Customer Reviews for

Blessings

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Wonderfully Written

    I thought the book related to whats going on with women in general. I didn't really like the first chapter but the rest of the book was wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Touching Story!

    My friend and I share books, and this is one of the books that she gave to me to read. I must say, it was slow in the beginning, but it had some very funny moments! It made me laugh and cry. The ending was a total shock. This is a definate must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    outstanding

    this book was very good and it is worth reading every page the characters felt so real that plot was good all the characters went threw a struggle and the book kept u satisfied

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    EXCELLENT

    THIS BOOK WAS A JOY TO READ. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. THE CHARACTERS HELD MY ATTENTION, AND THE PLOT WAS SO INTERESTING THAT I HAD TO JUST KEEP READING TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPEN NEXT. I WAS ABLE TO CONNECT WITH THIS BOOK AND ESPECIALLY WITH THE CHARACTER SANDY. YOU NEVER NOW WHAT LIFE HAS INSTORED FOR YOU. BUT IF YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL HUSBAND AND GREAT FRIENDS YOU ARE SURE TO WEATHER ANY STORM. I ENCOURAGE EVERYONE TO READ THIS BOOK. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. I CAN'T WAIT TO READ HER OTHER BOOKS. DARLENE GINN-HARGROVE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2002

    Wonderful

    This book was truly one I enjoyed, I would love to read her following books to come. I encourage everyone to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2001

    Sheneska's Books are HIP AND FUN TO READ

    I couldn't tear myself away from this book. When i read the plot i thought oh no another Waiting to Exhale but Ms. Jackson has her own unique style which includes flair and sass. I could connect to each chapter and found my self nodding my head as i read things that were so true about us black women i would recommend this book to men and women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Blessings Is A True Pleasure!

    'Blessings' by Sheneska Jackson is most certainly a blessing to read! This enchanting story is based around four women who work at a hair salon in Los Angeles. Pat, the store's owner discovers she is infertile and with the help of her husband, Mark, starts a long and hard journey to adopting a child. Faye, a biracial, widowed, mother of two tries to come to terms with her daughter's wild, reckless ways and a son who will never know his father. Zuma is a hip young woman who's past has come back to haunt her and makes her decide to become pregnant. Finally, there's Sandy, an ex-stripper also called White Chocolate, who's number one passion in life is mistreating her kids. The characters in this story are sympathetic and believable. The plot is also fast-paced and well-planned. There are no boring places in the book so it will certainly keep your attention. If you're reading this review, you've got to get yourself a copy. It is not to be missed! Theresa Harbinger

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2000

    Touching story

    I also enjoyed reading this book...I could relate to each character...It was very well written..thumbs up to Ms. Jackson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2000

    It was a Blessing to read Blessings

    I love this book! It made me laugh, cry and just gave a whole mixture of emotions. I recommend it to anyone who loves a good book. Because it is definitely that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    The 'BLESSINGS' are within the pages!

    I finished reading BLESSINGS, and feel that is was a powerhouse in the fashion of any soap opera on television today. The characters interacted like they were real, the dialogue was like what I hear from my sister and her friends, and the book proved that what one may consider a blessing may be a burden to others. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    THIS BOOK WAS THE BOMB!!!

    All of it could be related to, including the end when she got the baby. Especially if you've ever gone to an African American hair salon. It was so realistic throughout that I had to read it twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    KEEP DOIN' IT GIRL!

    ONCE AGAIN I MUST SAY THAT MS. JACKSON HAS CAPTURD MY ATTENTION. I CAN'T WAIT TO READ HER NEXT NOVEL. CONTINUE TO BE THE BEST, BECAUSE SHENESKA INSPIRES ME TO BE MY BEST.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    A Fantastic Book!

    Blessings is one of my all-time favorites and it's a book that I'm always telling my friends (and even strangers in the black bookstores) to read when someone wants to read a 'good' book. I loved reading this book and sharing in the lives of Pat, Faye, Zuma, and Sandy. For me, this book had me feeling the full range of 'happy' to 'angry' depending on the circumstances, but, from the beginning to the end, this book really touched my heart. At least one character is practically guaranteed to make you 'hate' her by the end of the book but it's a great book that makes you FEEL something, in my opinion. An excellent book that is very highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2000

    a winner!!!!!!

    Blessings was an excellent book I tell everyone I come in contact with to read it. I cried so hard after reading it!! because it was so powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2000

    AN EXCELLENT READ!!!!!

    All i have to say for this book is four words: GREAT! FINE! EXCELLENT! PERFECT! if you read the book you'll get my drift... KUDOS TO SHENESKA AGAIN!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    BRAVO FOR BLESSINGS

    Sheneska Jackson's lastest novel, Blessings, was brillant. It was one of the best books I have read all year. She did a wonderful job of making the readers understand the plights of the characters and still kept the novel interesting. She relays an experience that all black women must go through if they get their hair done. WAITING. Funny, fiesty, and sad at the that time. I'm still in shock from the ending!! Two thumbs up for Blessings!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1