Customer Reviews for

Blink: The Power of Thinking without Thinking

Average Rating 4
( 632 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(249)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating Insight in to Impressions

Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you un...
Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you understand what happens during that first six seconds. Whether you are socially struggling or a master networker, you should check this out. Absolutely in keeping with his #1 best seller, 'The Tipping Point', now becoming a classic.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good not Great

Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you ma...
Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you made the decision is often a waste of time. Rationalizing these decisions often causes you to erroneously come to a different conclusion.

posted by RobbieMA on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 249 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Worst book ever.

    Just hated it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    T-ray

    I no i am smart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book was fascinating, well written, easily readable, and entertaining. I plan to read it again before my book group meets to discuss it. I expect the discussion to be equally interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Great book

    Alot better on audio book but still amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Really cool

    A fun and interesting read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    A MUST READ!!!

    This book was so interesting. This book confirmed a lot of things that I already felt, and taught me some new things as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Never again will you think about thinking the same way."

    In this book, Blink: The Power of Thinking without Thinking, author Malcolm Gladwell explores the concepts relating to the power of the unconscious-and how a split second opinion can make a world of difference in the decision making process. With plentiful and in depth research, Gladwell presents evidence in many different scenarios in which split second decisions can affect the entire outcome of an event.


    He uses references such as surveys, case studies, and interviews to expound on the concept of “rapid cognition”. This idea represents the snap decision that humans unconsciously make at the blink of an eye, as opposed to a well-thought out assessment. He calls this “thin slicing” and “thick slicing”, respectively. He explains how these snap judgments, although we may not realize it at the time, can drastically alter the outcome of a situation. For example, psychologist John Gottman is able to predict the future of a marriage by simply observing the body language of the couple for a few moments. Not only does Gladwell celebrate the effectiveness of thin slicing, he also explains how it sometimes fails us in some situations.


    In addition to this, Gladwell offers advice on how to control that snap judgment, and harness the mind power it takes to be a skilled thin-slicer. He tells the story of a car salesman to demonstrate that snap decisions should not be biased based on race, sex, or appearances. These are the reasons why thin slicing becomes faulty.


    Blink is a piece that gives evidence to the notion that well thought out decisions are not always the best ones. Sometimes initial judgments, or that “gut feeling” are the most efficient. This book changes the way you think about the way decisions are made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    Very good book

    I was assigned a reading assignment for my AP Econ class and I was not sure what to expect when I read this book. However, as soon as I started reading this book, I fell in love with it. I could not put it down. I found it to be really interesting and it really explained how we decided how to buy things. It talked about the thoughts behind movie scenes, handshakes, products, and much much more. I recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Unconscious thinking remains a studied, tested, and validated topic over the years. The study of unconscious thinking brought about psychoanalytic theory, better self-understanding, and countless books such as The Power of Your Subconscious Mind (2008) by Dr. Joseph Murphy. This read gives one tools into unlocking the subconscious mind.

    In Blink, Malcolm Gladwell adds to the growing list of books such as Murphy's by unwrapping the phenomenon known as "thin slicing" - making snap judgments and decisions without undergoing any decision-making processes. Gladwell, a staff writer for The New York Times and author of award winner The Tipping Point (2000), sets out to examine collected data from experiments regarding the power of unconscious thinking.

    Gladwell must have read Elmore Leonard's Ten Rules of Writing (2005), in which Leonard advises "leave out the parts that people skip," and adopted that strategy. Every page speaks to the audience and contains only pertinent, interesting details.

    The reader senses the excitement to come when Gladwell introduces the novel. He describes how thin slicing determines if a couple will remain together in fifteen years simply by observing them for a few minutes. Gladwell informs the audience about the effects of this mysterious phenomenon, but never tells the reader exactly how the thin slicing side of the brain performs. Apart from that, the book gives insight into the incredible power of the human mind. We execute thin slicing all the time: meeting an employee, going on a date, and the list continues. Gladwell demonstrates to the audience how everyone from common people to experts makes snap judgments, yet these people often have trouble explaining how they came to their conclusions. The dozens and dozens of examples of thin slicing provide somewhat scattered bits and pieces of evidence of its effects; while interesting, they do not provide in-depth analysis.

    The next time you come across a work written by Malcolm Gladwell, you might like to grab hold of it and consider yourself fortunate. His insightful work has a compelling vibe that excites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Great Book!

    This book is by far my favorite by Malcom Gladwell. He combines very relavent stories about unconcious thinking and how it can be applied to everyday situations. A must read for anybody interested in aything to do with psychology!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    Great writer..great book. a must read

    worth your time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    Great read

    Read this book and you'll love it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Interesting

    Interesting Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Great Book!

    Like it almost as much as I enjoyed Outliers by Gladwell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    malcolm gladwell's books

    remarkable author and content--i have all of his books nd deem him one of the premier thinkers of our time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a Gladwell Fan

    A friend gave me a copy of "Outliers" because he wasn't interested in it. I took it to be nice, then found it to be a fascinating read. I moved on to "Blink" next and had much the same experience. We all know we make snap judgments and we usually condemn ourselves for doing so because we're taught that good decisions only come from lots of research and comparison. It was great to read this completely different spin on the subject as well as its thoughtful discussion of how those decisions can be the best and the worst that we make. I've gone on to finish "Tipping Point" and hope that there's another Gladwell right around the corner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Don't Miss 'Blink'

    Utterly, wholely fascinating work.

    For all the mental obstacle courses each of us has navigated but could never hope to describe accurately or consisely, this book puts verbage to our internal and subjective decision making processes.

    Even better, it substantiates and illustrates those experiences with precisely documented examples.

    Incredible and reassuring,"Blink" is by far, the most spellbinding read I've enjoyed in many a year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Compelling Book from Gladwell

    I must state up front that I am a huge fan of Gladwell's works. They are thoroughly researched and cutting edge yet they read like novels. I learned a lot from reading Blink about how I view things and my initial perceptions. I believe my filter is much stronger as a result. Ultimately, I find Gladwell's books to be self improvement tools in that they force me to think about things in a whole new way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Endlessly Fascinating

    This book is perfect for people with a very basic knowledge of psychology or who are even remotely interested in the subject. Gladwell presents the material in a way that practically anyone can understand by providing several short stories to demonstrate each point. This book was very eye-opening and thought provoking- excellent for anyone who wants to learn more about how mankind perceives and interprets the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Change the way you see things!

    Blink is another home run for Malcolm. Some ideas are just so big that it's hard to really grasp what's going on. As I started to read this I realized how incredible impressions are, and how much things really do happen in the blink of any eye. It's amazing to think that hundreds of hours of research can be done to figure something out, when at the same time a snap judgment can be just, if not more, accurate. Thoroughly engaging, a must have for everyone!
    http://www.writingonlife.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 249 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13