Customer Reviews for

Blink: The Power of Thinking without Thinking

Average Rating 4
( 639 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(252)

4 Star

(204)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating Insight in to Impressions

Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you un...
Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you understand what happens during that first six seconds. Whether you are socially struggling or a master networker, you should check this out. Absolutely in keeping with his #1 best seller, 'The Tipping Point', now becoming a classic.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good not Great

Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you ma...
Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you made the decision is often a waste of time. Rationalizing these decisions often causes you to erroneously come to a different conclusion.

posted by RobbieMA on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    I wouldn't recommend it.

    I personally didn't like the book Blink. Its meant for more mature readers, and it also jumps from topic to topic making it hard to fallow and understand. To read this book you need to have an more advanced way of thinking, you have to be able to think deeper than what it written on the page. If I had to reccomend this book I would suggest this to someone who likes imformative reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Blink by Malcolm Gladwell

    It is about psychology. At the same time, it is also about the behavioral economic. The main idea of this book is "thin-slicing". It means that the spontaneous decisions are often better than the planned decisions. He did a lot of researches for provement. Gladwell also tells us about our instinctive ability to mind read, which is how we can get to know what emotions a person is feeling just by looking at his or her face. Moreover, he also explains that sometimes many informations interupt to make a decision. "Thin-slicing" makes us to make a decision more easily. I was pretty much enjoyed to read this book. I recommend this book to people who likes psychology

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Interesting premise

    But while the author insists that we must learn when to trust our instincts and when we are operating under the influence of unconcious prejudice, he offers no suggestions or tools for doing so. Dissapointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Blink

    Disappointed i got to page 196 of 238 and book essentially ended. Lots of filler info. Lots of restated info. Its an interesting subject just got minimal coverage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Little value if you don't accept the unfounded assertions

    This is two stars instead of one because I gave up after 2 chapters. Maybe it gets better, but so far, the author appears to be setting up his enterprise based on questionable and unfounded assertions. After so maybe bold claims that made me say, "Really? What's your evidence for that?" I decided this book was too unscientific in it's approach to be useful. Suspension of disbelief is for Science Fiction. This book merely demands to be taken seriously; it doesn't earn the right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    review for Blink by Malcolm Gladwell

    In the book Blink by Malcolm Gladwell, there are many situations and events that I never thought about. Some of the things Gladwell discusses in this book I never knew could be predicted or studied. When Gladwell writes "the power of thinking with thinking," he is right. Most of the occurances in this book most people probaly do not even think about. For example, common everday decisions that seem simple, are actually complex in our minds and can be studies. Like watching a movie, we unconsciously watch and pay attention to things that we did not know we even did. I think Gladwell did a good job, for the most part, describing how we think without even thinking about it. But, there are also some parts that are confusing and could be expalined better. This is the case in most books though. So overall, I think Blink is good book for someone who wants to know how the human brain thinks and works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    Author puts forth the widely acepted view that a quick, snap decision can be as valid as one that takes much much longer to reach. Ok. Now I was expecting some informtation on how to improve this skill. Nope. That was it. Other examples of the usefulness of the skill, but no hints of that how to improve ones tallent. Author also seems to fancy himself as some sort of expert on police tactics. Officers in Diallo shooting comein for critisism in that they didn't 'read Mr. Diallo's mind' in the one second they had, in the dark, to decide whether or not the guy running from them was turning on them with a gun, or turning for some less deadly reason...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Don't Waste Your Money

    Blink is very disappointing. Despite the hyped industry reviews on top, I found the writing style to be laborious and not at all engaging like the Tipping Point. It's message is #1 suitable for a short article not a book, and #2 not very profound. Keep your cash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    a reader

    A nice reinforcement of the concept 'thing slicing'...this book did not contain the content i figured it would have. It does, in fact, make sense. In fact, the author simply tells stories and later points out the 'thing sclicing' that occurs in each event. I would suggest this book to no one, unless one is completely unaware of common sense....this book is.....bah..mindless..insensible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    What's the point?

    Lots of tidbits of information but left me asking, 'What's the point?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    A 2 page article dragged out into a full length book.

    The author takes what is essentially a two page article and tries to spin it into a book. One finishes it feeling irritated because of all the irrelevant filler used to pad out the thought into a full length book adds nothing to the concept which is pretty weak anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    Blink is no Tipping Point

    I was happy with the book until the author decided to enter into a flurry of nonsensical academic babble concerning taste and facial muscles. Admittedly, there was a point to be made. The length of these narratives could have been greatly minimized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    I don't get it.

    This book had some interesting topics and insight into business matters but failed to delve any further into the subject. I thin sliced the book based on the supposed content and was very disappointed. That was the only thing I learned about split second decisions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    No Insight

    The author gives some examples of quick thinking and/or think without thinking. Some were interesting but eventually the examples became boring. I was looking for 'how can I develop this skill.' That never happened. Maybe I was expecting too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Keep on Blinking - no answers here.

    This book is no 'Turning Point' Too many contradictions that are not explored. The examples on Police Work is very thinly supported by the circumstances presented. This information will not give you any insights on decision making except to strengthen the believe that experience and knowledge of a persons character is more important than rash or rush to judgment conclusions. A big disappointment after Turning Point, but a great PR campaign will help it sell well if you BLINK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3