Customer Reviews for

Bleachers

Average Rating 3.5
( 330 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

D-Swans Review at R.A.Long 6th period

What i realy like about this book is not just that it's about football, but becuase it shows things about people that they do but do not see. Howthey get so careless all they want to do is hurt someone, or how we dwell on things. I realy liked how the coach pushed and p...
What i realy like about this book is not just that it's about football, but becuase it shows things about people that they do but do not see. Howthey get so careless all they want to do is hurt someone, or how we dwell on things. I realy liked how the coach pushed and pushed, until he was fired. It truely shows how he feels about his passion for football. He loved football so much if someone died becuase of him he would go on. Anyone who says this it's not worth picking up, needs to check themselfs. I highly recommend this book to read.

posted by D-Swan on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

English Project

It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was jus...
It took me about a week and a weekend to finish Bleachers, a 176 page book. Normally reading 176 pages would take me about 2 days maximum. I don't know why but I just couldn't get into Bleachers. I like football but the story didn't really seem to have a plot it was just the story of a guy who used to play football and is now coming back to town because his coach is in the process of dying. I guess it shows how strong, but hidden are the friendships of the team. How they all went their separate ways after high school but when are called back to the town they can just sit and reminisce about the "good ole' days" when they were on the best team in Spartan history.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    D-Swans Review at R.A.Long 6th period

    What i realy like about this book is not just that it's about football, but becuase it shows things about people that they do but do not see. Howthey get so careless all they want to do is hurt someone, or how we dwell on things. I realy liked how the coach pushed and pushed, until he was fired. It truely shows how he feels about his passion for football. He loved football so much if someone died becuase of him he would go on. Anyone who says this it's not worth picking up, needs to check themselfs. I highly recommend this book to read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Bleachers review

    This book will get your attention form the beginning. The book¿s name is Bleachers by John Grisham. The genre of this book is sports fiction. Bleachers is about old football players that come back to their home town and share the latest scuttlebutts and memories I liked this book because it kept my attention thought the whole book by using cool stories and good vocabulary. John Grisham played football for a Southern Mississippi high school football team. I would give this book a five out of five ratting. What will you give this book?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    John Grisham is the best author of today' fiction

    Cannot wait to get my hands on Bleachers. Grisham is the best author of all time. my family reads everything he writes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Great book

    Short, can be read in one day or less. It spans the nature of those we knew in our grown yup years. Reminds me a lot of my own athletic career. The last 30-40 pages had be in tears to the extent that my shirt was soaked when i finished the book. Got me to read more of Grisham which i had not done before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    The book ┬┐The Bleachers┬┐ is about an all American high school fo

    The book “The Bleachers” is about an all American high school football team. Their coach Rake is dying. If you would steep one foot on his field you would get yelled at so much you would wish u didn’t do it. At the beginning of the practice season he would make the players run the track and they had to run at least 21 laps. If they couldn’t run at least 21 laps they would be taken off the track and they could go back the next day and try again. He was a coach that didn’t like his linemen big and fat. Neely Crenshaw was a quarter back and everyone loved him. When he left for college everyone in the town missed him. He swierd he would never go back to that town as long as his couch was alive. He finally comes back to the field and sits on the bleachers with some of his buddy’s. Their names were Paul, silo, and him. Lots of people were at the field siting on the bleachers talking about their times playing for coach rake. Rabbit turned on the lights and kept them on until couch rake was dead. There was another quarter back there that took Neels number 19 when Neely graduated. He ran 81 laps and set a new school record. It thought the book was really interesting because I like sports and they are just waiting for coach rake to die. I also thought the book was thrilling because you can picture how he ran the players and how he yelled at them to make them a better team. It is taken place in a fictional town called macina. To learn about the last part of the book you can check it out at your school library or you can buy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    One of the best football books ever!

    I always related John Grisham with lawyer thrillers (The Client, The Pelican Brief ect.) but this one surprised me. I read it when someone I worked with had it & loaned it to me. I was enthralled from the get-go, especially when at the time I read it my 10 year high school reunion was right around the corner. While it was in paperback at the time I read it, I purchased it on E-book for my Nook. It's as good now as it was when I read it 9-10 years ago. All the characters were very easy to relate to. It's a good story about fallen glory & regrets, and most importantly, forgiveness.

    All in all this book is right up there with Friday Night Lights when it comes to football, especially high school football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Two thumbs up, ten toes, one knee, and a couple of elbows

    Phenomenal read that everyone can relate to ..... as a player, coach, fan, cheerleader, and even as a non-football supporter. Really hits close to home and brings you back as "The Boys of Fall" song plays in your head. There's a face from your past that matches each character and that makes this book truly relatable to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book.

