Customer Reviews for

Blind Descent: The Quest to Discover the Deepest Cave on Earth

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Engrossing Read

    This is an exciting, interesting and absorbing book. It's one of those stories that you'll bring up in conversation after reading it. The stories of the caving expeditions are incredible and the juxtaposition of the two expedition leaders make for a nice case study on leadership. The book is very well-researched and I thought honest but balanced in its portrayal of the people involved in the expeditions. At times you will find yourself wondering how people can put themselves through such explorations.

    Complaints about the book are minor. One is that there could have been much more information about the Ukrainian cavers. This might have been an issue of access. The other is that it is really hard to get across the size of the structures that are being talked about. The author tries, but unless you've been in a cave it will likely be hard to picture and understand the vastness or the minuteness of the spaces being talked about. Lastly, some cave maps would have been very useful to refer to as characters moved through different points of the caves. I couldn't always remember where a particular feature was in the caves being explored.

    Overall a great book. I couldn't put it down and devoured it in 2 days.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    An awesome non-fiction book

    I know nothing about caving, and nothing about being adventurous, bit I loved this viewpoint into a world I will never be able to witness otherwise. Very well told by the author in such a way I felt like I was reading suspenseful fiction, where I kept turning the pages. It did nothing for my spider phobia however!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    Good Book

    James m. Tabor's book Blind Descent is about two experienced cavers, Bill stone and Alexander Klimchouk, and their multiple expeditions to two super caves, Bill stone at Cheve Cave in mexico and Alexander Klimchouk in Krubera. Both extremely motivated to discover the deepest cave on the planet wont let anything get in the way of their dreams of ultimate discovery. The book tells of all the sturgles throughout the years while they explored both of these caves searching for the deepest place on earth.
    It is a fantastic book that shows a whole area of exploration that seems to be overlooked, great caving discoveries are not talked about as much as the other areas of exploration. It shows the drive and courage of these great explorers as they face complete darkness, constant danger, and an always present uncertainty if they will make it out or not. James Tabor is descriptive and gives you a sense of what the cave would look like, and what it would be like to be their on the expeditions. He builds up suspense so that its hard to put the book down, it almost seems like your right there with them as there crawling and climbing thousands of feet below the surface.
    I recommend this book to almost anyone, it is a great book about exploration in a very interesting setting that is hidden, the book brings caving into the light and shows all of the dangerous of caving along with the beauty that can only be seen deep below the earths surface. Overall this is a great and useful book that I would recommend to just about anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    More expensive?

    Why is this more expensive than the hardcover? $18.xx for the hardcover and $19.xx for the e-Book? Just wondering...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Pricey

    I really enjoy my Nook but this ebook is only $9.99 on Amazon, why the large price difference? And I agree with the other commentor, why is the hardback less expensive than the ebook?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended- Really Good Book

    This is an exciting and interesting book. The stories of caving are incredible. The book had information that seemed to be very informative to new readers of caving expeditions. I would recommend this book to anybody i know for the fact that it was one of those book that you don't want to put down, especially if you enjoy caving. i don't know much about caving but it was an interesting book to read and did not take long to read once i got started. Overall I would tell everybody who had the chance to read this book to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Amazing. Incredible. Highly recommended

    It's amazing how these explorers could put themselves through such extreme hardships year after year for days on end. This is a indepth look at what these men and women endured for their search for the world deepest cave. They dedicated their entire lives to this quest. It takes a look at every aspect of the process of how they raised the money and support to the development of organizing of their teams, supplies and their base camps. The amount of effort it took them to just even get close to doing the actual exploration of the new depths is mind boggeling. Don't miss this great look at mans supreme quest for their personally driven search.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good story of an unusual world of exploration

    This is about a world of exploration that is never in the news or found in typical discovery programs on TV. Read it to learn about a new and dangerous world underneath our feet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3