Customer Reviews for

Blessed Event

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Wonderful book

    Wonderful book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    A good bargain book

    I got this from the bargain table. It was pretty good once you get past the first part of finding everything out. You basically need to read this with an open mind. I did find the changing timelines confusing at first, but it was pretty good. I finished it within a few days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Save Your Money, and Even Your Library Card

    I should preface this by saying my expecations were probably much too high going into this read. I wish now that I'd waited for the paperback; it'd be on my shelf, but there'd also be a bit more money in my wallet. I give it 2 stars because I can at least appreciate the author's time and effort. The character's emotions were, at the very least, predictable. No doubt a story was told, but the prose lacked that fine touch. Will I buy the next Jean Reynolds Page novel? Not before reading the ENTIRE first chapter BN offers as a courtesy. I normally don't take issue with a novel taking the see-saw in time approach, but as I struggled through this one (which alternates between 1983 & 1973) I found myself skipping the 1973 chapters--just didn't care. Had I read this before the likes of Jodi Picoult, Ann Marie MacDonald, or Wally Lamb I might not have been so critical. But alas, I have read the works of these greats.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    amazing

    an outstanding read, truly surprising, the intellectual depth yet charming characters combine for a truly worthwhile novel. Bravo Page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    Not very satisfying - lacked something.

    I would love to say that I found this storyline appealing, but I felt the writing was choppy. It was very distracting to alternate each chapter between past (1973) and present (1983). It lacked a consistency that made it flow. After reading all the other reviews, I'm not sure that I was reading the same book. I just didn't commit to Darla and Jo the way that some of the other readers did. I found Darla's husband weak and sleazy, and liked him even less when he refused to be a father to his son. This part of the storyline didn't make any sense to me. And by the end of the book, you wondered if Jo was afraid or just mean. The ending left me cold - the writer tidied up things way too fast and left me wanting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    A Fine Debut, Well-Written and Wise

    The readers of 'A Blessed Event' are in more than capable hands with Jean Reynolds Page in her fine debut novel. The book covers rugged moral terrain that Page, much to her credit, makes no attempt to pretty-up, but presents warts and all. Darla and Joanne, the central characters, share a lifelong, twin-like closeness, and by the book's end we have seen both of them make bad decisions as well as good, arrived at through weakness as well as strength--but always with deep love. Their mistakes--and there are lots of them--are the mistakes that good people make when they understand the consequences of their actions too little and too late; when they long for things too much; and when they desire outcomes for each other that in reality can't be had. The pacing of 'A Blessed Event' is excellent, the characters finely drawn, the blending of flashback and present well-controlled and seamless, the story original and compelling. I strongly recommend this book as a brisk and satisfying read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    Who could survive this friendship?

    When I was about one quarter of the way through this tale of the friendship between Joanne Timbro and Darla Stevens, I wondered whether men are ever this close. About three-fourths of the way through, I wondered why anyone would want such a friendship and whether anyone could survive it. This story is thoroughly captivating and eventually comes to a satisfying and hopeful conclusion. The characters and events are often not quite as they seem at first, and the description of life in Alliance, Texas circa 1973-1983 is entirely realistic. Strong recommendation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1