Customer Reviews for

Blind Eye: The Terrifying Story Of A Doctor Who Got Away With Murder

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    One Addicting Book

    I loved this book, it was so well written that it kept me up for hours past my bedtime. And I think the author did a phenomenal job on the research, personally interviewing people and even traveling to other countries for information. I can tell he definitely spent a lot of time on it. If you love true crimes stories, this one is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    Fascinating

    A real page-turner. Thorough, even-handed research. Fascinating for its description of the medical profession as well as the psychology of a serial killer. But most importantly, it explores the trust of those around him that enables so many of his murders. Warning: you may have a hard time trusting doctors after reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2002

    Fascinating

    Will keep you up all night. Engrossing, shocking, well-written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    An amazing work of journalism

    It's no wonder that James B. Stewart, the author of this book, won a Pulitzer Prize for one of his books. I'm surprised he didn't get one for this book, too. The research and time he put into this book, combined with excellent writing skills, made it an amazing work of journalism. Anyone who enjoys true crime stories--or anyone who enjoys reading 'whistleblower' books will like this story. For instance, if you enjoyed the movies 'The Insider' or 'Erin Brockovich,' you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    Dr. Death

    This book is a chilling thriller that amazingly enough is not fiction. The revelation of the details of Dr. Michael Swango's killing spree is both shocking and attention grabbing. Although I generally enjoy fiction this book provided enough plot twists and turns to make it just as interesting as a fictious mystery novel. The fact that a man could get away with killing so many innoscent people is unbelievable and is what makes this story and therefore this book so interesting. In my opinion the events in this book are chilling and all to real, I only wish that Dr. Michael Swango was a work of ficiton.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2000

    Coming Soon To A Hospital Near You!

    I don't know who is worse. Is it the doctor, the subject of this book, an alleged murderer of 35 or more hospital patients, or is it the arrogantly stupid physicians who let him get away with it in not one, but at least five hospitals? Michael Swango is a licensed physician who seemingly has a compulsion to kill people. Evidently a narcissistic psychopath he appears to enjoy injecting poisonous substances into patients, friends and co-workers. Serving an arsenic cocktail to fellow paramedics is what got him his first prison sentence. His purported killing spree started during a residency at Ohio State University Hospital. He evidently continued his bizarre activities after prison during residencies at the University of South Dakota, and at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Why does a physician felon convicted of poisoning people continue to obtain medical residencies? The physicians conducting the admissions programs are too incompetent to properly screen his application, even though he admits to being an ex convict. Then after patients die left and right, and nursing staff turn him in to the medical staff, the doctors refuse to believe their testimony. One key witness was a student nurse. It was quickly agreed by medical staff, as they rolled their eyes, that no one should really accept what a student nurse has to say. One doctor conducted an egregiously incompetent investigation of Dr. Swango's activities. Another was equally negligent in screening Dr. Swango's admission to a residency program. What punishment has been meted out to these two physicians? They both are now working for the Association of Medical Colleges in Washington, D.C. where they oversee the application process of all medical school residents in America. Isn't that wonderful? Dr. Swango now moves on to work in African hospitals where the death toll continues to rise. Suspended from one hospital for his suspected murder of several patients, he secures another position at a hospital nearby while the police investigate charges against him. Returning to the USA he is arrested, tried and convicted on a fraud charge. He will be released from prison any day now, and presumably might join the medical staff at a hospital near you. I normally don't read true-crime books, but, having spent my entire career in hospital management, the topic intrigued me. It reads like a thriller, and believe me the behavior of the doctors (excluding Dr. Swango) in the book didn't surprise me at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1