Customer Reviews for

Blessings

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful, poignant book!

This book will be one that you will reach for even after it's over. The story is beautiful and the characters are flawed in an endearing way. I read this in snatches (small children at home) but it was wonderful and SO easy to "get back into.":-) At one point it made...
This book will be one that you will reach for even after it's over. The story is beautiful and the characters are flawed in an endearing way. I read this in snatches (small children at home) but it was wonderful and SO easy to "get back into.":-) At one point it made me cry and my 4 year old couldn't understand how a book can make you cry - keep the tissues handy. It is a story you will be glad you read! The book makes you feel like you are there - beautifully written and incredible descriptions of a home past it's prime.:-) Enjoy and pass it on - well worth the read!

posted by idahoc on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

BORING! BORING! BORING!

I have started this book FOUR times, and cannot get into it! Quindlen needs a good editor, who will separate the wheat from the chaff...break up some of the rambling sentences, for starters. One sentence was 50 words long, another was 83! An 83 word SENTENCE! That's...
I have started this book FOUR times, and cannot get into it! Quindlen needs a good editor, who will separate the wheat from the chaff...break up some of the rambling sentences, for starters. One sentence was 50 words long, another was 83! An 83 word SENTENCE! That's ludicrous! Yes, I found the book so boring that I resorted to counting words in sentences! I don't know HOW this book ever made the NY Times Best Seller list!

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    Fails to deliver

    I bought the book on a whim, and I was greatly disappointed. I finished it, but it was tough. The idea is riveting, but the author fails to deliver the twists with a dramatic flare. Therefore, the portions where readers should be shocked, fall with an anticlimatic bang. Another problem was the description in the book. She described the scenes to the point of obsurdity. At times I found myself reading on and on about chairs.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    unbelievable premise

    It was difficult to believe that the caretaker would want to raise the infant and the author failed to explain this. Also there was too much going back and forth from the past to the present which made the reading choppy. I was disappointed since I had just finished reading Black and Blue by the same author and thought that was very good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Disappointing

    It was difficult to believe that a young man wanted to raise a baby that he found on the steps to his apartment. The story seemed far-fetched and I had a hard time finishing the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Fair

    Not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    I agree, BORING!

    I've enjoyed Anna Quindlin's columns in the NY Times, but haven't really liked her books so far...keep hoping that she'll be a little more realistic in the future. (But, in saying that, I was very disappointed when the baby in the story was returned to her birth mother!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    One to help you sleep!

    I like to read to wind down before I go to sleep at night, most books take a week or two, this one took me three months, I just couldn't get into it, and I can't start a new book until I finish the current book I'm reading. Pretty boring. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    Boring!!!

    I hate not finishing a book, but this one I just can't stay awake while reading it! Sorry, way tooooooo boring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Disappointing

    I started to read the book and had a hard time continuing. It was hard to believe a young man would want to raise a baby that he found on the steps to his apartment. Come on -- it was too unbelivable and turned me off. I had a hard time finishing the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Can't even finish it now...

    Thank you BN reviewers! I am STRUGGLING to finish this book, I keep hoping it will get better - over half way done and I am putting it down. I was told once, 'there are too many WONDERFUL books in the world to waste your time with one less than wonderful.' Thanks to you, I know there is no light at the end of the tunnel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    too wordy, good story but it went nowhere.........

    I have read Anna Quindlen books before but this one was very wordy. It seemed like she had a good story but it went nowhere. I found that I really had to stop and think about the characters because at times it was very hard to follow. We read this book for our book club and on the whole it was decided we would not reccommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    What a let down!

    I was enjoying ... no, loving, the book just fine until the end. I was left with such an empty heart as the final pages drew to a close. Kind of felt like it was a slap in the face to the word "Blessing".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    A Disappointment

    I was drawn to the book based upon the author's previous work. I even went so far as to recommend the book for my Book Club. I am sorry I did so. The book was quite disappointing. The plot unfolded very slowly in a plodding style with characters I really did not care about. The only "blessing" for me is when I finished the book and could then read something more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1