Customer Reviews for

Bleachers

Average Rating 3.5
( 325 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

John Grisham is the best author of today' fiction

Cannot wait to get my hands on Bleachers. Grisham is the best author of all time. my family reads everything he writes.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

English Project

It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was jus...
It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was just the story of a guy who used to play football and is now coming back to town because his coach is in the process of dying. I guess it shows how strong, but hidden are the friendships of the team. How they all went their separate ways after high school but when are called back to the town they can just sit and reminisce about the "good ole' days" when they were on the best team in Spartan history.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Bleachers

    This book was a waste of time and money.I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.it sucked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Boreing book

    John Grisham shoult stick to books about the law. Football "ick" Karebee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Horrible

    Having+been+a+Grisham+fan+since+day+one%2C+I+have+loved+every+book+he+has+written.+That+is+untill+this+one.+It+is+not+close+to+even+good+which+is+sad+to+see.+I+will+continue+to+read+his+works+but+will+reconsider+if+any+more+turn+out+like+this.+No+suspense%2C+no+interesting+characters.+Nothing%21

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Can't Finish It

    I got this book because I had heard that John Grisham is an excellent writer (I had not read any of his other books at the time). I was excited to read it for this reason, and because I am a football player myself, so I would probably become more interested. Well, I started this 229 page book before the summer. I read half of it, almost crying. I wasn't crying because it was sad, but because the book was so bad and so slow and that I knew I had have to finish it before the school year. Put it this way...I haven't read a page since mid-July (it is now late August). I am currently engaged in The Da Vinci Code, which is a phenomenal book. But, if I were you, I would pass on this Grisham novel, don't waste your time on it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2005

    Very Disappointing

    The only two people in the story that were interesting was Nat, the Homosexual bookstore keeper, and the dead coach. Both were very interesting, and I wanted more. Just shows how shallow athletes can be, but not a surprise I'm afraid. But clearly they don't have to be if their story has substance. The surprise was that John Grisham wrote it, or at least has his name on it. He must have let someone else write it for him and put his name on it -- what a shame. If he'd really written it, it would have been interesting -- more meat to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Waste of Time

    Personally I found this book to be a waste of time. I found it to be one of the most boring books I have read since Stephen King's Gerald's Game. I have read and loved everything else he has written so I will give him a break but I hope he gets back to his former self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Poor

    I like this author, however I suggest you get a copy of this particular novel from the library....doesn't come close to meeting his ability as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    Not his best work

    I am not a fan of football and I could barely get through this book...in fact I didn't get through it. I thought it was terrible. First book I did not finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    A Painful Read

    We love Grisham's books and own every one of them but as with 'A Painted House' we found 'Bleachers' to be a painful read. We both finished the book in hopes that it would get better, which it didn't. Save your money, check it out from the library or borrow it from a friend. I wish we had!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Unbelievably boring

    This book has none of what made Grisham a household name. EXTREMELY poor character development tops the list of why you should not bother with this book. An excrutiating scene where an entire second half of a football game is decribed play by play takes up nearly a third of the entire text. Absolutely no climax at all. A poor read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    yawn

    If there was a star below one, then I would rate this dissapointing book with it. I loved all of John Grisham's other books. Wouldn't have finished this one, (and I always finish), except I was waiting for my husband, and didn't have anything else to do for the hour it took to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    What Was He Thinking?

    I have enjoyed reading John Grisham's legal thrillers, but have found his other efforts disappointing, including this one (Painted House, for another). I guess this is the kind of book you can get away with writing once you've 'made it.' This story would have a tough time making it in a college writing class - unless you're a die-hard football fan. Even then, it was largely a yawn. Don't waste your $ or your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    Disappointing stuff !!!

    Disappointing book from John Grisham....for readers who were awaiting a legal action fiction very disappointing... Grisham can defnitely write better than this.....Eagerly awaiting his next book in Feb...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    Last 20 Pages Were Great!

    But the rest, Grisham just didn't have his heart in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Boring beyond belief.

    I have always enjoyed Mr. Grisham's books and picked them up without hesitation. I can assure you that will not be the case the next time I see a new Grisham book on the shelf. A huge waste of time!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Shallow

    Silly, even for being so short, it was too long. Took me weeks to read it when usually I can read a book in a night or two. There really wasn't much to it. NOT on my fave list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    Not up to John Grisham standards

    I could not even finish this book!!! I kept waiting for something to happen and nothing did. John Grisham needs to get back to what made him popular. I won't buy another one of his books until then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    UGH! Boring Drivel

    No mystery, no interest, glory days of tired losers with nothing else to talk about...Al Bundy is more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    TELL ME IT ISN'T SO - JOHN!!

    Please, John (my favorite writer), tell me you really aren't the author of 'Bleachers'! This is not only the worst book Grisham has written, it is the worst book I have ever read. I kept waiting and waiting for something to happen, some type of action or interesting event. It didn't happen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    Terrible Book

    I am shocked that such a great writer can deliver such a poorly crafted novel. I kept waiting for this book to get interesting but it never did. As bad as this book was, I will not give up on my favorite writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3