BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Blessing of a Skinned Knee: Using Jewish Teachings to Raise Self-Reliant Children

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Please-skip that Tiger Mother nonsense and read this book!

    I love the way this book it written- very nonjudgmental.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Beautiful and Practical

    This book is not just for those of Jewish faith; it is for parents everywhere seeking practical advice. Mogel's writing style is beautiful to read and her insights are a true gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BEST parenting book I have read! Suitable for all religions !

    I loved this book so much that I buy a copy for all expectant moms that I know. It is easy to get frustrated while parenting and this makes you put life into perspective and forces you to look at all those irritating things that happen as blessings. Instead of focusing on what a child can't do, you look at the lesson that teaches you and how to focus on the positive. This book is very relevant for todays parents and is applicable to any religion or background. I continue to re read this book as a reference. You will love this book. In fact I am online now ordering another copy for one of my kids teachers who is expecting her first baby soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    Relevant and Informing

    Although my family is not Jewish, reading 'Blessings of a Skinned Knee' gave me a new perspective on the various ways of raising children. Having three kids myself, I need all the help I can get, and found this book a great guide.<BR/><BR/>No time to read the whole book? Check out the 8 page summary at parentsdigest.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST For All Parents - Even If You're Not Jewish!

    I loved this book. It offers down to earth advice, some of which has been lost among this generation of parents. She advocates for a parenting style that isn't harsh or unmerciful toward children, but also one that sets a foundation for training up a child to be a resilient and good human being. Maybe it's simply my personal views, but I really feel as if she pin points very important things we need the future generation to learn.

    The only thing I had a hard time with was some of her religious theology in the last chapter, but it was easy enough to look past. Even within what I consider to be mistaken religious views, she had great advice that I 100% stand by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Katie

    "Hmm lets see. I need 5 Poitions,6 Pokeballs,1 Antidote,and a FireStone."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Pokeshop

    Everything you need for a pokemon.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    READ BEFORE BUYING

    This is certainly a blessing. This is a must have for your family, which teaches the concepts of the Torah or the Ten Commandments. I also have suggestions for a complementary addition to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2