    Bleachers by John Grisham is a novel focused around football. Neely Crenshaw is an old star quarterback and was one of the best ever to come from Messina High School. He is a legend. But while dominating collegiate football at Tech and an NFL future ahead, Neely is cheaply hit in the knee. Doctors told him that he would never play again. This story is about Neely going back to his hometown almost fifteen years after that to attend the funeral of his high school coach, Eddie Rake.

    Eddie Rake was even more of a legend than Neely was. Through his hard-nosed style of coaching, Rake started and maintained a football dynasty that lasted for decades. It is tough for Neely to come back because of a secret altercation which left Neely hating Coach Rake for years. Neely doesn't know how the town will treat him after his injury shooting down the hopes of a town hero in the NFL and him not returning to his hometown for fifteen years.

    This novel was an interesting and easy read. The whole story line is only four days, but it discusses many different things throughout the book. I liked the book because it was about football, which I play and found very interesting to read about. Another thing I liked was the way Grisham added alternative stories about Neely's love life and him finding out what happened to all of his old teammates. My favorite character was Neely because I like the way he grows and realizes things throughout the novel, and because he was an awesome athlete. I would recommend this book to someone who is interested or involved in sports, particularly football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Bleacher is a touchdown

    A beautifully told story woven through time, Bleachers is a heartfelt tale of the ups and downs Spartans experienced with their driven and determined Coach Rake. The story is told thoughtfully through the mind of All-American Neely Crenshaw. He and other former Spartan football players reunite to observe the passing and remember the glory days of their old football coach. Grisham paints a touching tale and pulls you into every football game and makes you feel every emotion the characters feel. Overall a wonderful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    Bleachers

    This was an outstanding book. I never wanted to put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read

    Although lacking in action, this book provides great insights into the mind of a football player. I read this book in one sitting. Grisham crafts it brilliantly. It's not thrilling like action, but it is thrilling because there are some stories that you wnat to be told.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bleachers By: John Grisham Reviewed by: Christian Payne

    From the beginning readers realize that "bleachers" is a book that in football player can connect to. Because John Grisham can described all of the little details the all athletes know about.

    But if you're looking for a book without life morals just turn away when you come to this book and if you're looking for a book with a little romance between the old football star (Neely Crenshaw) and his broken hearted ex-girl friend and also forgiving a coach which loved and also hated.

    There's much made of John Grisham's portraits of high school football in a small town and how the coach of a good can be more powerful than a mayor in his town. Also how one wrong move can pull that all out from under him.

    The characters in this book vary from a homosexual coffee shop owner to the local chop shop owner. This book has a lot of diversity and for a book based on a small town this is unusual. And this is what makes John Grisham different from other authors.

    Athletes will enjoy reading this book very much with so many twist that you don't know weather to love or hate coach rake at the end of the book you will find that he was just a man that loved football and loved the boys that played for him and regrets the one that he let die.

    None the less if you love rake or hate him at the end of the book you will be amazed by the ways John Grisham shows you how that you can always forgive anyone no matter how long it takes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    This novel transcends football.

    It is more than the sport of football. This novel will interest anyone who has been influenced by a man, or woman, other than his/her own parents. My father was one of these men. He was a coach that owned the town, he was the coach that everyone respected, and he was the coach that taught life lessons. The stories told by these football players echoed the stories I've heard since my father passed. He was a basketball coach yet this book could have been written with him in mind. The lessons we learn from our parents are priceless. Sometimes a person enters your life that affects what you do for the rest of your life. It does not have to be a coach. Grisham uses this vehicle to transport the reader into a world where so much is taught. It has always been said that athletics is an extension of the classroom. That is true at all levels of athletics. Grisham wants the reader to think of the important people in his/her life and to think about the lessons that were learned. Unfortunately, sometimes those lessons aren't positive lessons as the '87 team learned in the locker room. Still, what the team learned, and how they demonstrated that learning, shows the influence another person can have on one's life. In another review I remember reading something about 'this book makes a man cry.' I did at the end. I still hear from some of my father's former players. I will have a copy of this book for each of them with a message from our family to theirs. This is a must read for any man or woman who has been influenced by another person and misses being able to tell that person how important they have been.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Great Tradition

