfying, and the fact that it came with Lexie’s Coconut Cake recipe was a nice big surprise!

    I also love the fact that the book has a small town feel too it where everyone knows everyone's business, it makes it that much more personal and interesting with a recurring cast of wonderful supporting characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Ethelreda to all

    Hey guys!!!! Sorry about not being on, the wifi is absolute junk and my family is moving. AGAIN. Dont ask. Anyway ill try to get on but i might not. This shouldnt be a problem in about a week. Miss you all!!!! Be on as soon as i can.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1