Customer Reviews for

Blink: The Power of Thinking without Thinking

Average Rating 4
( 639 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(252)

4 Star

(204)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating Insight in to Impressions

Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you un...
Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you understand what happens during that first six seconds. Whether you are socially struggling or a master networker, you should check this out. Absolutely in keeping with his #1 best seller, 'The Tipping Point', now becoming a classic.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good not Great

Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you ma...
Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you made the decision is often a waste of time. Rationalizing these decisions often causes you to erroneously come to a different conclusion.

posted by RobbieMA on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Fascinating Insight in to Impressions

    Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you understand what happens during that first six seconds. Whether you are socially struggling or a master networker, you should check this out. Absolutely in keeping with his #1 best seller, 'The Tipping Point', now becoming a classic.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Do we really know what we think? Maybe, maybe not.

    This book was mind opening and unsettling. After reading this book the possibilities of influencing my own choices and those of others seem endless. It was unsettling to think about how little control I may actually have over my reactions, judgements, and snap decsions about others in my life. Incredible and interesting reading. Definitely made me stop and "think".

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    When to lead and when to follow

    "Blink" is really an eye-opening book. It's a book about life lessons and how you should/can achieve them. Many tests are made throughout the book showing how all people have the same reactions to many differents tests and problems. "Blink" teaches us how to get through our problems and live as though nothing has happened. Happy and content. You're probably thinking "not possible", but thats only because you haven't read this book yet.

    I would recommend this book to all people. Most people have difficulties figuring out why and how things happen to them. "Blink" has the answer. I really enjoyed reading this book. It made me realize things I never even thought about or questioned. From the way that we walk to the way that we deal with our arguments.

    Similar books are "The Tipping Point" and "Tuesdays With Morrie". Both books also relate to life lessons and tell/help us how to live a more joyful and stress-free life.

    What I really liked about this book was that I was able to relate to most of the problems and obstacles that they listed. This book teaches you good morals and really leaves a mark in your personality. After finishing the book, I have become happier and notice myself doing more work and help for others. It's amazing how mush influence a 296 page book can have on one's life. Why did it take a book for me to come to my senses? I don't have an answer for that, but I do know that I will never regret reading this book. Malcom Gladwell really knows how to reach inside of you and pull out all of your problems, fix them, and move on.

    The only dislike that I have about this book is that at times it tended to be a little slow and not as attenion grabbing as the rest of it.

    READ THIS BOOK!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    One of the best novels out there...

    Blink has been one of the best novels that I have read during my high school years. The way Malcolm Gladwell incorporates past psychological experiments to correlate with his idea of "thin slicing" is easily comprehensible and interesting as well. I had always assumed that people always thought on the conscious level all the time. However, until I read this book, I had no idea at all that people were capable of thinking unconsciously without even realizing. It's simply phenomenal and mind-blowing as well.
    What really caught my interest was the way Gladwell uses the Warren Harding Error. In my history class, we had learned that some political candidates for president were chosen based on their appearances which gave the audience the impression that they best man for the job. This worked with John F. Kennedy, since he was a young, good-looking, energetic, and an upstanding gentleman. But, after reading the story of Warren Harding, I was shocked to see that that doesn't apply too well. So, looks aren't everything according to this novel. Overall, Malcolm Gladwell does an excellent job with this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't Blink- you might miss it

    It is fairly short, but it's a great read. Gladwell is by far the best writer for his type of book out there (Morse and Gilbert are excellent too). Blink is not about missing fleeting things, though; it's about intuition and the fact that we can know some things-some very important things without really "knowing" them in a conscious way. In other words, we don't have to dwell on something or overthink it to really understand it. Basically our hunches are as good or better than our thoughts in some instances.

    Gladwell goes through a list of interesting anecdotal cases that prove his point then adds studies and interviews with scientists to back up his findings. This book is on par with the Tipping Point, but better than Outliers- his new one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Fascinating book

    In Blink, Malcolm Gladwell (a journalist who also wrote The Tipping Point) examines the process of snap decision making. He suggests that we are wrong in thinking that we make decisions rationally by absorbing extensive information and experience. In the end we make decisions unconsciously and essentially instantly. This works great for most decisions because we learn to 'thin-slice'-that is, to ignore extraneous input and concentrate on one or two cues. Sometimes, we don't even consciously know what these cues are, as in Gladwell's anecdote about a tennis coach who can predict when a player is going to make a rare sort of error but doesn't know how he knows. The book also explores how this process can go horribly wrong, as in the Amadou Diallo shooting. Gladwell gets the science facts right and has the journalistic skills to make them utterly engrossing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    Thought provoking

    This is one of the best books I have read in a long long time. It addresses so many aspects of our lives, helping us view things differently while educating. I keep referring to this book and even buying this book for friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Fun Read by a Great Writer

    This book is wonderfully written and presents ideas in engaging, practical language. It offers some research-based information in a readable format that appeals to scholarly folks, as well as the general population.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Gladwell is the best at what he does. This is another example.

    Gladwell is the best at what he does. This is another example. great book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    A phenomenal book

    This book is one that can change the way you think for many years to come. It is absolutely phenomenal and really opens your mind to explore further possibilities of what you might have thought you already knew. Gladwell shows how the ¿snap judgments¿ we make are many times more accurate than when we decide something after evaluating it for a while. This theory, that our best decisions are made instantaneously, is against everything we have learned in our lives. We have been told to stop, think carefully, and then make your decision, but Gladwell changes that and explains that our first instinct is a whole lot more precise. Farther into the book, Gladwell goes on to show that the method of ¿thin-slicing,¿ as he calls it, is a learned trait that provides us with answers and solutions effectively for the challenges of everyday life. However, he also explains that sometimes our first instincts are not always correct. Gladwell says that while we sometimes have to judge whether or not to trust our instinct, it is still mainly the most accurate decision we can form. His book breaks down our rationalization of the decisions we make and shows us that we need to think outside of what is normal to reach the most logical solutions for whatever we are faced with. This book was one that once I started reading I couldn¿t stop. The further I read, the more I wanted to know. As I made my way through the book, I found myself challenging the way I ordinarily think. Challenging what until then I assumed to be absolute. Gladwell¿s book is definitely one to read. It forever changes the way you evaluate situations and view the world around you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    Couldnt put it down

    I will buy this for all my friends and employees. I couldnt put it down. This was not a dry text book, but instead a great read. Easy and fast and kept me constantly engaged. I never once put this one down. Once I opened the book, I read it through. It was amazing what I have learned about myself and those around me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Blink

    The best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    This book is terrific!

    Contributes to my intra-personnal skills. More of getting the right answers everytime. Just a matter of knowing the right questions to ask. And you can't effectively formulate those questions with aquiring Malcom's idea. Everyday I became a human lie detector in my own right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Wonderful book

    Amazing read. So many insites and interesting topics. A good book to learn from and make you think about your own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Dont blink yall

    Erhmehgerd dernt blernk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Always Interesting, a great writing style

    This is my second book read by Gladwell. I like his writing style and choice of topics. It is captivating making it an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Yall are whovians

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    The maker

    Looked at the two siblings. Hes much too forgetful. Looked at the doctor. Let me refresh your memory: your best friend as a child on galifrey. Well, with the exception of the master. You guys were such close enemies i swear you were secretly friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Valuable information for decision making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended--Enjoy!

    The information in this book is so practical and useful in so many life situations. It's an easy read, yet packed with the latest research. I kept planning to get the book, and when it came up on Nook, I jumped at the chance and am so glad I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13