    Bleachers is a great book that I really loved to read. John Grisham did a wonderful job writing this book. This book is about a guy named Neely Crenshaw, and in this book Nelly comes back to the little town of Messina. He came back because his coach, Eddie Rake, was dying. When he came back he met up with some of his friends from the 1987 State Championship game. The funny thing was he never visited his coach while he was sick lying in bed. Most of the other players didn¿t visit him either. They all met up at their football stadium, and they talked to each other about the glory days when they played football. They also talked about the great teams before them and how good they were. Then one of the nights they came back one of his friends found a tape of the 87 championship game, and on that same night Coach Rake died. When Neely came home he was trying to figure out whether he loved his coach or if he hated Coach Rake because he made them run until they were throwing up and about ready to throw up. One time he killed a kid because he ran him so hard. He is trying to choose but even though he was tough on them he won the games and in his career he won thirteen state titles. So does Neely love him or hate him? You will have to read it to find out. A flaw of this book is that it is really slow and a little boring at the beginning, but once you get a few chapters read the book really gets good. I really can relate to this book because at our school we had a very successful coach and team for a lot of years. I think this book was really good and hard to put down. I hope you enjoy this book and my review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    One Coach, 10000 Spartans

    Neely Crenshaw was a high school All-American quarterback who played for the Messina Spartans. During Neely¿s high school career, he had a top notch team and the meanest and the best coach in the state of Texas, coach Eddi Rack. Neely was probably the best player in Messina history. After high school, Neely went to play collage football for Texas A&M, but his career veered toward disaster when a line backer took a cheep shot at Neely and ruined his knee. Now after fifteen years the Messina All-American comes back to see his ill-fated coach. While Neely is in town he meets up with some old friends and team mates. Neely and his friends sit in the old football bleachers thinking about their glory days as high school football stars waiting to hear about Rake. This book had some good things and it also had some bad things. One thing that I liked about the book was that it was told by Neely, so it made it clearer how he felt and what he was thinking. I also liked how the book was about football and how Neely and his friends talked about their games. One thing that I didn¿t like was the book didn¿t contain much action in it, because all they did was set on the bleachers and talked about their old games. I also didn¿t like how when they were talking about something it was hard to tell who was talking. ¿Bleachers¿ in not part of a series, but the author of the book dose have other books. This book reminded me of the movies Friday Night Lights, and Varsity Blues. If you like books that are about football or just about sports in general than I think that you would really enjoy this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Glory Days

    Neely Crenshaw was the greatest quarterback to wear a Spartan jersey and he is finally returning to Messina after fifth-teen years to bury his former head coach, Eddie Rake. Rake was the head coach of the Spartans for thirty fou years, and achieved 418 wins, 13 state titles, and a winning streak of 84 straight games. Now, as their coach fights off death, Rake¿s ¿boys¿, former Spartan football players, sit in the bleachers reliving the glory days and sharing memories of Rake. The question going through each of the boy¿s minds though is whether they hated or loved Eddie Rake. Bleachers, is the greatest sports book that I have ever read. I enjoyed this book so much because I was able to relate to the story. Messina is almost a replica of my hometown, Versailles. Versailles is a small town that worships football the same as Messina. Another similarity is that Versailles football has also had a famous head coach who did marvelous things, Al Hetrick. In Al¿s 34 years of coaching at Versailles High School he has led us to 6 state titles 326 wins and an overall record of 325-93-4. Bleachers is definitely classified as a sports book. If you are a football fan then you must read this book. Even more so, if you attend Versailles High School then this is the right book for you! Unfortunately, this book is not part of a series. It was written by John Grisham and it what I believe to be his best book. For those of you who have read Matt Christopher in the past then you should also try Bleachers. I guarantee that you will enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Although I mainly read nonfiction books, it was a real treat to be captured by the words and subplots within Bleachers. By the time you are in your 50s, many folks have had a 'Coach Rake', the deceased football coach, in their lives, making it easy to relate personally to the story line. Also, since most people reading this book have attended high school, one can appreciate the petty antics from HS that classmates remember many years after the fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Amazing

    The usual pity of the foot ball player disgusts me but not in this book this book captured my attention. I was obsessed and found my self reading at all times. A great and true book. This book is about nothing special it deals with everyday events wonderfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Incredible

    The book bleachers is about an all american quarterback that returns to his home town after a few years to find out what he has missed out on. Neely Crenshaw is his name and he was supposed to be one of the best players to reach the NFL but was stopped one game due to a cheap shot. In this book you'll find mystery and passion for a game that in a town of 8,000 comes to see and the stadium has sold 10,000 tickets. If you read this novel you won't wanna put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    tarzan a small town high school girl who doesn't finish anything

    I have never read a book by this author but to tell you the truth I loved this book. I read half of it in one night during the chilly summer night. I got my blanket, pillows and a chair and sat out on my porch until about 12:30 at night. I am a slow reader I usually don¿t finish a thing. The reason I sat out side is because it is peaceful and I could picture the book better. I don¿t finish a book at all but this one I did. It was a book for me to read. I love sports. It is a good background to my hometown. I play a lot of sports even football that¿s right a girl that plays football wouldn¿t you know. I have to say this is one of the best books I¿ve ever read or started to read. If I like it I finish it. I have read that book about three times now and it has inspired me to read more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6