Customer Reviews for

Blink

Average Rating 3
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Creepy cool!

Great short story. Creepy enough to make you shiver. Pretty cool premise. Unique. I liked it. Would read something else by the author.

posted by UrLuvBug64 on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

not bad

At first it seemed to take a bit to get to the point but it kept me guessing and reading. Would make a good book.

posted by 11458700 on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    not bad

    At first it seemed to take a bit to get to the point but it kept me guessing and reading. Would make a good book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Creepy cool!

    Great short story. Creepy enough to make you shiver. Pretty cool premise. Unique. I liked it. Would read something else by the author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Creepy

    Well written with just the right amount of creepy to be believable. Short story at 21 pages but interesting. Will look for more from this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Not bad

    Pretty good for a short story. Would love to see this expanded into a full one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Okay

    "Blink" is a 29 page (Nook Tablet size) sci-fi/thriller in a short story format. It reads as though nothing extraordinary is happening for so long, that the ending is predictable. Sadly, when compared to the lengthy lead up, the end reveal is somewhat anti-climactic.

    Here is the plot summary for this title. A dentist is doing the cleaning and routine stuff since his hygenist is sick. Then, the dentist gets freaked out by one of his long time patient's weird tongue "ring". (It sounds more like a tongue stud with a large ball on top.) She explains it. The end.

    The lead up is too long, especially, for such a quick and under-explained "punch line". Otherwise, the plot was okay. The ending was a bit of a let down. It could have been better, but it is still worth checking out this one.

    -AvidReader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Okay

    Interesting read but too much hype for the outcome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Like a King short story

    I liked the idea of putting the dread behind you but not really putting it out of mind. Knowing that evil is out there but realizing nothing can be done about it is alot like some of Stephen King's short stories which I love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Really

    Kinda creepy but stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Lol

    Delightfully creey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I picked this up for free via Barnes & Noble for my Nook. Wh

    I picked this up for free via Barnes & Noble for my Nook. When I grabbed it, I didn't realize it was a short story, although the cover pic certainly states it. It was free and it looked kind of creepy, and that worked for me. I loved that it was a short story. We need more short stories. I actually forgot it was on my Nook until standing in a long line at the post office. This was the perfect read for that line.

    It was a quick science fiction type story. I liked how the story flowed without really knowing what was going on until the very last bit. Having once worked in a dental office, I liked the idea of a little thriller in that setting. The doc was the perfect pic of dentists I worked with in the past. The ones who work with the young really do develop kind of like a caring uncle thing. They see these kids grow up. Dr. Mallory was like that. He is picking up the slack in the office and filling in for the hygienist when one of his long time patients, Amy comes in. Things go from every day to not so much. I do not want to spoil anything here soooo stop reading now.

    Or continue...I kind of wish Amy was completely unaware. I would have liked that better. It was a good story though, and I will definitely look for more from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Creepy.

    Creepy and successfully delivered, this short story will leave you sticking your tongue out in the mirror. You know, just in case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent short story, about a suttle alien invasion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Well

    Story seems to be more reading about a dental cleaning. Iit took a long way around to get to the root of the evil so to speak. Not a bad story, just seemed to settle more into the world of dentistry than what it should have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    OK.

    Interesting...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    An ok read.

    It started off good but the ending was cheesy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    ?????

    Finijsh the doggone story idiot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    *

    Could not put it down,was disappointed with the ending....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    ?....

    Terrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    !

    Different !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Interesting;

    A fun short story that kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2