Customer Reviews for

Blink: The Power of Thinking without Thinking

Average Rating 4
( 649 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(258)

4 Star

(207)

3 Star

(121)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating Insight in to Impressions

Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you un...
Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you understand what happens during that first six seconds. Whether you are socially struggling or a master networker, you should check this out. Absolutely in keeping with his #1 best seller, 'The Tipping Point', now becoming a classic.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good not Great

Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you ma...
Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you made the decision is often a waste of time. Rationalizing these decisions often causes you to erroneously come to a different conclusion.

posted by RobbieMA on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 653 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    The maker

    Looked at the two siblings. Hes much too forgetful. Looked at the doctor. Let me refresh your memory: your best friend as a child on galifrey. Well, with the exception of the master. You guys were such close enemies i swear you were secretly friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    I found the book to be a little disjointed.  On the one hand the

    I found the book to be a little disjointed.  On the one hand there were discussions about trusting your first gut impression to judge situations (experts knowing things are not right), and then on the other hand there were discussions about how you need to learn skills to be able to judge situations (marriage videos).  I must have missed something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    So, this isn't the typical type of book I would read, I myself p

    So, this isn't the typical type of book I would read, I myself prefer romance but for having to read this book for school, I would have to say
    it wasn't half bad. Next time I have to read though I think I'll just try to stick to what I'm good at reading. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Valuable information for decision making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended--Enjoy!

    The information in this book is so practical and useful in so many life situations. It's an easy read, yet packed with the latest research. I kept planning to get the book, and when it came up on Nook, I jumped at the chance and am so glad I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining review on decision making

    This is a good popular psychology review on decision making. He keeps things interesting for most of the book, but I would really recommend reading the afterwords, which put the book into a much larger context.

    Also, it does take a while to get used to his style of writing. The adjustment is required as he presents a disjointed example not related to anything that has come before. Then explains it, and then provides a counter example. Finally he weaves the example and counter example into a compelling argument. This is then repeated every chapter. Once you know what's coming it becomes easier to get through the disjoint example, and indeed even becomes exciting to start branching off with your own examples and analysis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Little value if you don't accept the unfounded assertions

    This is two stars instead of one because I gave up after 2 chapters. Maybe it gets better, but so far, the author appears to be setting up his enterprise based on questionable and unfounded assertions. After so maybe bold claims that made me say, "Really? What's your evidence for that?" I decided this book was too unscientific in it's approach to be useful. Suspension of disbelief is for Science Fiction. This book merely demands to be taken seriously; it doesn't earn the right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    RD

    Rarity should be named Rainbow Dash for her daringness! And what the hay is happening to Fluttershy...?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Falling Chapter I by Vynx Silverstorm

    It was a sunny breezy day, a perfect day for Flutter to teach her baby birds how to fly. Her birds, named after all her friends, were just fine with flying. They all showed that, stretching their wings. All was the same as when the mane six got together, until Rarity(why?) started stretching excessently. "Now, Rarity, you don't need to stretch that much. You could hurt yourself." The purple jay didn't listen and started hopping up the tree branches towards the peak of Flutter's tall tree. "Rarity, you know you aren't ready to fly that high yet." Rarity was triple-dog-daring Fluttershy to try her. Spreading her majestic wings, the bird readied herself to take flight while Flutter readied herself to give the Stare. She flew up and up and up, sweating vigorously, wings shaking stiffly as she used all her muscles to fly higher and higher, barely reaching the height of Apple Jack, the orange jay that should have been named Rarity for her cleanliness. And all the same fell for like what seemed so far for such a low wing-powered pegasus, which was barely a fall for ponies such as Spitfire, Soarin', and Rainbow Dash. She hit the ground with a loud thud, wings smacking fearfully to her sides. Fluttershy looked around at her birds, teary-eyed, and heard a loud, very farmiliar laugh ringing loud and clear. Rainbow Dash's. Rainbow Dash was laughing at her. She didn't know what to do. But suddenly, a strange, cruel darkness seemed to curl around her heart and wrap it in it's icy, evil blanket. She could feel the darkness, tingling in her hooves and moving up to the tips of her wings. Her feathery wings. But they weren't so feathery anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Awesome

    I read this book and it is so interesting! I am a 15 girl and I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    OMG

    Hate that book never wont to read that book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Worst book ever.

    Just hated it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    T-ray

    I no i am smart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book was fascinating, well written, easily readable, and entertaining. I plan to read it again before my book group meets to discuss it. I expect the discussion to be equally interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I usually don¿t like nonfiction, but this book was really intere

    I usually don’t like nonfiction, but this book was really interesting! Gladwell writes his concepts like a story which
    makes the whole book really compelling. I also enjoyed it because it dealt with a lot of psychology concepts and
     cited a few studies that I studied in my psychology class. For the concept of thin-slicing, Gladwell does an
    excellent job of elaborating on the branches of the idea and the positive and negative aspects. It definitely made
     me think differently about how I use snap judgments. A good book for expanding your knowledge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    This book is great for people who want to study humans and have

    This book is great for people who want to study humans and have a curiosity for the mind.
    If your into psychology, this a fabulous book. Gladwell inserts anecdotes and research he has encountered  about making decisions.
    I enjoyed reading the introduction part where he is describing the greek statue that a museum bought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I personally really enjoyed reading Blink. Malcolm Gladwell disc

    I personally really enjoyed reading Blink. Malcolm Gladwell discusses the topic of thin slicing, making slit second judgments about things, and how it can be more accurate than in depth research. The book is easy to read because Gladwell's style of writing is very didactic but relaxed. Gladwell helps you understand what is going through your mind during the start of first impression. The book is mind opening and I suggest it to anyone who has an intrest in psychology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Overall good

    Psychological analysis on the way we subconsciously process decisions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Worth reading multiple times

    In this book, Malcolm reading gets you to think about how quickly a thought can change the outcome in a split second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great read

    Enjoyable and compelling

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 653 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 33