Customer Reviews for

Blink: The Power of Thinking without Thinking

Average Rating 4
( 648 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(258)

4 Star

(207)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating Insight in to Impressions

Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you un...
Anyone looking for advanced insight into human nature will love this book. Did you realize that the first six seconds of a personal encounter 'the handshake and greeting' are 80% predictive of the outcome of the encounter? In 'Blink', Malcolm Gladwell will help you understand what happens during that first six seconds. Whether you are socially struggling or a master networker, you should check this out. Absolutely in keeping with his #1 best seller, 'The Tipping Point', now becoming a classic.

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good not Great

Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you ma...
Entertaining and interesting book but not particularly useful. It talks about thin-slicing, which is how we make decisions/judgements on a small amount of data and in the blink of an eye. These judgements are usually very accurate, however trying to analyze why you made the decision is often a waste of time. Rationalizing these decisions often causes you to erroneously come to a different conclusion.

posted by RobbieMA on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Blink

    Disappointed i got to page 196 of 238 and book essentially ended. Lots of filler info. Lots of restated info. Its an interesting subject just got minimal coverage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    A phenomenal book

    This book is one that can change the way you think for many years to come. It is absolutely phenomenal and really opens your mind to explore further possibilities of what you might have thought you already knew. Gladwell shows how the ¿snap judgments¿ we make are many times more accurate than when we decide something after evaluating it for a while. This theory, that our best decisions are made instantaneously, is against everything we have learned in our lives. We have been told to stop, think carefully, and then make your decision, but Gladwell changes that and explains that our first instinct is a whole lot more precise. Farther into the book, Gladwell goes on to show that the method of ¿thin-slicing,¿ as he calls it, is a learned trait that provides us with answers and solutions effectively for the challenges of everyday life. However, he also explains that sometimes our first instincts are not always correct. Gladwell says that while we sometimes have to judge whether or not to trust our instinct, it is still mainly the most accurate decision we can form. His book breaks down our rationalization of the decisions we make and shows us that we need to think outside of what is normal to reach the most logical solutions for whatever we are faced with. This book was one that once I started reading I couldn¿t stop. The further I read, the more I wanted to know. As I made my way through the book, I found myself challenging the way I ordinarily think. Challenging what until then I assumed to be absolute. Gladwell¿s book is definitely one to read. It forever changes the way you evaluate situations and view the world around you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    Couldnt put it down

    I will buy this for all my friends and employees. I couldnt put it down. This was not a dry text book, but instead a great read. Easy and fast and kept me constantly engaged. I never once put this one down. Once I opened the book, I read it through. It was amazing what I have learned about myself and those around me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2014

    Very good book. I highly recommend this book to those who may be

    Very good book. I highly recommend this book to those who may be involved in training people who have to engage with other people directly face to face every day. Sometimes trusting your instincts can save your life and reviewing your decision making process is a good way to learn and streamline and refine the process in the future. I have often gone over the decision I've had to make and sometimes in a split second. Review is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2014

    The human mind is an amazing creation that is still yet to be co

    The human mind is an amazing creation that is still yet to be completely understood. In 'Blink,' Malcom Gladwell takes us behind the 'locked door' of our minds and shows us the power of snap judgments. The book is less one story and more a collection of short stories that he uses to demonstrate what our minds do without us even realizing it. He also tells stories of times when this 'thin-slicing' has had people come to immediate conclusions that are completely true, but cannot be proven logically. In the introduction, he tells the story of a statue, a kouros, which was brought to light by an art dealer. It was in magnificent condition, but every art curator that looked at it thought something seemed "off" from the get-go. Numerous tests were run on it, and nothing could be found that seemed to be fake, but the curators were right, something was off. Throughout the book, Gladwell explains different pieces of this 'thin-slicing' that goes on in our minds. He is able to word the book in a way that it is easy for the average person to understand, but he can still go in-depth with his descriptions. This book is a great read for anyone that would like to learn more about the human mind and the extreme power it contains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2014

