Customer Reviews for

Blindman's Bluff (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Poorly Written

    Unfortunately, this is poorly written. Too wordy. In addition, although I'm only 1/3 through, there are already several factual errors.

    First, a major character is described as a "translator." However, this character is actually an interpreter. A translator is the person who uses the written word to translate documents/letters. An interpreter uses the oral word to interpret the spoken language. In Kellerman's book, the character is a court interpreter who is consistently referred to as a translator. Very annoying if you know the difference.

    The second vexing error is that the murder victim, a billionaire commercial developer, is described as owning a private company. Kellerman describes a fight between the victim and his brother as "lowering the stock prices." However, a private company is private; there are no stock prices. Only a public company is listed in the stock exchange.

    Third error, so far, is that she refers to flora as fauna. Flora are plants; fauna are animals. She mixes them up.

    She needs a better editor. This type of mistake is unnecessary and distracting. I'll likely finish the book cause I paid for the darn thing, but I don't recommend buying it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I'm afraid the Decker-Lazarus series has run out of steam. The earlier books in this series provided many interesting details regarding Peter & Rina's Orthodox Jewish religious beliefs and practices---I have lived my entire life in the Midwest & know almost no one who is Jewish, so I found this quite fascinating. However, this book makes almost no mention of their religion or home life, & the remaining story was a rather run-of-the-mill police procedural. (Also, the wrong form of the word "breach" was used repeatedly when discussing a "breech (sic) of security." Surely an editor should have caught this!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    just ok nothing special

    Nice mystery lots of good characters BUT it drones on & on. I have to wonder why todays mystery writers feel that they have to give us more than we need & in this case 380 plus pages. This is a good story but if 100 pages were cut out it would of been a better book. Sometimes less is more or better put get to the point...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    Another Peter Decker book by Faye Kellerman

    Having read all the Peter Decker books, and I think, all of Faye Kellerman's, I was looking forward to reading her latest.
    I thought it was an easy read, and as always, I enjoyed my time reading. This book however lacked some of the earlier Peter Decker qualities. Faye seemed to "write down" in this novel, and for me wasn't as griping or entertaining.
    I also thought I caught a mistake as she says something like police work was what Peter wanted to do after college, but he was a laywer working with his old father-in-law.
    I have given and recommended "The ritual bath" to many friends. It really combined the police intrigue with the Jewish community. Blindman was too Jewish specific (as in apealing only to religious Jews), and I felt wasn't one of her best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What An Annoying Book

    This novel starts right out with multiple murders at a mega-mansion. We need to learn the names of the deceased, the staff, the eight detectives on the case, then the staff at the deceased's big company, along with wives and various bit-players, including a blind translator who can intuit just about anything a person might be hiding. We sit in on a detailed meeting of the detectives, with assignments going out, cops saying they can't do this or that, schedules need to be altered. And this is a crime thriller? A suspense novel?
    We get detoured to a criminal case that the detective's wife is sitting on-as if that would really happen. The author refers to a witness as a plaintiff, apparently unaware that the plaintiff in a California criminal case is the people of the state of California.
    The detectives get the call on the murder at 3 am. They go to the mansion, with travel time, perhaps arriving at 4. There are no press present. Yet the story is the headlines on that morning's LA Times. Miraculous, huh?
    It goes on like that until the weary reader just throws up his (my) hands and wonders why I might care about all of this. The author hasn't given me any reason to care about any of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Do not waste your time!

    I have been enjoying Kellerman books, but this book was no good. Because the beginning set the stage as a story with potential, I kept reading til the last 100 pages. Then, I thought, why have I spent time with this junk! The book was too wordy, it was drawn out, and the story got stupid. I felt the writer worked off an outline and it made her lack creativity and lose track of the total package. Also, there were way too many descriptions and details given about clothing, and while all the information about the Jewish faith was very interesting, I have no idea why it was in the book. I will try another Kellerman novel, but if it gets bad, I will quit reading more quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    A Fun Read

    This Who-Done-It is a good yarn that was especially suspenseful because of the quick affection you develop for the clearly drawn characters which are realistically admirable. The unique twist in this novel (referenced in the title) definitely took the thrills up several notches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    was terrific, highly recommended!!!!

    Wonderful and insightive. Could not put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kellerman Does It Again!

    Faye Kellerman's crime fighting duo, Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus, never disappoint fans. This time Kellerman outdid herself in Blindman's Bluff. This story will keep readers on the edge of their seats trying to figure out the who done it. Kellerman holds the secret right to the end, keeping her readers guessing along the way.

    Kellerman always paints a vivid description of the California landscape, that lets her reader feel as if they were there. She did not disappoint in this work. The only disappointment this book held was when the people attending services at Pete and Rina's Orthodox synagogue were described as parishioners. I was stunned by the error, as Kellerman takes such pains to describe the Jewish aspect of her story so correctly.
    Nevertheless this is a great read which will satisfy Pete and Rina fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    Faye has done it again! She takes you into the lives of her characters and once again Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus are in the middle of a developing story.

    I enjoy all of Faye Kellerman's books and this one was no different. She kept you guessing throughout the book as to who was the primary villian. As usual several stories woven into one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Faye Kellerman does it again!

    I can always count on a good story from this author - her plots are well crafted and can hold the reader's interest from beginning to end. I love the Pete Decker/Rina Lazarus characters and the others they interact with. I eagerly await Faye Kellerman's next offering.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3