Customer Reviews for

Blindsided

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

Natalie is slowly losing her eyesight. When she was about eight, she started to stumble and walk into things. Born without irises, the part that controls the amount of light allowed into the eye, the pressure is continuing to grow. Having endured multiple surgeries and ...
Natalie is slowly losing her eyesight. When she was about eight, she started to stumble and walk into things. Born without irises, the part that controls the amount of light allowed into the eye, the pressure is continuing to grow. Having endured multiple surgeries and continuous eye drops, Natalie prays that she won't go totally blind.

But a few weeks before school is to start, she receives the worst possible news. There is nothing more they can do for Natalie, and now, it's best she be prepared. The doctor tells her that one day, she could wake up and be completely blind. So, with reluctance, she is sent off to the blind school in Baltimore.

Natalie considers herself different than everyone else. After all, she can still see. And some of the kids at the school require a lot more help. There's even a sign above her bed that says "Makes own bed." It angers Natalie.

Natalie is resistant to what the school wants to teach her. She refuses to use a cane. She can't tell the difference in the Braille dots. She finds the Brailler machine hard to use. It's all so pointless. That is, until the day Natalie has prayed would never happen occurs. She literally wakes up one morning and is unable to see. From that day forward, Natalie is determined to learn all she can.

BLINDSIDED follows Natalie as she comes to terms with her disability. It shares her father's denial of her vision loss, her mother's push for Natalie to succeed, and the wonderful teachers that force Natalie to do all that she can. When Natalie is placed in two different situations where her disability could harm her, the reader realizes that blindness doesn't stop someone from living; it just forces them to develop different priorities and strengths.

posted by TeensReadToo on August 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Blindsided by Priscilla Cummings is about how a 14 year old gir

Blindsided by Priscilla Cummings is about how a 14 year old girl named Natalie who has to deal with going blind. She use to be the little miss perfect girl on the block. Natalie lived on a barn and owned about 8 goats. That was until she started going blind. Her world ...
Blindsided by Priscilla Cummings is about how a 14 year old girl named Natalie who has to deal with going blind. She use to be the little miss perfect girl on the block. Natalie lived on a barn and owned about 8 goats. That was until she started going blind. Her world then completely turned upside down. Natalie didn’t like the thought of losing her eyesight. Her parents soon make her go to a school for the blind. She doesn’t feel like she belongs there with all the other blind kids. Natalie must learn how to use a cane, cross the road by herself, and how to read and write braille. Throughout this book you will see her life changing completely forever. Going blind isn’t easy, especially when you are only 14.

If you like books that tell a story about someone’s life problems, then this is a book for you. The genre of this book is fiction and is a young adult read. There are some swears and some inappropriate things that they talk about. I enjoyed this book, but there were a few things that I didn’t like so much. I wish we got to know more about the other characters. When reading this book you only get to know the main character really well. All of the other characters are just in the book but you don’t get to know them. I did like the Climax of the book. I thought it was well written and I kept wanting to turn the page. I think this book deserves a 3 star rating.


posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Blindsided by Priscilla Cummings is about how a 14 year old gir

    Blindsided by Priscilla Cummings is about how a 14 year old girl named Natalie who has to deal with going blind. She use to be the little miss perfect girl on the block. Natalie lived on a barn and owned about 8 goats. That was until she started going blind. Her world then completely turned upside down. Natalie didn’t like the thought of losing her eyesight. Her parents soon make her go to a school for the blind. She doesn’t feel like she belongs there with all the other blind kids. Natalie must learn how to use a cane, cross the road by herself, and how to read and write braille. Throughout this book you will see her life changing completely forever. Going blind isn’t easy, especially when you are only 14.

    If you like books that tell a story about someone’s life problems, then this is a book for you. The genre of this book is fiction and is a young adult read. There are some swears and some inappropriate things that they talk about. I enjoyed this book, but there were a few things that I didn’t like so much. I wish we got to know more about the other characters. When reading this book you only get to know the main character really well. All of the other characters are just in the book but you don’t get to know them. I did like the Climax of the book. I thought it was well written and I kept wanting to turn the page. I think this book deserves a 3 star rating.


