Customer Reviews for

Bleeding Violet

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One word will do it....CRAZY!

Bleeding Violet is the most bizarre and amazing book I have read this year. I am not exaggerating when I say that you will literally be reading this book and suddenly say "What the F$*&?!" out loud. This town that Dia has created (Portero, Texas) is full of monsters (to...
Bleeding Violet is the most bizarre and amazing book I have read this year. I am not exaggerating when I say that you will literally be reading this book and suddenly say "What the F$*&?!" out loud. This town that Dia has created (Portero, Texas) is full of monsters (too many to even mention), a suicide door, portals to other locations, and a very shady history. This town has enough crazy to go around...enter Hanna.

Hanna is crazy...no literally she is crazy. She is a little strange and hallucinating about her dead father is just the icing on the cake. Hanna is obsessed with purple (hence the title). She even makes her own purple dresses and never goes out in anything but one of her dresses and a pair of heels. Hanna comes to Portero to keep from being sent to an institution. When Hanna shows up on her Rosalie's (her mother's) door step it is clear that Hanna is not welcome. But Hanna is stubborn and will not take no for an answer.

When Hanna starts school she immediately realizes that there is defiantly something strange about this town. Why does everybody wear black? Why does everyone wear earplugs in class? Oh but wait, not everybody is in all black. Wyatt appears on the scene in all of his gorgeousness wearing a lovely shade of green and kicking some major monster butt. Hanna is immediately determined to become a fixture in his life.

Turns out, Wyatt is a member of a group called the Mortmaine, a group of hunters that protects Portero. Despite all of the killing, fighting, and literally being eaten going on it is amazing that Hanna and Wyatt find time to fit romance into the mix. I feel the need to once again say how incredibly insane this book is (wait until you read the naked by the lake scene) but it is also amazing once you finish it. Oh and the cover art is fantastic! How can you not pick it up off the shelf? FYI - this book is more mature then your average YA book. Hanna and Wyatt have a sexual relationship and some scenes are a little bloody/graphic. If you love it as much as I did you will be happy to know that Dia Reeves is releasing another book set in the crazy town of Portero, Texas. Slice of Cherry will be out January 2011! New characters same crazy town! I cant wait!

http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

posted by acsimps on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very strange

This book is very strange but also very good. Its about a girl who is bipoler, She runs away to a new town to find her mother, and also to escape from her aunt who was going to put her in a pyche-ward. What happens in the town? You're gonna have to find out yourself, le...
This book is very strange but also very good. Its about a girl who is bipoler, She runs away to a new town to find her mother, and also to escape from her aunt who was going to put her in a pyche-ward. What happens in the town? You're gonna have to find out yourself, lets just say I didn't see it comeing. I would reccomend this book to anyone who think's all teen books are the same.

posted by Bookwormalltheway on December 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One word will do it....CRAZY!

    Bleeding Violet is the most bizarre and amazing book I have read this year. I am not exaggerating when I say that you will literally be reading this book and suddenly say "What the F$*&?!" out loud. This town that Dia has created (Portero, Texas) is full of monsters (too many to even mention), a suicide door, portals to other locations, and a very shady history. This town has enough crazy to go around...enter Hanna.

    Hanna is crazy...no literally she is crazy. She is a little strange and hallucinating about her dead father is just the icing on the cake. Hanna is obsessed with purple (hence the title). She even makes her own purple dresses and never goes out in anything but one of her dresses and a pair of heels. Hanna comes to Portero to keep from being sent to an institution. When Hanna shows up on her Rosalie's (her mother's) door step it is clear that Hanna is not welcome. But Hanna is stubborn and will not take no for an answer.

    When Hanna starts school she immediately realizes that there is defiantly something strange about this town. Why does everybody wear black? Why does everyone wear earplugs in class? Oh but wait, not everybody is in all black. Wyatt appears on the scene in all of his gorgeousness wearing a lovely shade of green and kicking some major monster butt. Hanna is immediately determined to become a fixture in his life.

    Turns out, Wyatt is a member of a group called the Mortmaine, a group of hunters that protects Portero. Despite all of the killing, fighting, and literally being eaten going on it is amazing that Hanna and Wyatt find time to fit romance into the mix. I feel the need to once again say how incredibly insane this book is (wait until you read the naked by the lake scene) but it is also amazing once you finish it. Oh and the cover art is fantastic! How can you not pick it up off the shelf? FYI - this book is more mature then your average YA book. Hanna and Wyatt have a sexual relationship and some scenes are a little bloody/graphic. If you love it as much as I did you will be happy to know that Dia Reeves is releasing another book set in the crazy town of Portero, Texas. Slice of Cherry will be out January 2011! New characters same crazy town! I cant wait!