    I thought this book was fantastic. I couldn't believe the little

    I thought this book was fantastic. I couldn't believe the little things that we as people take for granted that goes on in our thinking process. I was astonished to learn the success rate of all these cases in which a "gut" feeling played a major role in. As a race that is forever growing and learning I believe it's extremely important to recognize the importance of switching the way we (humans) think and going with it. Not only does altering the thinking process help and create new trails that were impassable beforehand, but the confidence people own that don't necessarily know it yet. When people go with their initial true feeling, the evidence lays out in front. We can all learn and take a break at the same time by reading this piece.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2014

    Being a highly optimistic person this book related greatly to me

    Being a highly optimistic person this book related greatly to me. I always think about how the mind works and how the mind functions things so quickly. In the introduction is when I was permanently drawn into this book, it was interesting how the museum was sold an almost exact specimen statue but experts thin sliced it and discovered its in authenticity. this explains how marketers make things that consumers would be drawn in to want. and how they continuously do this, I would recommend this book to anyone who wonders why and how your mind wonders.- Corde S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2014

    I loved this book. It was amazing. It taught me so much. It¿s ta

    I loved this book. It was amazing. It taught me so much. It’s taught me how to be a better person, while on the other hand has taught me to manipulate people to make it seem as if I’m a nice guy, because apparently I’m not a nice person. On top of that, it’s taught me that people do many things to seem likeable, and when you read the book you start to connect people who do the things that they talk about in Blink. I felt that it wasn’t really the way that you act but the person you become, but you can change the way you act so people like you more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Blink

    The best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    This book is terrific!

    Contributes to my intra-personnal skills. More of getting the right answers everytime. Just a matter of knowing the right questions to ask. And you can't effectively formulate those questions with aquiring Malcom's idea. Everyday I became a human lie detector in my own right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    B

    ?...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Wonderful book

    Amazing read. So many insites and interesting topics. A good book to learn from and make you think about your own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Excellent.

    A definitive book on the topic, written smoothly for a wide audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Blink is a book about how we think without even knowing we are t

    Blink is a book about how we think without even knowing we are thinking, and how we make choices in a blink of an eye whether the choices are easy or difficult. Malcolm Gladwell answers questions about how our self-conscious brain really works. The author brings to your attention about how your gut instinct is usually the right decision; sometimes over thinking a situation will usually make us make the wrong decision in the end.
    In the beginning of the story Gladwell tells us a story about an ancient sculpture sold to a new museum. Before the sculpture was bought many people came to study the sculpture to make sure it isn’t a fake. This went on for months until the museum decided to buy it. Once they bought the sculpture the curator came to see the sculpture and by first impression he knew it was a fake. The museum made the mistake by over thinking the piece and getting so many scientific evaluations where they didn’t even know what was supposed to be fake anymore. The author spends the rest of the book explaining to the audience why first glance is so important to make the right decision.
    Gladwell introduces us to a psychologist named John Goltman who created a way of telling within a short amount of time whether a couple will still be together in ten years. He does this by watching videos of something the couple is talking about that they disagree on. While he watches the videos he maps the emotions for every second of the video. He has become so skilled at this where he doesn’t need videos anymore and can tell just by eavesdropping on a conversation. There are four emotions Goltman breaks up a conversation into to be able to thin-slice a conversation. Thin-slicing is what data to filter out and what data he should focus on; knowing how to thin-slice is the key to knowing how to see someone’s first impressions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    I personally enjoyed the book very very much. Gladwell shows us

    I personally enjoyed the book very very much. Gladwell shows us how we are often not conscious of when our brain is thin slicing the world around us, how the decisions we make in the blink of eye effect important aspects of our lives such as dating, advertising, and even voting for the president. Though the book was very repetitive throughout, it was very easy to understand and made a compelling argument. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Dont blink yall

    Erhmehgerd dernt blernk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    Interesting & informative

    Gladwell is scholarly AND interesting. Makes his points and stretches the mind. I recommend. I can see his writing improve in his subsequent books, but this one is worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Always Interesting, a great writing style

    This is my second book read by Gladwell. I like his writing style and choice of topics. It is captivating making it an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Yall are whovians

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Jorden and Joden

    "Oh, okay," Jorden says as she stopped giggling. Joden looks at the TARDIS longingly but then turned to go home. Jorden quickly follows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 652 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33