Customer Reviews for

Blaze of Winter

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Can't Wait For The Rest Of The Series

Thanks to the publisher, Random House Publishing Group, and NetGalley for the chance to read this early!

This is the second book in the contemporary romance series, Star Harbor, by Elisabeth Barrett about the four Grayson Brothers.

The very emotionally-depleted so...
Thanks to the publisher, Random House Publishing Group, and NetGalley for the chance to read this early!

This is the second book in the contemporary romance series, Star Harbor, by Elisabeth Barrett about the four Grayson Brothers.

The very emotionally-depleted social worker, Avery Newbridge, relocates to Star Harbor to help her Aunt Kate manage the Star Harbor Inn while she is recuperating but, also seizes the opportunity to escape her heartache, and to potentially reenergize her passion for the career she loves. The slow season at the end gives Avery to time she needs to try and work through the issues she fled Boston to escape. However, slow season also means that the Inn has a room to rent `indefinitely' to Theo Grayson, the sexy bad-boy turned bestselling author. When Theo decided to remain in his hometown to find inspiration for his upcoming novel he never thought he would be writing his own love story...now if he can just convince Avery to play the heroine.

I found the authors style to be captivating. Let me just say: I hadn't plan to read a book tonight. I started this book shortly after work, and I couldn't even put it down to make dinner - ordered a pizza. I typically enjoy small town based romances and this is one of the greats. Star Harbor is the perfect setting for this heartwarming story about two people searching for inspiration. The town is full of quirky, friendly, salt-of-the-earth people that will hopefully...HINT...HINT...be featured in future installments. I am looking forward to the rest of this series.

posted by twocoulters on September 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Who knew winter could be so hot.

Blaze of Winter is the second book in the Star Harbor series. I went into reading this book, having very high expectations. Unfortunately, the book didn't meet those expectations. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but just not as much as I liked Deep Autumn Heat....
Blaze of Winter is the second book in the Star Harbor series. I went into reading this book, having very high expectations. Unfortunately, the book didn't meet those expectations. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but just not as much as I liked Deep Autumn Heat. However, I will say Blaze of Winter is HOT!!!! I mean H-O-T! That was something I wasn't expecting.

Theo is the twin brother of Seb, from Deep Autumn Heat. He has returned to Star Harbor in an attempt to get his writing back on track. Nicknamed "The Professor" by his brothers, Theo has an amazing way with words. Theo or T.R (as he's known to the writing community) is a writer of seafaring adventures. He ends up getting a room at the Star Harbor Inn and meets Avery. For him, sparks fly between him and Avery immediately.

Avery is the younger sister of Emma, Star Harbor's town librarian. Avery is at a crossroad in her life. After missing signs of a client in distress, she comes to Star Harbor to reevaluate her career and her life, as well as help out her Aunt Kate.

After reading the first book in the series, I should have known that Blaze of Winter wasn't a "what you see is what you get book". Again, there's the small element of suspense thrown in. Even when I thought that it was over, there was STILL more. In addition to the mini-suspense, there is also another love story mixed in. That story, I found to be very sweet and I'm hoping there's more of it in the other books. Maybe Elisabeth could do a novella to have the couple have chance at their own story.

I love Theo for everything that he is...He's extremely smart and intelligent, he's loving, caring, and gentle. He's a thinker and a planner. I found Avery to be a nice person. Maybe she feels the need to carry the weight of all the problems of the people in her life. She is aways willing to be there for other people, but doesn't allow anyone to be there for her. One of the best moments in the book was when she let her guard down and actually leaned on Theo for support.

I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the Star Harbor series.

I received this book as an Advance Reader's Copy from the publisher.

posted by ReadYourWrites on September 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Can't Wait For The Rest Of The Series

    Thanks to the publisher, Random House Publishing Group, and NetGalley for the chance to read this early!

    This is the second book in the contemporary romance series, Star Harbor, by Elisabeth Barrett about the four Grayson Brothers.

    The very emotionally-depleted social worker, Avery Newbridge, relocates to Star Harbor to help her Aunt Kate manage the Star Harbor Inn while she is recuperating but, also seizes the opportunity to escape her heartache, and to potentially reenergize her passion for the career she loves. The slow season at the end gives Avery to time she needs to try and work through the issues she fled Boston to escape. However, slow season also means that the Inn has a room to rent `indefinitely' to Theo Grayson, the sexy bad-boy turned bestselling author. When Theo decided to remain in his hometown to find inspiration for his upcoming novel he never thought he would be writing his own love story...now if he can just convince Avery to play the heroine.