    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Touching

    I learned so much about blindness. Its amazingly sad and touching. Must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    AMAZING

    i got on the 11 th page and loved it! I almost cryed when well youll find out when or if you buy this AMAZING , book i highly recomend it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Natalie is slowly losing her eyesight. When she was about eight, she started to stumble and walk into things. Born without irises, the part that controls the amount of light allowed into the eye, the pressure is continuing to grow. Having endured multiple surgeries and continuous eye drops, Natalie prays that she won't go totally blind.

    But a few weeks before school is to start, she receives the worst possible news. There is nothing more they can do for Natalie, and now, it's best she be prepared. The doctor tells her that one day, she could wake up and be completely blind. So, with reluctance, she is sent off to the blind school in Baltimore.

    Natalie considers herself different than everyone else. After all, she can still see. And some of the kids at the school require a lot more help. There's even a sign above her bed that says "Makes own bed." It angers Natalie.

    Natalie is resistant to what the school wants to teach her. She refuses to use a cane. She can't tell the difference in the Braille dots. She finds the Brailler machine hard to use. It's all so pointless. That is, until the day Natalie has prayed would never happen occurs. She literally wakes up one morning and is unable to see. From that day forward, Natalie is determined to learn all she can.

    BLINDSIDED follows Natalie as she comes to terms with her disability. It shares her father's denial of her vision loss, her mother's push for Natalie to succeed, and the wonderful teachers that force Natalie to do all that she can. When Natalie is placed in two different situations where her disability could harm her, the reader realizes that blindness doesn't stop someone from living; it just forces them to develop different priorities and strengths.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!! Such a great book!!! i would DEFINATLY reccomend

    AWESOME!!!!!!! Such a great book!!! i would DEFINATLY reccomend it to anyone!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Amazing:)

    Soooo i read this book a while ago and yet it still makes me want to read it and not put it down. It really is touchkng and girls that r 14-16 years old should read it!!!!!natalie is soo cool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    A favorite

    Cummings writes a favorite that is descriptive so you can make a picture in your mind. I rated this 4 stars because this book is not as good as Harry Potter or Percy Jackson. I still love this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great characters but...

    What would you do if you were told you were going blind? In Natalie's case, she goes into complete denial, even after being enrolled in a Blind School. There she learns many lessons, other than Braille and using a cane, and makes many friends along the way. The story is a really quick, enjoyable read and I quite enjoyed it.

    Of course, there were a few things that I didn't enjoy so much, which seems to be a common peeve of readers - Cummings becomes quite extreme at times, throwing so many life lessons and perilous situations at me I felt like a moron. A lot of it is basically saying, 'Look! Blind people can go to the mall if they want to!' and other parts were just silly. Despite this, I really enjoyed Natalie's story.

    Of the characters, I liked Bree a lot. Despite her attitude when we first meet her, you learn about her past later on and she tries her best to make amends. Natalie is similar, at first she shuns everything, refuses to use her cane but after falling down the stairs and knocking herself out (true) she realises that she can't be in denial forever.
    I found it a little odd that Natalie was the perfect girl-next-door farm girl, whereas the rest of the characters had some pretty serious histories but I think that was part of Cummings way of drilling life lessons into our heads...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Blindsided Nook Tablet

    Loving it have had it and meant to read it for a while. I am currently loving this book. 2 Thumbs Up! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Really good

    This is touching story filled with laughs and tears.the twist and turns in this book makes me unable to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Best book

    OMG I love this book read then reread then rereead! Soooooo good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Amazing

    When i first picked up this book i thought it was going to be an ok book. It really suprized me because it was amazing. When i finished it i didnt want to put it down. I wish so badly that it was a series. I also wish that her relationship with arnab would have gone a little bit farther.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Hi

    Looks good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Book

    It is not letting me read it just the sample I don't know why I bought it and stuff??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Great book

    It was a great book. It had tons of exciting parts like the bear attack and the goat triplets. It also had some really sad parts like when she goes blind and when bree dies. It was a totally awesome book. I totally recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Awesome

    I just finished this book and all i can say is WOW! this book is the best i really wish it was longer but i am so glad i gave this book a second chance read this book! It is faburific

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    so pissed about the sample. Should i get it?

    I dont buy books if i cant read some of the book first. So is it good.?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    D

    I have to ask, is this book really all that good? Oh, and is there any romance?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Whatbthe helll what kind of sample is that

    Hjhh

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2