Customer Reviews for

Bleachers

Average Rating 3.5
( 325 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

D-Swans Review at R.A.Long 6th period

What i realy like about this book is not just that it's about football, but becuase it shows things about people that they do but do not see. Howthey get so careless all they want to do is hurt someone, or how we dwell on things. I realy liked how the coach pushed and p...
What i realy like about this book is not just that it's about football, but becuase it shows things about people that they do but do not see. Howthey get so careless all they want to do is hurt someone, or how we dwell on things. I realy liked how the coach pushed and pushed, until he was fired. It truely shows how he feels about his passion for football. He loved football so much if someone died becuase of him he would go on. Anyone who says this it's not worth picking up, needs to check themselfs. I highly recommend this book to read.

posted by D-Swan on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

English Project

It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was jus...
It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was just the story of a guy who used to play football and is now coming back to town because his coach is in the process of dying. I guess it shows how strong, but hidden are the friendships of the team. How they all went their separate ways after high school but when are called back to the town they can just sit and reminisce about the "good ole' days" when they were on the best team in Spartan history.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    D-Swans Review at R.A.Long 6th period

    What i realy like about this book is not just that it's about football, but becuase it shows things about people that they do but do not see. Howthey get so careless all they want to do is hurt someone, or how we dwell on things. I realy liked how the coach pushed and pushed, until he was fired. It truely shows how he feels about his passion for football. He loved football so much if someone died becuase of him he would go on. Anyone who says this it's not worth picking up, needs to check themselfs. I highly recommend this book to read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Bleachers review

    This book will get your attention form the beginning. The book¿s name is Bleachers by John Grisham. The genre of this book is sports fiction. Bleachers is about old football players that come back to their home town and share the latest scuttlebutts and memories I liked this book because it kept my attention thought the whole book by using cool stories and good vocabulary. John Grisham played football for a Southern Mississippi high school football team. I would give this book a five out of five ratting. What will you give this book?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    John Grisham is the best author of today' fiction

    Cannot wait to get my hands on Bleachers. Grisham is the best author of all time. my family reads everything he writes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    English Project

    It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was just the story of a guy who used to play football and is now coming back to town because his coach is in the process of dying. I guess it shows how strong, but hidden are the friendships of the team. How they all went their separate ways after high school but when are called back to the town they can just sit and reminisce about the "good ole' days" when they were on the best team in Spartan history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Bleachers

    This book is about a high school football team in Messina. Neely Crenshaw (main character/narrator) was the best quarterback to every play for the Messina Spartans. The four years he had played there, they only lost a few games and had a state title. Neely has been angry ever since he left that school which has been 15 years. He was mostly angry about his knee injury that ultimately ended his career. Also in the locker room during half time of the 1987 Championship game, his coach lost his temper the worst anyone had ever seen because of his performance. That pushed him to make up for it in the second quarter.

    Their coach Eddie Rake was a big influence on them but they hated him at times. Eddie is on his death bed so all of his past players are called back to the stadium for his death ceremony. Coach Rake's reputation had been badly hurt when a kid died of heat stroke one practice in 100 degree heat. Then shortly after he was fired, after 30 years of coaching. There is a big controversy about him and most of the past and present parents of players are furious with him and don't think he should coach. But there are still many that believe he was a great coach and that he should never have been fired in the first place. Neely has still never forgiven his coach for that. When he is later speaking at Rake's funeral, he rememers a lecture from Rake: "Fear is inevitable, and it is not always bad. Harness your fear and use it to your advantage" (Grisham 158). So even though he still never really forgave him, his coach was that big of an impact on him that his words stuck on Neely for that long.

    Rake was a great coach with a lot of experience, "Rake's greatness was winning with players who were small and slow. He took thin talent and still delivered the winning scores. He worked the lean ones harder, though, and few teams had seen the intensity of his cocaching style" (Grisham 52). Now everyone has been called back for his death ceremony. All of the boys sit in the bleachers waiting for the dimming of the lights which signals his passing. They replay all of the old games, relive the old glories and try to find out once and for all whether they love Eddie Rake or if they hate him.

    I really enjoyed this book because it shows the story of a player who had a really rocky relationship with a coach. They still managed to put it away when game time came because they were expected to win the state championship every game. This book would be good for someone who likes touching or dramiatic books because you really begin to like the characters and the end really brings the whole book together. I would think a lot of people will enjoy this book very much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Bleachers

    This book was a waste of time and money.I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.it sucked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Very good story

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The storyline was very different, but a good one. If you do not like high school football in a small town, this book may not be to your liking. It does have a few sad moments, but very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    The book ┬┐The Bleachers┬┐ is about an all American high school fo

    The book “The Bleachers” is about an all American high school football team. Their coach Rake is dying. If you would steep one foot on his field you would get yelled at so much you would wish u didn’t do it. At the beginning of the practice season he would make the players run the track and they had to run at least 21 laps. If they couldn’t run at least 21 laps they would be taken off the track and they could go back the next day and try again. He was a coach that didn’t like his linemen big and fat. Neely Crenshaw was a quarter back and everyone loved him. When he left for college everyone in the town missed him. He swierd he would never go back to that town as long as his couch was alive. He finally comes back to the field and sits on the bleachers with some of his buddy’s. Their names were Paul, silo, and him. Lots of people were at the field siting on the bleachers talking about their times playing for coach rake. Rabbit turned on the lights and kept them on until couch rake was dead. There was another quarter back there that took Neels number 19 when Neely graduated. He ran 81 laps and set a new school record. It thought the book was really interesting because I like sports and they are just waiting for coach rake to die. I also thought the book was thrilling because you can picture how he ran the players and how he yelled at them to make them a better team. It is taken place in a fictional town called macina. To learn about the last part of the book you can check it out at your school library or you can buy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    One of the best football books ever!

