Customer Reviews for

Bleachers

Average Rating 3.5
( 329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

D-Swans Review at R.A.Long 6th period

What i realy like about this book is not just that it's about football, but becuase it shows things about people that they do but do not see. Howthey get so careless all they want to do is hurt someone, or how we dwell on things. I realy liked how the coach pushed and p...
What i realy like about this book is not just that it's about football, but becuase it shows things about people that they do but do not see. Howthey get so careless all they want to do is hurt someone, or how we dwell on things. I realy liked how the coach pushed and pushed, until he was fired. It truely shows how he feels about his passion for football. He loved football so much if someone died becuase of him he would go on. Anyone who says this it's not worth picking up, needs to check themselfs. I highly recommend this book to read.

posted by D-Swan on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

English Project

It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was jus...
It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was just the story of a guy who used to play football and is now coming back to town because his coach is in the process of dying. I guess it shows how strong, but hidden are the friendships of the team. How they all went their separate ways after high school but when are called back to the town they can just sit and reminisce about the "good ole' days" when they were on the best team in Spartan history.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    English Project

    It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was just the story of a guy who used to play football and is now coming back to town because his coach is in the process of dying. I guess it shows how strong, but hidden are the friendships of the team. How they all went their separate ways after high school but when are called back to the town they can just sit and reminisce about the "good ole' days" when they were on the best team in Spartan history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    Not your typical Grisham

    There is no doubt that Bleachers is not your typical John Grisham book. There is no legal intrigue. There are no courtroom heroics. However, there is a good story here. At 163 pages, this book is closer to a novella than to a novel in length. I read the entire story in one day (I know, pretty lame) and it was a fun read. The story revolves around the return of football star Neely Crenshaw to his home town because of the impending death of his football coach Eddie Rake. Coach Rake made himself a town legend, but a controversial legend to be sure. Players from generations of teams migrate back to the field they played on - each for their own reason - to tell stories of their time in the program, both good and bad. Some see Rake as a hero while others can't shake the man's obvious flaws. But the real story is Neely trying to come to grips with his relationship with Rake - whether to hate him or respect him and the 'incident' kept a secret for 15 years - and the town's reverence for both Rake and Neely over a 'silly game.' The book shines a light on the way sports can become far more than just sport and how people come to grips with their past when they are forced to come back to it. I think Grisham was wise to have written the story as such a short piece. It would have dragged if he attempted to turn it into a 350-page novel. It's nothing fantastic or inspiring, but as it stands, it is a quick, fun read and I enjoyed characters and the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    the best book i ever read

    Bleachers<BR/><BR/>Over all, I really liked reading this book called Bleachers. This book shows leadership and motivation for the game of Football. This book shows a Dynasty which was very famous in the Messina High School. Football players were taught to be tough and never give up, until this coach had to go away from the team. I think that any body would like this book because it is a sad what they do to play football. Especially students who play sports in their lifetime, and understand the game. This book has 211 pages, but they will go by fast. I would rate this book a 3 out of 5 stars overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    Well worth your time and energy/ a must for any sports fan!

    John Grisham stepped out of his "comfort zone" court-room thrillers to the gridiron. Bleachers is a short, but true to life book about the commanding hold of a high school football team on its town and all of its inhabitants. Neely Crenshaw, the once All-American quarterback and hero of Messina, is now a washed-up college drop-out returning to the town that made him. He is not here to start over or even dwell in the past; he is back for legendary coach Eddie Rake's death and funeral. <BR/> All of Messina is mourning. Eddie Rake put their football team on the map with thirteen state championships, four hundred wins, and a number of undefeated streaks. Neely was created by Rake; the superstar quarterback dream began when Coach Rake spotted him in middle school. So why is Neely so bitter towards Coach Eddie Rake? <BR/> The book revolves around Neely's trip back to Messina, the week of Coach's death, his encounters with all of his old friends and family, and his discovery of respect for a man he thought he could never forgive.<BR/> Bleachers is a quick read and very much worth your time. John Grisham paints a picture of what kind of praise goes into a lot of small town high school football teams. In Bleachers, the whole community is linked to the Spartan football team, from police officers to convicts to coffee shop owners. The best part of this book is how the cycle works. All Spartan players walk around like a god the four years they are in high school. When they get out, they realize that it is all they have, which does not seem very fulfilling at that point. Neely analyzes what he is and used to be and he begins to fill up the holes in his life, the result of a career-ending injury in college. I recommend this book to any sports fan along with anybody wanting to get a closer look at small-town life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Not his best book

    I did enjoy the book but like A Painted House it just does not seem to have the same taste as his other books.I hope in the future he stays with the courtroom thrillers.They are his best works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2004

    Not his best work

    I grew up in a small town and I could relate to the closeness that you never lose once you are gone. But I thought that this book was a disappointment compared to Grisham's other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Just Okay

    This novel is good. I suppose for a reader with a background of playing football, it may even be a great novel. However, not having a history of playing football, I found this novel didn't speak to me. The brevity of the novel helped to keep my interest. Overall, I would recommend this novel to sports enthusiasts. I wasn't disappointed with the novel, I just felt out of the loop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    Varsity Blues 20 years in the future

    I thought this book was closely related to the movie Varsity Blues. There were so many similarities that it could be 'Varsity Blues 20 years into the future'. The star quarter back that gets hurt, the coach that everyone feared, yet loved, etc etc etc. This isn't what I was expecting from John Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    A nice, easy to read story

    I'll confess I've never read a Grisham book before, so I can't compare it to the style of his others. But I liked this one. Nothing terribly complicated, just an interesting story that flowed nicely. I would say that it seemed to have a 'made for movie' feel to it, which was a bit uncomfortable at times. And the romantic aspect seemed contrived, but overall, not a bad way to spend an afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Not his best

    Not is best but that was to be expected, Grisham strength is in his legal thrillers. This book did touch me though. If you moving books give The Gravel Drive by Kirk Martin a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    average pos

    it was alright but so quick you dont understand it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Check this one out from the library

    It's a harmless short story in the form of a book. A very easy read with interesting characters but not anything to rave about. If it hadn't been written by John Grisham I probably wouldn't have bothered to pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    It falls short!

    I have read almost all of grishom's books and I am disappointed in this too brief and too weak story about a fallen high school/college player feeling sorry for himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    I enjoyed it

    I am suprised by all of the negative remarks about this book. I really enjoyed this book. I thought it portrayed the experience of high school football very well. I thought that it was a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2003

    Different

    Even though it is not his usual work, John Grisham has written something that will take people back to harder times when they had to face forgiveness....for themselves or others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    OK but like legal thrillers better

    I read this book in one night. It kept you interested but there was no character or plot to follow. I was a little disappointed as I like the legal thrillers better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3