    I found the authors style to be captivating. Let me just say: I hadn't plan to read a book tonight. I started this book shortly after work, and I couldn't even put it down to make dinner - ordered a pizza. I typically enjoy small town based romances and this is one of the greats. Star Harbor is the perfect setting for this heartwarming story about two people searching for inspiration. The town is full of quirky, friendly, salt-of-the-earth people that will hopefully...HINT...HINT...be featured in future installments. I am looking forward to the rest of this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    I love contemporary romance - Robyn Carr & Mariah Stewart a

    I love contemporary romance - Robyn Carr & Mariah Stewart are two of my favorites -- Elisabeth's Star Harbor series are more story & all the romance - must buy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Terrific

    Storyline is funny and sensual. Not going into details! Read the book. Surprise at the end of the book. Its mentioned in the book and I made it. It is yummy. Can you guess what it is? Lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Blaze of Winter by Elisabeth Barrett ISBN: 9780345534347 Theo

    Blaze of Winter by Elisabeth Barrett
    ISBN: 9780345534347
    Theo Grayson had relocated from his loft in San Francisco to his hometown of Star Harbor where he thought he might get some inspiration to do some more writing. His first book was out there=well not at his hometown library.
    He finds it hard to write, sleep and to concentrate as he's on the houseboat of his brothers and in total there are 3 of them there.
    Avery Newbridge was taking care of the Star Harbor Inn for her aunt who had recuperated from breast cancer treatments. She is hiding out, not sure what to do with her life now. Her sister Kate had told her she had heard noises and things moving at night and some food had gone missing but nothing to be concerned about.
    She tried to talk Theo out of staying at the inn but he took a room, indefinitely... She is on a break from the drug rehab center and she's tried to help so many and some don't make it leaving her like she's failed.
    I first wanted to read this book because of the name Grayson. I got it mixed up with another ongoing series and thought this was the latest. It's the wrong Grayson, but I like the storyline anyways and now I am happy to say I gotta go get the rest of this Grayson series cuz it's that good!
    Love when I stumble onto a new author!
    After dinner at the local restaurant they go back to find an intruder had broken into the inn. After reporting and the police showed up the next day she's to get new locks and keys and find out everybody in town knows about everybody and that they know she has a violin case. The local ensemble practices Thursday nights and they've asked her to join them.
    It's a friendly kind of 'knowing everybody's business'. Although the book mainly concentrates on Avery and Theo there are other relatives involved that come and go into their daily lives and another book is dedicated to them. I did not feel like I missed out or was left in the dark as some of their backgrounds are gone into to make you feel not so lost.
    She was trying to figure out what she wanted to do with her life as her social worker job was on hold and other things keep popping up, Theo and now the violin group...
    Theo's next book is starting out well with help from others who lent him books on the ship wreck nearby. He is just piecing the info together while having a drink at the Nail with other locals.
    They spend more time together decorating the inn for the Christmas holiday and each of them talk about their jobs...
    There are many stories of when the boys were younger and played pranks on others. some very detailed they had to have originated from Theo.
    She doesn't want to start anything she can't finish cuz she's told him he's leaving by feb 1 and so is she.
    The ice skating bonfire sounds so New Englandish I recall my younger days!
    Mysteries surrounding his writing and the Boston Harbor area...
    Avery gets a job offer and is contemplating staying near her relatives and not going back to her old job. Decisions, choices for the both of them...
    Drugs, hospitalizations, wedding, and Christmas all make this a very exciting action packed book with hot steamy sex to only add to this tale. Love how everything was tied together at the end!
    Recipes at the end, super!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Great

    I loved this book. Great 2nd book with the grayson brothers. Good job. Now to read cole's book. J... :-@

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    A very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    I love these brothers. I'm glad I didn't stumble upon these book

    I love these brothers. I'm glad I didn't stumble upon these books until the first 3 were out. Now I have to wait for number 4!!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Mckenzie

    Wakes up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Jack

    "Sweeeet lets head back then.. i cant wait to scare the crap out of Adam.. hehehe".....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Cabin #6 Hermes

    This cabin is for hermes chilren.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Read the first in this series and had to get this one. It was ev

    Read the first in this series and had to get this one. It was even better. Avery and Theo are a steamy couple. Just enough mystery to make it page turning and a lot of characters I met in the first book. Loved this book and will get the next one for sure..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Clan meeting

    When i calla clan meetig come here for the anouncement

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Loved it!

    Perfect combination of romance and mystery. Normally I like the tougher guys, but by the end I loved. Can't wait until the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great story

    Can not wait on next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Great read!

    Kept my attention to the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Absolutely Loved!

    I thought the first book in the series was really, really good, but this one is better! I loved Theo and Avery! Theo is such a great guy and Avery was great! I can't wait to re-read this book! Elisabeth Barrett is going to the top of my favorite authors list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Kyilla

    Kyilla broghtened" Mike! Weres mike? I must speak to him! He might want to help find astara!" She exclaimed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Annabeth

    Ok then ill leave it to you

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2