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Bleeding Violet

    Dark and enchanting. This book was amazing and interesting and romantic. The book had surprises and twist and it was very different from what I usually read. This book ended to where I didn't need another book although I wouldn't mind there being another. The characters were shown great in the book and I loved everything about the main character even her hallucinations which were actually pretty cool. This book is something you would definetly want to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Pretty awesome

    Very entertaining. Dont listen to the negative reveiws. Their just haters. If ur a person that liikes spooky books youll love this!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Crazy Good!!

    Okay let me start by saying this book was AMAZING!!! The main character, Hanna, is crazy...literally crazy! I could not put this book down! I finished it in one day and I totally recommend it for anyone who likes books that are fast paced, has a lot of paranormal stuff and a little love story thrown in. Definitely fun and worth the money!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Lovveee this book !!!!

    I love this book i have read it many times and not once has it bored me :) Its a MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wild, crazy fun

    Remember when I said how excited I was to review this one? Remember? Well. I lied. This book is actually a pain in the rear end to review, because is just so darn weird. And in my book in YA at the moment, with dozens and dozens and dozens of books that start to look exactly the same, weird = awesome. This is the kind of book I'd recommend to my special friends, the ones who understand that just because I read a book about a girl who decides to paint the walls with her own blood does not mean I should be committed to a psych ward. The ones who would understand the deep and indestructible bond that has been forged between me and Portero in this book and would fantasize about all the ways we'd prove our non-transy-pants-ness to Hanna, Wyatt, and the rest of the Porterenes when we move there. Seriously, while I don't do "best-of" lists - there are just too many factors at play - if I had to do a "most memorable" list, this book would blow the competition out of the water.

    The other reason I can't review a book like this? Every time I start thinking of something bad to say about it, my brain counteracts it with wild admiration of Dia Reeves's bravery in writing this. It's the Donnie Darko of the book world, violent, uncomfortable, just plain effed up. Unlike Donnie Darko, it's also very sexy, which considering that nine out of ten challenged books were challenged for sexual content, is the more dangerous move on the part of the author. I wouldn't exactly recommend that all sixteen-year-olds run around and be as crazy as Hanna by any means - it sure isn't a moral handbook - but it's utterly fresh in its daring, and the repressed rebel inside of me loved it.

    Also, Finland! A bicultural, biracial protagonist! Love! I finished reading this book, and even though she never even mentioned lefse I had to go have some. And then I lamented the fact that we don't have a sauna. I'm a Caucasian melting pot, and if there was one particular cultural identity I'd emphasize, it would absolutely be Finland, even though pigs will fly before I learn the language. My vocabulary currently consists of two words. Anyway, thank you Dia Reeves for giving that a shout-out in Hanna's character. If I was the kind of person who said squee - which, of course, I'm not - I would totally be squeeing right now.

    It's not the most well-written book I've read this year, but it's definitely one of the most wild, crazy, and fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Great YA Horror

    BLEEDING VIOLET, by Dia Reeves, is a graphic and horrifying book about a town in Texas and a girl who stands on her own to fit in. The town of Portero (Spanish to English translation= Doorman), houses people who are not afraid of the unknown creatures of other worlds. There are doorways in this town that open to unimaginable terrors.

    Hanna is special girl. She has multiple ailments of the brain that no doctor can correctly diagnose. She is prescribed different pills for her symptoms, such as hallucinations. She moves to Portero to live with her estranged mother after her father passes away. Hanna's mixed up head makes her fit in better because she is not surprised by things that are beyond normal. I really got a kick out of Hanna. This book was strange in itself, so it needed a strong (and strange) character to make it believable. It took a few chapters for me to get the hang of her mentality but she definitely has a place in my heart now. Hanna and Wyatt made for a different kind of couple. In a way they were two halves of a whole. It was sweet that he accepted her so quickly after seeing how she reacted to the abnormal events in the town.

