Customer Reviews for

The Blessing Way (Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

suspense in navajoland

With the Arizona Sunsets, the Sandstone Cliffs, and miles of sheep country comes a mystery that will leave you in suspense and guessing how to solve a murder in indian country. Tony Hillerman brings Navajoland to life, and writes the book you just can't put down.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not Hillerman's Best

I've read all the Leaphorn-Chee novels, but had I started at the beginning with "The Blessing Way" (the first Leaphorn novel), I may not have gone any further.

I thoroughly enjoy a good, well-written mystery, and most of Hillerman's work is quite enjoyable. But this ...
I've read all the Leaphorn-Chee novels, but had I started at the beginning with "The Blessing Way" (the first Leaphorn novel), I may not have gone any further.

I thoroughly enjoy a good, well-written mystery, and most of Hillerman's work is quite enjoyable. But this one is a bit below par. Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn is not even the central character and is only involved in a cursory manner.

And although I like the way Hillerman weaves Navajo mysticism into his plotting, "The Blessing Way" was predominantly navajo lore with a (somewhat shallow) mystery thrown in.

The plot in itself was never enough to engage me fully, and the character development that is done so well in Hillerman's subsequent Leaphorn novels is just not quite there yet.

But if this is your first Hillerman novel, don't give up; some of those that follow are among the best mysteries I've ever read.

posted by BJVPhilly on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Not Hillerman's Best

    I've read all the Leaphorn-Chee novels, but had I started at the beginning with "The Blessing Way" (the first Leaphorn novel), I may not have gone any further.

    I thoroughly enjoy a good, well-written mystery, and most of Hillerman's work is quite enjoyable. But this one is a bit below par. Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn is not even the central character and is only involved in a cursory manner.

    And although I like the way Hillerman weaves Navajo mysticism into his plotting, "The Blessing Way" was predominantly navajo lore with a (somewhat shallow) mystery thrown in.

    The plot in itself was never enough to engage me fully, and the character development that is done so well in Hillerman's subsequent Leaphorn novels is just not quite there yet.

    But if this is your first Hillerman novel, don't give up; some of those that follow are among the best mysteries I've ever read.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    suspense in navajoland

    With the Arizona Sunsets, the Sandstone Cliffs, and miles of sheep country comes a mystery that will leave you in suspense and guessing how to solve a murder in indian country. Tony Hillerman brings Navajoland to life, and writes the book you just can't put down.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT

    I saw this in the bookstore over ten years ago and loved the original artwork. I bought it, loved the book, and went back to the store and bought every book of the series available at that time.

    I still have every single book in the Navajo Series and have read them all at least three times.

    I miss Tony Hillerman very, very much! :(

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Leaphorn fans, don't bother!

    Am a big fan of chee and Leaphorn so wanted to get the first in the series to get their story lines from the beginning. This book is too many incidental characters, too many myths, too many ceremonies, too many locations -- "name" overload! Up to page 51, very little Leaphorn, no Chee. Too exhausting to finish! Still love Hillerman amd series, but will get some later books in the series. Maybe they won't be so frustrating.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Another great Hillerman story. I love the work that Tony Hiller

    Another great Hillerman story. I love the work that Tony Hillerman produced. The incorporation of Navajo history, beliefs, and modern life on the reservation add reality and interest to his stories. The Blessing Way continuous this in a very good story. This was a "can't put it down" book for me. If you haven't read his Chee/Leephorn books, you need to do it. I love having Joe Leaphorn questioning his own normally cynical view of Navajo spiritualiity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Navajo cultural references were interesting but...

    It took much too long to get to the point. Leaphorn was not present in the story much, he was the most engaging character and it would have been more interesting if he was more involved. I found myself skimming impatiently to finish some sections. Probably won't read another of this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    The first of the series abd a good start

    I think he was going to have a different hero and then the other characters took over as the books continued wish they had made more movies llove the land but sure wouldnt want to live there by the mississippi

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Loved them all

    Read them all and loved them all tony passed away several years ago learned a lot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    If you haven't read the Chee & Leaphorn mysteries yet, you'r

    If you haven't read the Chee & Leaphorn mysteries yet, you're in for a treat. Hillerman's skillfull wriitng makes you feel like you really know these people, and gives you a window into the Navajo cultue.
    Wonderful reading for any mystery fans. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    thoroughly enjoyable read

    This book really sucked me into the storyline and I couldn't put it down for three days! I definitely recommend it if you like mysteries and are interested in Navajo culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    Good read.

    Start of a great series. Will miss Tony's wonderful imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Confusing

    Too much detail about info not relevant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    yes

    for those who like crime mysteries, and personalities this is a good genre. I really like tony hillerman, his stories are clean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    Love Hillerman's books and this one meets all expectations. Goo

    Love Hillerman's books and this one meets all expectations. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very confusing - possibly due to being abridged.

    I had high hopes for the Blessing Way, since I had heard this series was similar to the Longmire books. However, I was extremely confused when there was no setting provided: state, city, occupation, relationships. Possibly when the books were abridged too much was cut out, although I have never experienced that problem before. I kept feeling like I had started watching a movie half way through - totally lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    uninteresting

    This book did not hold my attention. Hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Love it.

    Gtreat first book. Love the geography and Navaho lore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Good book

    This book took me a while to get into but overall it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Richly Detailed Anthropological Mystery

    The first in Hillerman's Leaphorn/Chee series (originally published in 1970) is a story rich with mythology and spirituality. The characters are complex and the descriptions of the landscape are detailed. There is no swearing, no sex, and no gruesome violence; just a slowly building tension as Leaphorn and McKee move closer to solving the mystery.

    Highly recommended, especially to fans of the Longmire series by Johnson. -- lyradora

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5