    I always related John Grisham with lawyer thrillers (The Client, The Pelican Brief ect.) but this one surprised me. I read it when someone I worked with had it & loaned it to me. I was enthralled from the get-go, especially when at the time I read it my 10 year high school reunion was right around the corner. While it was in paperback at the time I read it, I purchased it on E-book for my Nook. It's as good now as it was when I read it 9-10 years ago. All the characters were very easy to relate to. It's a good story about fallen glory & regrets, and most importantly, forgiveness.

    All in all this book is right up there with Friday Night Lights when it comes to football, especially high school football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    This book was unintersting and at times absolutely boring. I wa

    This book was unintersting and at times absolutely boring. I wanted more football drama, all it left me with was one football flashback. It had one minor mystery of what happened during a championship high school game. The rest of it was just a circle of characters complaining about their lives, and that can get old really quick. Too bad. I was looking forward to this book and it ended up being a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Two thumbs up, ten toes, one knee, and a couple of elbows

    Phenomenal read that everyone can relate to ..... as a player, coach, fan, cheerleader, and even as a non-football supporter. Really hits close to home and brings you back as "The Boys of Fall" song plays in your head. There's a face from your past that matches each character and that makes this book truly relatable to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Well written and with understanding.

    Felt it was written geared more to male readers, but enertaing non the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Boreing book

    John Grisham shoult stick to books about the law. Football "ick" Karebee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Horrible

    Having+been+a+Grisham+fan+since+day+one%2C+I+have+loved+every+book+he+has+written.+That+is+untill+this+one.+It+is+not+close+to+even+good+which+is+sad+to+see.+I+will+continue+to+read+his+works+but+will+reconsider+if+any+more+turn+out+like+this.+No+suspense%2C+no+interesting+characters.+Nothing%21

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Small Town Football combine to create a wonderful story.

    In "Bleachers", John Grisham took me on a trip to the small town of Messina, Mississippi, where Friday night football reigns supreme. No pro football here, just the home grown college and high school teams. The story brings back lots of memories and if you enjoy football this is the story for y. In the story, Coach Eddie Rake, who has had a long career as football coach that he built into a football dynasty. Because of it, he is the most important man in town, and he is loved by everybody in Messina and of course the players, both present and past, of the Messina Spartans.

    This story takes place over the course of four days as the Spartans from different eras return to stand vigil over their dying coach. The players sit in the bleachers, share stories and memories. They relive old rivalries and victories. Most of all, they remember the times, both good and bad, that they had with their coach. They also, remember the miracle 1987 game, and in the process, let out a secret that had been kept for a decade. While this short story is out of Mr. Grisham's usual genre, it still has the elements of a down home, wholesome story with a twist. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book.

    Bleachers by John Grisham is a novel focused around football. Neely Crenshaw is an old star quarterback and was one of the best ever to come from Messina High School. He is a legend. But while dominating collegiate football at Tech and an NFL future ahead, Neely is cheaply hit in the knee. Doctors told him that he would never play again. This story is about Neely going back to his hometown almost fifteen years after that to attend the funeral of his high school coach, Eddie Rake.

    Eddie Rake was even more of a legend than Neely was. Through his hard-nosed style of coaching, Rake started and maintained a football dynasty that lasted for decades. It is tough for Neely to come back because of a secret altercation which left Neely hating Coach Rake for years. Neely doesn't know how the town will treat him after his injury shooting down the hopes of a town hero in the NFL and him not returning to his hometown for fifteen years.

    This novel was an interesting and easy read. The whole story line is only four days, but it discusses many different things throughout the book. I liked the book because it was about football, which I play and found very interesting to read about. Another thing I liked was the way Grisham added alternative stories about Neely's love life and him finding out what happened to all of his old teammates. My favorite character was Neely because I like the way he grows and realizes things throughout the novel, and because he was an awesome athlete. I would recommend this book to someone who is interested or involved in sports, particularly football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Bleacher is a touchdown

    A beautifully told story woven through time, Bleachers is a heartfelt tale of the ups and downs Spartans experienced with their driven and determined Coach Rake. The story is told thoughtfully through the mind of All-American Neely Crenshaw. He and other former Spartan football players reunite to observe the passing and remember the glory days of their old football coach. Grisham paints a touching tale and pulls you into every football game and makes you feel every emotion the characters feel. Overall a wonderful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    Bleachers

    This was an outstanding book. I never wanted to put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read

    Although lacking in action, this book provides great insights into the mind of a football player. I read this book in one sitting. Grisham crafts it brilliantly. It's not thrilling like action, but it is thrilling because there are some stories that you wnat to be told.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Read

    Bleachers was an excellent book with a fantastic storyline that is particularly sensitive to football players. Neely Crenshaw, the protagonist, returns to his hometown after fifteen years, where he was the college-bound quarterback for the famous Messina Spartans. He has returned to Messina to bury his old coach, Eddie Rake. Many in Messina thought of Coach Rake as a hero, but Neely Crenshaw holds many dark secrets that make him hate Coach Rake. In Bleachers, Neely Crenshaw must forgive his Coach and face his old teammates after fifteen years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 327 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17