Customer Reviews for

Blind Your Ponies

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best one yet

If you like basketball, small towns, and falling in love with life, you will love this book. West writes with such detail, you can feel the excitement of the games and the chill of the winter blowing and the love of the people. You feel like you're on the court feeling ...
If you like basketball, small towns, and falling in love with life, you will love this book. West writes with such detail, you can feel the excitement of the games and the chill of the winter blowing and the love of the people. You feel like you're on the court feeling the pain of the players.The book is not just of this high school basketball team that nobody thought could play, but a story of the people of this town with their secrets and how a small town can become one family. You find yourself as one of the towns people. I cried and laughed while reading this book and found myself wanting more. It was a quick 574 pages. Both men and women will love this book.

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

To shadowpelt

I can mate you. I am a black and white shecat who hasn't had kits before. Search seaworld first result.

posted by 18007039 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Yah

    It was awesomely awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Makes Me Long to Head West

    The characters are the biggest strength in this book. None are flat or static. I enjoyed it, though I did skim through some of the games. Out of 554 pages, there were only so many play-by-play scenes I could get engrossed in. I liked the book, though, and actually enjoyed the "awe-shucks" aspects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    It would make a great movie

    The town of Willow Creek has a great cast of characters that you will love for the most part. For me, the 'side' characters were much more interesting than the protagonist and his love interest - they made the story for me. I loved Grandma Chapman, Peter Strong's grandmother, who he came to live with for a while after his parents' divorce. She's totally her own woman - not afraid to get under a truck to fix something, and totally oblivious to other's opinions of her. There's the Blue Willow Inn, owned and operated by Axel and Vera Anderson, with an old bicycle built for two in residence on it's porch and the story behind it. You'll meet Hazel Brown, Grandma Chapman's best friend and the school cook - all 300 plus pounds of her. There's the farmer Mervin Painter, married for 31 years to Claire - Mervin and his older brother Carl have a sibling enmity to beat the band. There's Sally Cutter, a "refried hippy", taking care of a teen daughter, Denise, who has cerebral palsy, as well as her son Dean, a 5' 5" freshman at Willow Creek's high school, with a student population of 18-19 students and last year's senior graduating class of 3. And many more, but you'll have to read the book to meet them.

    Willow Creek's high school basketball team is the Broncs, commonly referred to in town as the glue factory, with an astounding record of 0-93 over the past 5+ years. Their outstanding accomplishment is "fielding five standing, breathing boys" to form a basketball team. Sam Pickett, the high school's English teacher, has been the coach for the past five years, and when Truly Osborn, the school superintendent, tells him that he no longer has to coach, Sam is relieved. Enter Olaf Gustafson, a 6' 7" exchange student from Norway, and Peter Strong, an excellent basketball player recently come down to stay from Milwaukee. Together with Dean Cutter, Rob Johnson (a senior), Curtis Jenkins (a sophomore), and Tom Stonebreaker (another senior), there's a basketball team of six and, with urging from Diana Murphy, the biology teacher, Sam agrees to coach again this year. The problem is, Olaf has never shot a basketball in his life and has to be taught all of the points of the game - that is, if Sam can talk him into it.

    I really got into this book for the most part. There are places, especially during the "romance" sections, where the writing is florid and overblown. Example: "It felt so wonderful he almost let go of the wheel in a swoon, never suspecting there was so much tension stored in those muscles. Her touch was so erotically therapeutic, another muscle began to stir." If you're like me, you'll physically roll your eyes at it. I pressed on, and I'm glad I did. Every now and then, I'd run into another patch of that writing ... sigh ... roll the eyes ... keep reading. The author could have cut some of the games out near the end; they ran on a bit too long. BUT, having said that, if you liked "Hoosiers" and "Remember the Titans" .. if you like eccentric characters with good backstories .. if you like a book with awesome "Rah! Rah!" moments as well as places where you'll simply laugh out loud .. you'll like this book. I found myself crossing my fingers for Tom, with a drunken father given to fits of rage - he takes his opposition to Tom playing way over the edge.

    This book would definitely make a good movie. It has the kind of characters people wi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1