    Reeves is definitely a mastermind of creativity. The 'creatures' that Hanna and Wyatt came up against stretched my imagination to the limit. I loved how they became a dynamic duo in battling against those not from our world. Reeves put a lot into one book but she did it so perfectly when incorporating a killer plot into the mix. This is definitely a great book to explore waaay outside a typical YA comfort zone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    Very strange

    This book is very strange but also very good. Its about a girl who is bipoler, She runs away to a new town to find her mother, and also to escape from her aunt who was going to put her in a pyche-ward. What happens in the town? You're gonna have to find out yourself, lets just say I didn't see it comeing. I would reccomend this book to anyone who think's all teen books are the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    It was very strange, and not at all what I was expecting, but I

    It was very strange, and not at all what I was expecting, but I loved it.  Can't wait to read Slice of Cherry now. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Bleading VIolet

    This book wraps up all kind of emotions such as family love and hatred.this is a great mystery book. I personaly love all of her books and hopes she writes more. If you loved this book then you should cheak out "Slice of Cherry"!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Just like her first book slice of cherry, dia reeves has one aga

    Just like her first book slice of cherry, dia reeves has one again blew my mind and made another book to love. It has concept and is so good. I loved hannah and her mother and all the characters. and i love the fact that all of her books include lovable, twisted (in a good way) characters and a perfect misterious little town. Die reeves is by far my fsvorite author :) keep writing em girl!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Awesome Book!!!

    A little weird @ times, but still a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Love it

    This book is amazing nd now that i have the nook its even better love love love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Cool

    From what i read from the preview, i defintely want to read it.
    But we've got to agree , hanna is kinda crazy. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Nightmares at their Best

    Bleeding Violet is one book you will love. Dia Reeves has earned the title for being my favorite author. Although she has only released two books, Bleeding Violet and Slice of Cherry, I have read both books and absolutely fallen in love with them, i anticipate another great 3rd book about another crazy girl spinning Portero more upside down than it already is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Crazy, disturbing... I love it.

    i actually enjoyed this book. A mixture of Alice in Wonderland with A hint of Twilight Zone. Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    UMMMMM...............

    OK this book was strange, the plot was kinda weird and I slightly hated the main character. But Dia Reeves other book(Slice of Cherry) was pretty good so I recommend that. The plot was kinda scattered and the character's actions kinda make you mad. It was hard to get through, I had to stop and not read for a couple days then force myself to read the rest. But if you like REALLY REALLY weird and messed up stuff then read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Dissapointment

    BIG DISSAPOINTMENT the storyline was horrible it made no sense the characters were worse hannah was an obsessive psychotic brat and her mom was weird too everything was all over the place it was a mess. Dont waste youre money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Hated Hannah

    The plot and setting of this story was so chaotic it was like putting every paranormal character and every paranormal scenario in a blender and turning it on high speed without the lid on. Hannah was unique but she was also annoying. There is a reason most books aren't told from the perspective of an unreliable narrator, and that's because it gets tiring. The whole swan thing was so ridiculous and childish and it made Hannah seem so much younger than she really was that when she was being slutty I was really disturbed. That was another thing. Hannah was kind of slutty when you think about it, she was always pushing herself on Wyatt and trying to use her physical appearance and her body to make people like her. But on top of all of this I visited Dia Reeve's website and I have to say, she seems like a total witch. The way she addresses her readers on her website is so condescending and rude. She obviously doesn't care about being liked or even reaching out to the people who are buying her books and therefore paying her rent, her utility bills, and lets face it, braces are expensive. She should be a little more gracious and thank her readers for all of their support rather than insult them. I'm sorry but I'm not going to care about an author who doesn't care about her readers. Maybe she was trying to be sarcastic and funny but but it didn't work. I won't be purchasing any more of her books or supporting her in any way in the future

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review of Bleeding Violet by Great Imaginations

    Bleeding Violet was a very strange book. But it was also a fantastic book! I don't have a lot to say about this one, it was just a very demented read. It was gory, bloody, and very suspenseful. A lot of the plot events that occurred, sometimes didn't even have a reason for occurring. Some of it didn't even make a whole lot of sense.

    At first I wasn't sure if I was going to like it. I think it took me about 80 pages for me to decide I was going to finish it. I am glad I made that decision.

    This was one of those books where you couldn't really trust the narrator. Because Hanna was nuts. Or at least she used to be. But is she still? She comes to the town of Portero to find her mother. And her mother is nuts too. And all of the hallucinations that Hanna was suffering from come to life. And then suddenly they aren't hallucinations anymore. Because there are some strange things that go on in this town. There are monsters and ghosts, and what I couldn't figure out is, if this is such a dangerous and crazy town to live in, then why don't people just leave? That question was never answered by the way.

    It was a good book, it just wasn't mind-blowing. It was definitely different. In a genre where plots are getting tired, and there really isn't a lot of uniqueness left, the author managed to find some. She's got another book, and I intend to read it at some point. I think she's a great author, I just wish I understood her motivations for writing so strangely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5