BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blink and Caution

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Tim Wynne Jones fan

    This is a good book. It has a ton of suspense in it. It kept me thinking, "What's going to happen next?" There is also quite a bit of swearing in this book so I wouldnt recommend it to kids under 13.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    I thought this book was amazing! Blink & Caution was slow at

    I thought this book was amazing! Blink & Caution was slow at first but staying patient and getting through the boring parts are definitely worth it! The book did not take long at all to read and was very easy to understand, especially for teenagers. The book always kept you on your toes wanting to know what is going to happen next.
    If I were to rate this book it would be a 9/10, not perfect for all the slow/boring moments in the book. Blink & Caution is about 2 teenagers (Kitty & Brent) living on the streets going through everyday’s obstacles and challenges and when Brent witnesses a “Kidnapping” of a Multi-Millionaire Businessman he is then caught in this fake kidnapping meant to improve the man’s business. During this crazy scheme Brent/Blink meets Kitty/Caution who is running from her drug-addict boyfriend. They both team up to solve this scandal and to help out the Daughter of the businessman.
    Blink & Caution let you experience the thrill-seeking adventures both of these teenagers went through. The story had many cliffhangers wanting you to keep going! This book is very adventurous and I would suggest this book to Thrill-Seeking teenagers.
    Tim Wynne-Jones did an excellent job with this book! It would be amazing to read a sequel of this book showing both Blink & Caution’s lives after the incident (If there is not one out already). One problem with the book was the book would change point of views every chapter making it difficult to understand whose point of view you are reading about. Though the plot and the backround of the story were very well described in the book making me not want to put the book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo

    BLINK & CAUTION is the tale of two streets kids. Brent (Blink) and Kitty (Caution) both have back stories that have them on the run. When their paths cross, they work together to overcome the odds against them. Blink was simply looking for a free breakfast when he took the elevator to the sixteenth floor of the hotel. It looked like there would be easy pickings from the half-eaten remains left on trays set outside the rooms. When he actually enters a room to investigate some odd behavior displayed by the exiting guests, he realizes he has witnessed a possible kidnapping. Once inside the room, Blink discovers a wallet filled with cash and a cell phone that reveals the kidnapped may not be the victim he assumed. Having some ready cash is a welcome surprise, but the more Blink learns about the situation, the more nervous he becomes. His nerves prompt him to check out the cell phone more carefully. He actually contacts the "kidnap" victim's daughter in an attempt to reassure her that her father has not been harmed. That contact is one Blink soon comes to regret. Caution has been living on the street and, more recently, with a drug dealer named Merlin. Attempting to run from a tragedy from her past, Caution is fully aware that she harbors a death wish, but at the same time she looks at death as an easy escape from the much harsher punishment that her guilt insists she deserves. Caution is on the run after a fight with Merlin that ended in her discovery of his drug money stash. She can't believe they've been practically starving to death when he has had thousands of dollars hidden away. Anger and fear motivate Caution to grab the money and run. Fate works to bring Blink and Caution together in the train station. After a bumpy first meeting, the two join forces to help each other. Caution provides the street smarts lacking in the naive Blink, and he supplies the funds to sustain their cause. As time passes, the two begin to trust one another with secrets as well as friendship. Award-winning author Tim Wynne-Jones takes readers on an adventure with two young people living by their wits as they try to survive, and at the same time right a wrong. It is a story with twists and turns and definitely not for the faint-hearted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Different

    After I read Tim Wynne- Jones' The Uninvited a couple of years ago, I've been looking forward to reading more by him, so when Blink & Caution landed on my radar, I jumped at the first chance I got to read it. Luckily enough, Blink & Caution is a thrilling and suspenseful novel about two teen runaways and the challenges they face.

    Blink and Caution have both been living the hard life for the past year. For Blink that means roughing it on the streets, looking for the next way to get a quick, free meal and a place to stay, because after everything that happened at his home, he knows he's never going back. On the other side of town, Caution has been living with her sleazy, controlling, and drug dealing boyfriend, hoping that one day, she'll face enough pain to forget what happened when she was fifteen, the year she ran away from everyone and everything. Though, one day everything changes, Caution leaves her boyfriend once and for all, and Blink stumbles into a fake kidnapping. Now on the run, both of them are soon to find that there's even more surprises in store for them- one that may even land them in each others arms.

    One of the most rewarding aspects in this novel was the rich and likable characters Tim had in Caution and Blink. Both are characters that you can't help but root for, especially when you find out about all the pain and suffering they've faced in the past. With that, I liked them even better when they finally found in each other in the story, because with each other, they discover a lot about themselves and each other and gain courage to speak up for themselves. Also, the adventures they have are priceless.

    Adding to this, I loved the plot. I thought Tim did a great job of accurately describing the lives of two runaway teens, and what I liked even more was that he never sugar coated anything, instead he gave you a honest view about two very different teens. Further more, the way he tied in the fake-kidnapping mystery worked perfectly not only in the way it brought together they characters but it forever left the reader guessing about what would happen, especially within those last few chapters.

    The only aspect of this novel I wasn't two found of was the way Tim brought you Blink and Caution's story. You see, while Caution's part is told in third person, Blink's is told in second person, and I found that to be a little odd and hard to into at times.

    Lastly, at the core of this novel, Tim Wynne-Jones provokes some interesting questions and ideas, ones that I'm sure will lead to many conversations off page.

    In all, Blink & Caution is an honest and addicting portrayal of two very different teens and the accidents that tie them together. Highly recommended.

    Grade: B+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1