Customer Reviews for

Blaze of Winter

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I cant wait to see which Grayson brother falls next!!! These books are sweet and sexy and quick easy enjoyable reads!!! Hopefully we wont have to wait to long for the next book in the series!!!

posted by 18844705 on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Who knew winter could be so hot.

Blaze of Winter is the second book in the Star Harbor series. I went into reading this book, having very high expectations. Unfortunately, the book didn't meet those expectations. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but just not as much as I liked Deep Autumn Heat....
Blaze of Winter is the second book in the Star Harbor series. I went into reading this book, having very high expectations. Unfortunately, the book didn't meet those expectations. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but just not as much as I liked Deep Autumn Heat. However, I will say Blaze of Winter is HOT!!!! I mean H-O-T! That was something I wasn't expecting.

Theo is the twin brother of Seb, from Deep Autumn Heat. He has returned to Star Harbor in an attempt to get his writing back on track. Nicknamed "The Professor" by his brothers, Theo has an amazing way with words. Theo or T.R (as he's known to the writing community) is a writer of seafaring adventures. He ends up getting a room at the Star Harbor Inn and meets Avery. For him, sparks fly between him and Avery immediately.

Avery is the younger sister of Emma, Star Harbor's town librarian. Avery is at a crossroad in her life. After missing signs of a client in distress, she comes to Star Harbor to reevaluate her career and her life, as well as help out her Aunt Kate.

After reading the first book in the series, I should have known that Blaze of Winter wasn't a "what you see is what you get book". Again, there's the small element of suspense thrown in. Even when I thought that it was over, there was STILL more. In addition to the mini-suspense, there is also another love story mixed in. That story, I found to be very sweet and I'm hoping there's more of it in the other books. Maybe Elisabeth could do a novella to have the couple have chance at their own story.

I love Theo for everything that he is...He's extremely smart and intelligent, he's loving, caring, and gentle. He's a thinker and a planner. I found Avery to be a nice person. Maybe she feels the need to carry the weight of all the problems of the people in her life. She is aways willing to be there for other people, but doesn't allow anyone to be there for her. One of the best moments in the book was when she let her guard down and actually leaned on Theo for support.

I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the Star Harbor series.

I received this book as an Advance Reader's Copy from the publisher.

posted by ReadYourWrites on September 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Loved it

    I cant wait to see which Grayson brother falls next!!! These books are sweet and sexy and quick easy enjoyable reads!!! Hopefully we wont have to wait to long for the next book in the series!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    B rating....

    My Review:
    Aw, I was looking forward to Theo's book and it did not disappoint. This is book #2 in the Star Harbor series which is about 4 incredibly sexy brothers...Seb, Theo, Cole, and Val. Seb was the hero of book #1 (he's a chef) and Theo is his twin brother. Theo is a best-selling novelist who's been living in San Francisco. He comes home because he has a bad case of writers block and is hoping that a change in venue will help that. Theo is 6"4" with a shock of black hair, a physique to die for, and some very sexy glasses that finish off the whole package. Just visualizing this guy made me happy. AND he's a writer...SOLD. I love him!

    Avery is a social worker from Boston. She's come home to help care for her Aunt who is fighting breast cancer, but still has an inn to run in this small resort town. Avery has her own stresses in her life that she is escaping from...one of her patients that she thought was getting better, overdosed and died and Avery didn't see the warning signs. Avery is a very uptight person...she tries not to show emotion and doesn't ever let herself go. She internalizes everything and has never put herself out there enough to have a true relationship with a guy. I have to admit that this is the one thing I didn't understand about this novel...I needed to know what had happened to Avery to make her this way. Without that, I really had a hard time understanding her reticence with Theo, who is absolutely just a perfect specimen of a guy.

    Everything takes place in this quaint little coastal town in Maine which I'm coming to love. This book takes place over the holidays so there was lots of snow, Christmas ambiance, and snuggling to get warm....all of those things are some of my favorites when it comes to romance novels. There is also a fabulous cast of supporting characters...Seb & Lizzie from Book #1, Jimmy & Emma, Kate & Luke, Cole, and Val. There was also a touch of suspense in the cove and hints at pirate bounty which I don't think we've heard the last of in this series. There are still two brothers to go...Cole, the sheriff, and Val, the DEA agent. Both of those stories promise to be good!

    I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    258pgs...

    Good continuation to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    This is book two in the series of the Grayson brothers.  Theo Gr

    This is book two in the series of the Grayson brothers.  Theo Grayson is brilliant writer who has a bad case of writers block.  
    He heads home to Star Harbor hoping to find his muse and get back into the swing of things.  Avery Newbridge is back in Star Harbor
    to help her aunt out at the Inn and becomes Theo’s muse.  Elisabeth witty humor and lovely writing kept my engrossed in the book until
     the wee hours.  I love this series of the Grayson brothers and Theo makes a very sexy bookish nerd.  I give it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved this story and getting to know the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Great Winter Read!

    This is the second book in the Star Harbor series. In this book we are introduced to Theo and Avery. This book was a slow simmering romance that has scenes hot enough to keep you warm on a cold winter night. Grab a cup of hot chocolate, Avery’s favorite drink, and lose yourself in this delicious tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    4 STARS Blaze of Winter is a A Loveswept Contemporary Romance.

    4 STARS

    Blaze of Winter is a A Loveswept Contemporary Romance. It is book 2 in the Star Harbor Series featuring the Grayson brothers.
    Thier are a lot of love scenes that I skimmed over.
    Theo Grayson is a writer who has writer block. So he is giving himself two months to go to his hometown of Star Harbor and see if he can start a new book. Theo is also thinking of the changes he has made and what he really wants in his life.
    But Theo is not finding much quite staying on a houseboat with two of his brothers, especially sharing a cabin with Cole. Someone suggests he stay at the bed & breakfast or rent a place.
    Avery Newbridge is a social worker from Boston but she has burnout and came to help
    her Aunt run the bed and breakfast while she was getting cancer treatments.
    When Avery sees Theo wants a room for two months or so she tells him that is not a good idea it would cost a lot for that he would be better off renting a apartment.
    Avery thinks Theo is good looking.
    Avery does not realized who he is and that he is a famous writer and money is not a worry for him.
    Being at the bed and breakfast and talking to Avery he finally knows what he wants to base his story on. He also spends a lot of time at Lexie's cafe. He wrote thier for hours.
    His twin brother the chef is still trying to get Lexie reciepe for coconut cake but she won't share with him till after thier wedding. They finally agree on a wedding soon because Lexie's parents are coming for a visit.
    While Theo and Avery are out late walking on the beach to get an idea of what his pirates might have seen at night. He notices some boats out after midnight and then they hear noises at the Inn and Theo figures out their are drug dealers and call his brother Cole the sheriff.
    Thier is a nice community of characters in Star Harbor. I look forward to reading the next two stories about the Graysons.
    Thier is romance,priate treasure,drug dealers,sick family,break ins,a wedding and wonderful Christmas in Star Harbor.
    I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley.
    Publication Date:September 10, 2012 Random House Publishing Group PUB. Imprint Loveswept 318 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1